1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

gtx285 vs sli gtx260s on p45 mobo?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by johnspack, Dec 18, 2009.

  1. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    How feasible would it be to use the modded hal or whatever and sli 2 260s on a p5q deluxe? Would I get more muscle than a 285 used this way? I couldn't help but notice that 2 260s are cheaper than 1 285....
     
  2. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,748 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,544
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    In some things GTX260 SLi is actually faster than a GTX295 and in almost everything substantially quicker than a GTX285, take a look here.............

    http://techreport.com/articles.x/16229/7

    As for the SLi hack..... well a bit hit and miss (I think some have said a 50/50 success rate), not something IMO that you would wanna commit funding to in case it fails you, unless you can borrow a matching card first to play around with.
     
  3. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    :wtf:uh dude! you cannot go SLI on that board

    its made for Crossfire, you need to find another motherboard, ex a 780i
     
  4. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Yep Not a SLi motherboard only crossfire.....:cry:
     
  5. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
  6. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Well I stand corrected and the Asus P5Q deluxe board is on the list of tried and tested boards...:toast:
     
  7. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    me too, but google translate sucks, so is it hardmod or softmodding?

    as far as i could read it was softmod?
     
  8. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    hmmm it's in English on my system...
     
  9. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    English for me too, under win7 x64, it's basically just a registry mod. There is also a driver mod, where you replace a particular driver file, then modify the motherboard slic string for video adapters... you must read it all hehe!
     
  10. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    yep thats the way I read it to. Still easier to buy the right board and use the up to date drivers
    IMO...:toast:
     
  11. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Bah, just bought this mobo, need to use it for a bit....
    Edit: and just lost a $500 video card that I have to replace now, this would be cheaper and faster than a gtx285..
     
  12. kyle2020 Guest

    I tried to SLI 8800GT's on my Pro, didnt work unfortunately, however it has and is still being done with decent success rates, I say give it a try! :)
     
  13. 99vw New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    96 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Actually, with recent sli hacks you can run sli on p45.
     
  14. d3fct

    d3fct

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Upstate NewYork
    well i have run 2 280's in sli with a p5q deluxe and xp pro, took me literally 3 mins to setup, so to those that say it wont work, they might want to know what there talkin about first. I would go with the sli setup myself personally, if your psu is up to it that is. now im not sure on the specifics but i would think the dual 260's would keep up or even beat that 285. when i ran my 280's in sli on my p5q i ran 3dmark and got an impressive 24thousand for a score.



    edit:http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=108770


    also might wanna check here for some help, http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?p=1683706#post1683706
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2009
  15. d3fct

    d3fct

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Upstate NewYork
    yea i might go with the 260's in sli, check this thread they put up some good clocks.

    link
     
  16. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Considering the reliability factor, and the sli performance of the 2 cards, and the fact I'm broke until end of Jan likely... I like the idea of sli 260s more and more. Even 1 260 for now wouldn't suck....
     
  17. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Still believe Palit owes me a card too......
     
  18. InTeL-iNsIdE Guest

    +1 on the gtx 260' sli over the gtx 285, defo better bang for the buck :toast:
     
  19. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I need the rest of my entertainment value from my $500 280.. I was thinking pulling it right apart, and running it naked with no heatsink, see how long it takes to start smoking! One year warranty, what a friggin waste of money. Option 2 is I'm 3 stories up, drop it to sidewalk below, how many pieces! Jeez I'm peed.....
     
  20. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,748 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,544
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    If your that intent on reaping revenge on it.... just piss on it wilst it's plugged in! :rockout:
     
  21. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    AZ
    I thought mythbusters proved that the electrical current would follow the stream to it's source?

    anyway there are many ways to get entertainment out of a dead card, but did you try the baking method first?
     
  22. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I need to break 20k, I won't be able to do that with a 285. Oh yeah, its merry Xmas time! Happy holidays everyone! When I come back after holidays, time to fix this....
     
  23. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    baking is probably the most intelligent he can do now. mayb it will be revived, how knows? the sucess rates for reviving dead parts was shockingly high,like i remember;)
     
  24. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Well, I knew it was a dream I'd get that kind of money, so it's a single gtx260 to start..... now to wait a month until my next disability cheque to get it.. crap. Wish things would just work togther.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page