1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Guide to running multiple GPU work units

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by KieX, Oct 21, 2012.

  1. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Linux users can now join in on the GPU action! BETA WU's for now:

    http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/forums/wcg/viewthread_thread,34356_offset,0#403554
  2. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,776 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,306
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Yeah you have to let it download work before adding the app info file now for some weird reason.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,741 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,179
    Here's a tip to add: BOINC will consider only two decimal places. For example, if you set the GPU to 0.166, it will round it up to 0.17. Technically, that will put you over 100%. Just round it down to the last hundredth and you shuld be fine.

    EDIT: I should clarify my statement above and say if you're only running GPU WU's and are running more WU's than you have cores/threads. If you are running mixed CPU & GPU WU's, then see Ion's tip below:

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2795584&postcount=433
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2012
    KieX and Norton say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,741 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,179
    AthlonX2, I think you need to start with this:

    Code:
    <app_info>
       <app>
          <name>hcc1</name>
          <user_friendly_name>Help Conquer Cancer</user_friendly_name>
       </app>
       <file_info>
          <name>wcg_hcc1_img_7.05_windows_intelx86__nvidia_hcc1</name>
          <executable/> 
       </file_info>
       <file_info>
          <name>hcckernel.cl.7.05</name>
          <executable/>
       </file_info>
          <app_version>
          <app_name>hcc1</app_name>
          <version_num>705</version_num>
          <platform>windows_intelx86</platform>
          <plan_class>nvidia_hcc1</plan_class>
          <avg_ncpus>1.0</avg_ncpus>
          <max_ncpus>2.0</max_ncpus>
          <coproc>
             <type>CUDA</type>
             <count>.5</count>
          </coproc>
          <file_ref>
              <file_name>wcg_hcc1_img_7.05_windows_intelx86__nvidia_hcc1</file_name>
              <main_program/>
          </file_ref>
          <file_ref>
             <file_name>hcckernel.cl.7.05</file_name>
             <open_name>hcckernel.cl</open_name>
          </file_ref>
       </app_version>
    </app_info>
    IIRC, that will give you two WU's per card and should work on multiple cards - if I'm wrong, please correct me guys.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Where do paste this? local prefs?
  6. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    That goes into the app_info.xml file. Check the OP for location and step to avoid errors.
  7. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,741 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,179
    This:

    You want to install the program, open it, attach to the project, then hit "get no new work." You will need to download two files (which happens when you attach to the project) in order for the app_info file to work, and it won't happen if the app_info file is already in place.* Once everything's downloaded, close the BOINC manager completely and insert the file into that folder, then launch the client. Watch your messages for errors and post them here if you get them.


    * There is a work-around for this if you have already installed the client on another machine: you can copy the files from that other installation. I have done this with 100% success, as long as the app_info file is calling the file by the same name/version.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Really? On my i920, I've set each GPU WU to use .875 CPU cores--and it reports in the manager that that's what it's doing. It also leaves a thread open then for the CPU to run a WU of its own.
    t_ski says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,741 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,179
    You must be running mixed WU's then. I should clarify my statement above then and say if you're only running GPU WU's and are running more WU's than you have cores/threads.

    I edited my post above. Maybe it depends on the client then if it gives you three decimal places. I'm only seeing two on mine.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    I set it up using that xml you referenced. Im getting an error that hcckernel.cl.7.05 doesnt exist
  11. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,741 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,179
    Yep, that's one of the files that needs to download before you can insert that app_info file. Send that file to the recycle bin, open the client and watch the messages or downloads to see when that file is received (the other is "WCG-something-hcc"), then close the client and restore the app_info file from the recycle bin.
    dhoshaw and AthlonX2 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Might be the same as this:

    Close BOINC, remove app_info. Open BOINC, let it download what it needs, hit "no new tasks".

    Once those tasks are cleared, close BOINC, then put the app_info file again and should be sorted next time you open it up.
    dhoshaw and AthlonX2 say thanks.
  13. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Ok it download the cores and is running but just says waiting to run (1CPUS + 2 NVIDIA GPUS) been like this for 5 minutes or so
  14. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    You probably have it set to only run the GPU while you aren't touching the computer. Either set it to use the GPU always or wait a bit.
    And you set that wrong--you want it to say 1 CPUs + .5 nVidia GPUs. That's something you need to fix in the app_info file--I assume you said '2' instead of '.5' for the GPU requirements ;)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Fixed..but its only using one GPU now,but it is running
  16. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Check the Event Log (Ctrl+Shift+E)--at the top it should say that it detects two GPUs but one of them is "not used". If so, create a file named cc_config.xml in the BOINC Data folder, and paste in the following:
    Code:
    <cc_config> <options> <use_all_gpus>1</use_all_gpus> </options> </cc_config>
    KieX and AthlonX2 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,299 (8.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,402
    I have a question:

    Can you change the CPU/GPU values live in the app_info and just restart BOINC or do you need to go through the whole process from scratch?

    i.e.- If I wanted to increase/decrease the # GPU wu's per card or adjust the # of CPU cores reserved for the GPU's (with no other changes)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Thanks for all the help guys! its working as intended now. Hopefully Ill start returning WUs soon!
    t_ski says thanks.
  19. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,741 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,179
    No, you can just close the client, edit the file and then restart the client. if you have WU's in progess, they will complete under the new adjusted ratios when you restart.

    Cool :toast:
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,299 (8.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,402
    Very good! :toast:

    Thanks for the info!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,741 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,179
    You're welcome - I've done this a few times playing with the WU count lately :)

    If you are completely changing up the setup (like adding in the all-projects file or going from GPU only to CPU + GPU, it may or may not work - I have never tested that.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    so now the question is can i get more Wus done by running 2 per gpu or 1 per gpu. right now its 5m10s for 1 Wu per card. I can feel a very expensive addiction coming into play here
  23. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,741 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,179
    You have to test it and find the balance, especially with how you want to use the PC and how you want to cope with the heat/noise. I had a dual-thread P4 running with the GTX 280. I could do one GPU WU in about 8 minutes, and the CPU WU in hours. I took it to two GPU WU's, using one thread from the CPU for each, and was still kinking out WU's in faster time than just a single.

    I think you're best bet would be two WU's per card, each using their own core or thread from the CPU. Ion says watch the heat output though.

    Yes, very much so... :laugh:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    I have never tried it live. If you do I presume you'd need to just hit the "Read prefs" option from the menu. I rather stick to the safe method of closing to avoid errors though.
  25. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    When you click "Read local prefs file" it reads from global_prefs_override.xml

    So I think you'd have to close BOINC and re-launch for it to take effect ;)
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page