1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Guide to running multiple GPU work units

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by KieX, Oct 21, 2012.

  1. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,819 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Sorry, no rest for the weary...
     
    Daimus and manofthem say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,965 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,393
    "Project is temporarily shut down for maintenance" popped up again this morning, looks like it started around 3:20am est and still down. Hopefully it won't last too long.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2012
    [Ion] says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,819 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    The only thing I keep seeing is that all my systems are sitting at "waiting to report" for several hours. I keep clicking on "do network communication" to make them go through. Maybe the server thinks I'm spamming it? lol
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,965 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,393
    Yes, mine sat there saying "waiting to report" under Tasks in the manager, but I saw the other thing in the Even Log, which doesn't log as an error, just an entry. I didn't check how long it was down, just that it was working again later this morning. :) This is 2 consecutive days now; maybe it's going to be an everyday thing. :confused:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    My log file showed that the project was done for about three hours again. I really wish they'd stop doing this--I don't like to run out of GPU WUs :ohwell:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,965 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,393
    That's what I'm talking about! Yesterday and today, 3 hrs of downtime each day: that's already 6hrs of WUs that could be running, and we are missing them!!!
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Well, do realize that the cache should have mitigated part of the loss each time. But still---either I'd like them to stop doing maintenance, or, better yet, just let us store 1000+ WUs in our cache.
     
    manofthem says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,965 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,393
    True, I didn't really take that into consider. ....but.... I go through 20 WU's in under 10 minutes. Yesterday I had 153 ready, which means that it must have taken ~70-80 minutes for those to finish. Then the rest was downtime, and me no likey downtime :(
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. MetalRacer

    MetalRacer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    862 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    701
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
    Is it possible to run multiple GPU's that are not crossfire compatible?
     
  10. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,045 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,152
    I'm almost sure that it is. One problem could be that you have to use the same app file (the one that defines how many GPU WUs you will run at the same time) and if one card can do 1 and the other 10....

    A workaround is to make two BOINC instances.

    Are we talking NVidia?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,819 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Since he's asking about Crossfire capable, I'm going to assume ATI and not Nvidia. If both cards will run in the system, you should be able to crunch on them. You may get mixed results if you're using a custom app_info.xml file to load multiple WU's on each card. A higher-end card will handle the WU's better than a lower end card.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,045 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,152
    Yes my first thought but in his spec 7970s are mentioned and I assume that identical GPUs can run Crossfire. It was only to get most information for the next question...:)
     
    t_ski says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. Daimus

    Daimus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    527 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    somewhere in Eastern Europe
    I'm running HD7850 and HD6950 in the same system. They are not crossfire compatible.
     
    Norton, KieX, MetalRacer and 2 others say thanks.
  14. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Thought I'd post this here, as it's GPU related.

    Message from uplinger (WCG Tech):

    Source

    :ohwell:
     
    stinger608, Norton, mstenholm and 2 others say thanks.
  15. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Ggahhhh :shadedshu


    I guess on the upside it means we're doing an amazing job at this! :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Daimus

    Daimus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    527 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    somewhere in Eastern Europe
    Thanks for posting this. Now I understand why the server does not send the GPU WU's.

    Without GPU WU's we may lose challenge.
     
    KieX says thanks.
  17. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Well, it was bound to happen sooner or later. And when we had the chance we showed a lot of other teams how it should be done :rockout:
     
    Daimus and Norton say thanks.
  18. Daimus

    Daimus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    527 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    somewhere in Eastern Europe
    "thanks" button disappeared.:toast:
    One of my crunchers is empty of GPU WU's, but 2 other have they enough. I'm going to reconfigure videocards.
     
    manofthem, KieX and stinger608 say thanks.
  19. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    That's happened to me very often over past few weeks :laugh: :toast:

    I got a big cache of CPU WU with my app_info.. hopefully new WU's come in before they're completed.
     
    Daimus says thanks.
  20. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,965 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,393
    Thanks KieX for posting, a big answer to a lot of things lately. This sucks, as my PPD is going to plummet lol. I really hope they get it going again soon; I hate to see my gpus sitting there with nothing to do.

    I'll have to get my CPU going tonight when I get home
     
    Daimus and KieX say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  21. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Yeah.. going to be quite a difference. Your CPU should be good for 6.7K PPD. Wasn't that long ago it was considered a really good score for the Wattage. But then the 10-80K PPD GPU came along to distort all notions of points :laugh:
     
  22. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,965 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,393
    Yeah I understand. The gpu WUs have been a tremendous start for me, which has been nice, but now I hope this drop doesn't kill our team's output for the competition. I suppose we just have to wait and see.
     
    Daimus and KieX say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,614 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,482
    Remember it will affect the other Teams as well... if they have been moving into using the app_info file for gpu's then some Teams will be caught with their pants CPUs down. ;)
     
    dude12564, Daimus and manofthem say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,045 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,152
    Remind me what happens when you remove the app_info file. Will it delete all? No, I think it was the other way around - when you add the file it would delete all. I got around 4-5 hours left in my 2x7770 (8 GPU WUs at the time) and I don't want to stay up until 3 am to optimize the right time to delete the file.
     
    Daimus says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  25. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    If you have any tasks with the app_info installed and remove it you'll lose those tasks too. Any significant change need to have the WU aborted or copleted.

    SG have about 200+ more users than us. If it's a CPU shootout it would be tough.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page