1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX465 bios problems

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by MomentoMoir, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. MomentoMoir

    MomentoMoir New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,819 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Venus, TX
    So whats the deal these days. With nvflash you get .bin files for the bios. When you go to flash the bios with the bin it says needs .rom?

    Now the last time i flashed an Nvidia bios was with an 8800GS but im sure things havent changed to much. Am i missing something here?

    I go to read with nibitor 5.7 and says cant start driver. :wtf::confused:
  2. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,569 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,439
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I think you can simply rename your file from .bin > .rom and it works fine.
  3. MomentoMoir

    MomentoMoir New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,819 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Venus, TX
    Retard moment. I was saving as .bin instead of rom for my backup inside nvflash. The bios i got from w1z's database was .bin so i just opened it with nibitor and saved it as .rom. Now nvlfash likes my files :)

    Edit: Nope my card wont flash to a 470. Darn lol.
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2010
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,782 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,482
    you can just rename the files from .bin to .rom
  5. MomentoMoir

    MomentoMoir New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,819 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Venus, TX
    Yea thats what i wound up doing. I just wanted to see if my card would flash or not. Figured it wouldnt, and it didnt.

    Edit: Ok well actually it works...kinda, but i have colors all over my screen when i reboot. I can see enough to reflash and thats about it. Also during post the font is very fuzzy. Insufficient voltage or bad shaders that where disabled?
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page