1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX680 4K(4096x2160)? DX11.1?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Protagonist, Mar 22, 2012.

  1. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    741 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Now that GTX680 has launched, please some one with knowledge of shade some light on this issue, does GTX680 support 4K(4096x2160)? Does it Support DX11.1? it doesn't really matter that much if it doesn't support DX11.1, but it matters very much if it supports 4K(4096x2160) coz even Intel's upcoming Ivy Bridge supports 4K resolutions.
     
  2. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    741 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Based on the 28nm "Kepler" architecture, the ASUS GTX 680 delivers unmitigated DirectX® 11 performance and full readiness for the next phase of PC entertainment, which will take gamers and multimedia consumers beyond full HD. Due to its ample processing power, the GTX 680 can handle ultra HD or 4K resolutions in games and video, extending visual finesse and quality beyond current standards. At the same time, 28nm GPU fabrication means reduced power consumption, leading to a modest 195W TDP under load. With its 1536 CUDA cores, the GTX 680 offers enhanced general processing GPU output to speed up overall system performance. It ships with a 256-bit memory interface and 2GB of GDDR5 clocked at 6008MHz actual. Dynamic NVIDIA® GPU Boost modulation means the card can alternate between the base 1006MHz and the sped-up 1058MHz mode when extra frames per second are needed in the most demanding games. This flexible design is further improved upon by ASUS through the presence of exclusive GPU Tweak.

    http://hexus.net/tech/items/graphic...cs-card-powers-smoother-more-detailed-gaming/
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2012
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,771 (12.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,681
  4. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    741 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    So does it mean it cannot provide 4K(4096x2160)res on a display with that much res it will only give out 2560x1600?

    And does it mean i cant watch 4K videos coz it wont stream 4K due to lack of a 4K decoder in the GPU?
     
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,052 (8.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,506
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    It can provide 4K on MULTIPLE monitors, not one monitor @ 4096x2160
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    741 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    By 4K i mean:

    Cutting-edge integrated display support

    DisplayPort 1.2
    Max resolution: 4096x2160 per display
    Multi-Stream Transport
    21.6 Gbps bandwidth
    High bit-rate audio
    2560x1600p60 Stereoscopic 3D
    Quad HD/4k video support
    3GHz HDMI 1.4a with Stereoscopic 3D Frame Packing Format, Deep Color, xvYCC wide gamut support, and high bit-rate audio
    Max resolution: 4096x2160
    1080p60 Stereoscopic 3D
    Quad HD/4k video support
    Dual-link DVI with HDCP
    Max resolution: 2560x1600
    VGA
    Max resolution: 2048x1536

    http://www.amd.com/uk/products/desktop/graphics/7000/7970/Pages/radeon-7970.aspx#3
     
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,052 (8.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,506
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    That is per DISPLAY not monitor, AS you can see at the bottom of your post, each DVI is max 2560x1600 or 2048x1536 for VGA EACH
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,625
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    In the case of the amd specs, brandon, per displays IS per monitor (with the display port 2.1 and HDMI 1.4 port)
    At least that is how they word if for the eyfinity portion. (shrug)
     
  9. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    741 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Can you read?

    DisplayPort 1.2 Max resolution: 4096x2160 per display (Monitor) gives that

    3GHz HDMI 1.4a Max resolution: 4096x2160 also per display (Monitor) gives that

    and we all know DVD-DL cannot give out more that 2560x1600 hence
    Dual-link DVI with HDCP Max resolution: 2560x1600

    VGA cannot give out more than 2049x1536 hence
    VGA Max resolution: 2048x1536

    What i am driving at is that GTX680 has all this ports on the GPU but does not indicate if they are capable of the above 4K Res at list not directly from Nvidia. and in particular Display port and HDMI are my concern on the nvidia GTX680 if the can achieve 4K (4096x2160)per Display (Monitor)
     
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,052 (8.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,506
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Then I will say NO GTX 680 does not support the same specs as the AMD card you qouted does.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Slizzo

    Slizzo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    430 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Looking at the above specs you posted, the GTX680 can drive 4k Resolutions, it's just a question of the outputs allowing it. Does Displayport 1.2 output at 4k resolutions?
     
  12. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,625
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I don't know, the Nvidia spec sheet on the 680 doesn't mention it. Only the digital and VGA resolutions (that I could find anyway).
     
  13. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    741 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Exactly that's whats bagging me.
     
  14. Slizzo

    Slizzo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    430 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
  15. Slizzo

    Slizzo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    430 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
  16. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    546 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    566
    Location:
    Finland
    It is DX11.1 compatible, NVIDIA said that it doesn't really matter so they don't even mention it.
     
  17. Slizzo

    Slizzo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    430 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    I should mention, there are no 4k capable single displays on market, so in order to get your 4k resolutions you'll have to use 2 30" panels at 2560x1600 or 4 24"-27" panels at 1920x1080/1200. DisplayPort 1.2 will allow Daisy chaining of the monitors to allow a single connector to be used to drive multiple monitors off of one output.
     
  18. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    741 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Displayport 1.2 can out put 4K Res, so as HDMI 1.4a, which makes the question, did nvidia use them appropriately for this 4K res or they capped them at 2560x1600? and another thing can the GTX680 allow viewing of 4K videos in terms of does it have a decoder for that?

    last gen cards and processors cannot allow viewing of 4 videos, it starts then sticks only sound continues hence they have no 4K decoder in them

    Another million dollar question is: does the GTX680 have 4Kdecoder? i believe amd's current 7K series have got it so they can stream, allow viewing of 4K videos

    There are 4K Displays!!!!

    http://www.eizo.com/global/press/releases/htmls/fdh3601.html

    http://www.techpowerup.com/147941/N...EIZO-Packs-4096-x-2160-Pixels-Resolution.html

    problem is the amount it costs, and yet again its not a problem to me, i am planning to get 1 of those displays, hence the many questions about GTX680, otherwise the AMD Radeon 7xxx support the 4K res already + streaming, watching 4K videos
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 22, 2012
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,771 (12.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,681
    Going by the monitors specifications it requires two DVI-D connections which basically works the same way as if you were using two displays in an "eyefinity" type setup or whatever Nvidia calls it. So, yes it would work. :)

    Also, don't double/triple post. Use the edit button to add to your posts.
     
  20. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    741 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Thanks, it was a miss click, i meant to edit the post.
     
  21. Inceptor

    Inceptor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    What's the point in asking for 4K HD resolution?
    Sure, it's nice to have that support, but by the time such high resolution displays become common and reliable, we'll be one or two gpu generations beyond the current generations just released.
    Theoretically, DX 11.1 won't really become in any way relevant until next year, and won't be fully utilized until later than that. Realistically, DX11.1 is only relevant, on PCs, if the new Xbox utilizes it.
     
  22. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    741 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    I am planning to get a 4K Display for photo Editing, 4096x2160 is a big enough workspace for me, i do not like bezels which are as a result of multiple display setup.
     
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,771 (12.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,681
    I don't even have a need for that much resolution.. I want it anyways. :D Affording, spending money on things I don't need however is a different story.
     
  24. Recus

    Recus

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    564 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    209
    Kepler supports 4k. More or less. : P

    http://www.guru3d.com/article/geforce-gtx-680-review/5
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page