1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX470 can't change voltage

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Whybother, Jun 4, 2010.

  1. Whybother New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi Guys,

    No matter what I try my GTX 470's voltage won't change, I have tried at least 5 versions of afterburner and the slider to change the voltage is still grayed out.

    Anyone know of anything else that can be used to change the voltage?
     
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,678 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,190
    go unto the settings, icon at the bottom right corner of afterburner....in one of the tabs you will find a box to unlock voltage control, check it, save it, restart afterburner;)
     
    mlee49 and Whybother say thanks.
  3. Whybother New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OMG YOUR A LEGEND! :respect: :respect: :respect: :respect: :respect:


    Thank you so much, I had been thinking I got a dud card.

    So whats a safe voltage if I wanted to hit 800mhz core 1600 shader?
     
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,678 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,190
    all of it...lol. Depends on the PSU and if it helps the clocks get stable. but yeah I maxed it with tri SLI and the temps were acceptable. Wouldnt run 24/7 with it personally, at least till I go water. Hope that helps even thos its sort of all over the place.
     
  5. Whybother New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Cheers Man.

    This is what I got so far.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,678 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,190
    one more thing....go to the fan profile....

    move the low point to 0% fan at 0*C then have it got 100% at 80*C, should help temps a bit.
     
  7. freemane70 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mexico City
    I have 2 GTX470 on SLI rightnow

    What will be the safest Overvoltage you recomend for this configuration..?

    Thanks for you advice is much appresiate
     
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,678 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,190
    all of it

    All of the manufacturers say the card will allow for the full slider, but I will say you do need to set a better fan profile, or it will overheat and crash.

    I ran Tri-SLI with all 3 maxed;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page