1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX480 confirmed with 480 cores

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by the54thvoid, Mar 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,241 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    http://www.brightsideofnews.com/news/2010/3/15/geforce-gtx-480-has-480-cores2c-aibs-confirm.aspx

    This is from Theo Valich who is more neutral than most but errs on the NV side. I've followed BSN for a while and the ongoing fermi debacle has turned their optimism against NV. I'm not trolling but many people criticise Charlie Demerijan for being a shit journalist (which he is for being too verbally abusive against NV) but to be fair, he's more often correct than not.
    He stated ages ago it would never have 512 cores like it was stated initially.
    The BSN article also backs up another story from S/A which noted AIB's being pissed off at NV's bullying tactics at CeBit.

    http://www.semiaccurate.com/2010/03/02/nvidia-threatens-its-partners-cebit/

    I do hope NV doesn't screw up as i too am waiting for price drops-might get another 5850 for tri-fire :)
  2. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,130 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    512 looks good, but I guess if the performance is there it wont matter if its 480 or 512. Maybe when they get the manufacturing ironed out we will see GTX 480 Core 512 cards :laugh: I just want to know how they Fold!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    it depends on how they disable those sp's if they follow what they did with the the G80 G92 and GT200 and disable complete SM's then the card will have only have 60 TMU's and 15 tesselators which is a pretty bad side effect, if they somehow disable sp's individually(which I don't remember them having ever done on any previous card) then that will be ok.
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    With both G80 and GT200, they have had cards with the same exact specs but less/more shaders.

    Edit: Forgive me, it was only G80 that they did this with. The 8800GTS and 8800GTS 112 were identical except for shader count.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  5. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,372 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    554
    Location:
    AZ
    actually that'sa good side effect it mean that the leaked benches we've been seeing on the gtx480 are based on that semi crippled core. It also means that the fermi revision will likely have all of those re-enabled, making it perform that much better.

    sounds like the gtx485 (or whatever the revision will be called) will be the card to buy.
  6. BraveSoul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    987 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    thats what im wondering say 17000ppd on a 3xx point project? =)
  7. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    Thats hoping they can keep the heat down on the Fermi, especially when they increased the volts by 50v. It already very hot in 2D mode, can you imagin 3D?
    http://www.semiaccurate.com/2010/03/12/semiaccurate-wrong-about-nvidia-480gtx-power-use/
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 480 Video Cards Require 600W Power Supply!
    http://www.legitreviews.com/news/7489/
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2010
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    I think the packaging/marketting team are be a little bit outragous. Considering the maximum the card can draw is 300w...

    The "requirements" printed on the side of the box are hardly ever accurate.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  9. bobzilla2009 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    455 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    The maximum the card can ever draw is still over 100W more than the hd5870 ever draws though. But we all know fermi is going to be a total inefficient E-Z-Bake oven. The question is whether or not it's worth it! Also 42A on the rail sounds about right if you're running a high end quad and want overclocking headroom. Also, the specs also have to consider some capacitor aging on the psu, so give values around 20% higher than what the card should ever manage.
    nt300 says thanks.
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    The HD5870 has two 6-pin connectors, meaning at total of 225w possible power draw, and it does get pretty close to that number. The GTX480 can draw 300w. So by that, all we know so far is that the GTX480 draws somewhere between 225w and 300w. On the flip side, the GTX270 has two six pins just like the HD5870, so I would put money on it having similar load power consumption.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  11. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    So it seems as though Semiaccurate's NVIDIA sources were correct that the GTX480 had to be tuned down from original 512 to 480 in order to further help control the chips heat issue.
    Interesting :cool:

    Alot which was writen here in this article seems to be coming true by the day. IMO we may have major GTX 480 shortages for the March 2010 launch. Anyway here's that well writen article once again:

    QUOTE:
  12. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page