1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX680 Lightning Throttles... at stock

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Dj-ElectriC, Nov 3, 2012.

  1. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,220 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    845
    I don't usually start threads, but when i do, im totally desperate.

    My GTX680 throttles and gives about 40% of its performance. I tried different drivers, pulling it out of the PCIE socket and putting it right back im. Tried switching cards - nada.


    [​IMG]
    :(

    Help, if anyone knows a solution....
     
  2. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,220 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    845
    Update: Installing the driver with one card and than rebooting with a second seems to solve the problem.

    defuq NVIDIA, not cool.

    Ok that did not solve the problem. Now second card is at 191%

    With the one defective card:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2012
  3. sHoRtBuSseR New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sorry to revive an old post, but if you haven't fixed it yet, use MSI Afterburner to set one card to 300% power limit, but I imagine you RMA'd it already, or got something else.
     
  4. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,220 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    845
    I indeed RMA'd it.
     
  5. sHoRtBuSseR New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I still have my 680 Lightning sitting on top of my closet, replaced with a 7970 because I needed the extra VRAM. Haven't got around to selling it yet.
     
  6. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,149 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    Uh, are you complaining about it throttling while idle? Because in the picture you posted it is idle and the clocks naturally drop to help conserve power. Why run a card at 100% when 30% is enough to do normal browsing?
     
  7. sHoRtBuSseR New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    If you look at it, it says the power consumption is at 191% power consumption. Which is obviously wrong because it's almost impossible to do that, but the card naturally throttles at 100% TDP
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page