1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Guide how to flash back an AMD Radeon card?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by mischlig, Dec 26, 2012.

  1. mischlig New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    [Solved] Guide how to flash back an AMD Radeon card?

    is it possible to write down a few steps how to flash back an amd radeon in general?

    I own a 6950 2GB with bios switch. i flashed the card to 6970 with this atiwinflash but now i get a blackscreen during boot.

    ive searched bit trought the forums and i didntt found a tut how to flash back!


    What i did:

    Checked that the bios switch on my card is on pos. 1
    Run the atiwinflash as admin
    saved the old bios.rom
    flashed the card
    restarted

    now here i stuck. it will only give me a black screen.

    ive read something that i do have to uninstall my vga drivers first? is that true?

    if that causes the blackscreeen i can simply uninstall my vga drivers now as i am booted from my 6950 in bios switch 2...
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2012
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,526 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,046
    I would try removing the drivers first if you can get to safe mode.
    mischlig says thanks.
  3. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,132 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,950
    Here read THIS. It should help ya.
    mischlig says thanks.
  4. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
  5. mischlig New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    i was able to boot my system regular after i switched my amd bios to pos 2... i am right now booted into my system with the 6950...
  6. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,132 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,950
    copied from Wiz post...

    In case your card does not boot at all you can use AMD's new backup BIOS feature:

    Set the BIOS switch (pictured above) in the 2 position to enable the recovery BIOS and restart the computer. This will let you boot the card without problems.
    Boot into Windows/DOS prompt and get ready to flash the card - do not start the flashing process just yet.
    Set the BIOS switch in the 1 position with the system running and ready to flash.
    Flash your saved BIOS to the card.
    Reboot, done.

    The dual BIOS feature is just an added convenience for easier recovery, it is not a requirement for this kind of modding, nor is it evidence that AMD has planned their cards with unlocking in mind.
    mischlig says thanks.
  7. mischlig New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    what software i have to put on the USB? oO

    the same as i used to flash to 6970? this atiwinflash?

    oh wait. nvm.. its this http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2166/ATIFlash_3.99.html


    well. i first will uninstall my drivers and ill check if this will fixes it. if not i have to flash back -.- ill let you guys know
  8. mischlig New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    what does he mean by that? how to boot into windows/dos prompt?
  9. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,132 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,950
    HERE

    you can flash back and forth using this method as well.
    mischlig says thanks.
  10. mischlig New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    hey, thanks guys.

    i know fixed it somehow without flashing it back

    i downloaded this RBE and loaded my default bios .rom backup! ive edited it and enabled the 6970 shaders and flashed my radeon with atiwinflash with that modified .rom

    now it works. my shaders are at 1536 so that means there are unlocked now _but_

    for some reason my amd control center wont show up anymore oO curious about what is causing this?

    i had no drivers installed. flashed my card, restarted the system and installed my amd drivers but there is no amd control center in my taskbar. i could reach it via right click, there is still this amd control center but it will not open it. oO

    edit: ill restart once more (i did right after the amd driver setup) and see if it fixes it. but i doubt it


    edit2: well, dont know why but had to uninstall it with the amd control center setup package and reinstall. the uninstall via device manager was not enough. now it works thanks all got my 6950 flashed :p

    /close
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2012
  11. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Try reinstalling drivers. I think 12.11 or 12.12(forget the number)beta are the bomb. Go to AMD's website and get the newest beta driver. It is really good.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page