1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Guide to running multiple GPU work units

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by KieX, Oct 21, 2012.

  1. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,783 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,238
    That looks like it's only running 8 GPU WU's. I'm assuming it's set up to switch over to CPU WU's if the GPU WU's run out.
    KieX says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Awesome utility, good to see it already resolved a few problems. Updated the OP to include your post and util as the preferred method :toast:

    As t_ski said, you're setup to run the GPU and CPU together, so it will only do CPU work when GPU WU run out. You might want to lower the number of GPU WU until you've completed the CPU tasks otherwise they will not see any CPU time until they become high priority tasks.

    Best results will come from GPU only (and setting the WCG profile to match). If you want to use CPU and GPU you'll need to reduce the WU for GPU to avoid "returned late" results from CPU.
    m&m's says thanks.
  3. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,536 (8.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,196
    Quick note- the app_config setup is much better at reducing the # of "late" results on the CPU.
    Example- I've been running 8 GPU and 2 CPU (HCC only atm) on my FX-8350/7870 rig for a while now and the batch of CPU HCC work units ready to start now stay at a reasonable level.... much better the older app_info setup ;)

    *I don't think I've had a late result on the rig since I switched over.
    KieX says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,559 (10.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,071
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    When using two nvidia cards, does it matter if they are in SLI or not?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,038 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,147
    You might need to hit Update since a BOINC sever was down for some hours and your buffer could have run dry. I did run dry on one rig and if I hadn't asked for new jobs I would have lost yet another two hours on top of the 1½ hours I lost already. I had +1300 wus waiting to be sent from tree rigs.
    stinger608 and Norton say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,536 (8.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,196
    I had 350 wu's unreported on one rig... meaning it had 50 or so left to work on. The other two rigs were reporting properly.

    Thanks for the heads up! :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I lost about four and a half hours on one of my rigs--not sure about the others yet :ohwell:

    @Brandon: No, at least it didn't with my GTX460s.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,783 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,238
    My main rig ended up switching over to CCPU WU's at some point and ran that way for over an hour, then switched back to GPU WU's. At least with the new config file it will do that and the whole day isn't a loss.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,481 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,585
    I didn't know that. I like that feature:)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,536 (8.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,196
    FYI- BOINC did a software update yesterday (1/9). The 7.0.42 version BOINC Manager has been replaced with version 7.0.44.

    The former version no longer exists- I'm still looking for a list of changes between the versions but haven't found anything yet. :shadedshu
    HammerON and mstenholm say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    540 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
  12. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,027
    My 2600k system is running 4 CCPU WUs and 8 GPU WUs at the sametime. Has been ever since I got multiple WUs going on my 7970.

    [​IMG]
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,559 (10.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,071
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Trying to get laughingmans WCG to work

    He has a FX 8 core
    two 7770's

    And he wants to run 4 WU's per card. what would be the proper xml file for him.

    WE are pulling our hair out trying to get it to work.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,536 (8.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,196
    MJost of this info is on Post #1 of this thread:

    Download and install BOINC 7.0.44
    -Attach to WCG account- do the initial downloads, click no new tasks, and shut down BOINC
    - Make a cc_config.xml file (put in Program Data> BOINC folder)

    Code:
    <cc_config>
    <options>
    <report_results_immediately>1</report_results_immediately>
    <use_all_gpus>1</use_all_gpus>
    </options>
    </cc_config>
    
    Use this app_config.xml (1 cpu per 0.25 gpu- total of 8 gpu wu's)
    Code:
    <app_config>
       <app>
          <name>hcc1</name>
          <max_concurrent>8</max_concurrent>
          <gpu_versions>
              <gpu_usage>.25</gpu_usage>
              <cpu_usage>1.0</cpu_usage>
          </gpu_versions>
       </app>
    </app_config>
    
    Restart BOINC
    *Note- Check the project profile on WCG to make sure HCC project and GPU work is selected
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,559 (10.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,071
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    His shows its running 1 ATI and the rest off the cpu LOL
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,536 (8.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,196
    Shutdown BOINC and restart it (BOINC- not the rig)- close it down from the system tray too and make sure stop running tasks on shutdown check box is checked.

    It may have to be restarted once or twice to start picking them up ;)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Ok, not it is not working with the GPUs at all. I give up.
  18. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,536 (8.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,196
    There are a few spots that need to be checked to get it going- it's pretty basic but if you miss a step you're stuck. Drop me a PM if you want some help walking through it....
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. m&m's

    m&m's

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    206 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Location:
    Near North Pole
    Using the utility.

    How many work units do you want to run at a time? 8
    How many work units do you want per card? 4
    How many threads does your computer have? 8

    It should work since as for now I've not received a single complaint.
    If it doesn't work, it will at least mean that the problem is not the app_config.xml.
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,027
    I wasn't able to get multiple WU going without using M&Ms utility
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I didn't use the utility--I just manually created the config file on my i7-860 Thursday. I do believe I had some issues at first, but resetting the project fixed it.

    Doing 8 WUs on the HD7930 w/ a slight OC (1.04GHz) and 3 other WUs on the i7 and I'm getting WUs done in ~9:00-10:00 most of the time :)
    It looks nearly as good as the HD7950--but I'll need to do some more tests to know for sure.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,093 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,489
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Also it should be noted that when starting M&M's utility to right click on your mouse and "run as administrator" to insure the utility opens the command prompt as the administrator.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,832 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,372
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Hell I am still "old school" I am still on the app_info file. Hell it's still working so I won't mess with it until it breaks. :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,536 (8.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,196
    Here's a late X-Mas gift from WCG for all of you guys running low/running out of wu's... They upgraded the Quota to 1200 wu's cached per GPU :)

    See below:
    *Note- the code listed is on their end- we don't have to change anything on our end

    Link:
    http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/forums/wcg/viewpostinthread?post=408493

    :rockout:
    [Ion], mstenholm and stinger608 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,359 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Need help.. installed newest version of boinc, used the utility for multiple gpu units, checked the xml file and it looks the same as op, but I can't get any hcc wus at all. Tried resetting multiple times, no good. This is on a fresh install of windows with a fresh install of 7.0.44. The manager also reports an error of: app hcc1 not found in app_config.xml. I'm confused?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page