1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Guide to running multiple GPU work units

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by KieX, Oct 21, 2012.

  1. oldDirty New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    But my CPU has only 4 threads, or it dosn't matter?
    --
    I founded Bkk Crunching team to support a small crunch Community and to make my wife proud. ;)
    It's ok when other like to join, but it's not that important.
    KieX says thanks.
  2. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,144
    You can run 10 on 4 threads but maybe 8 would be better. Now that you do have a newer version of BOINC you should go to post 617 and download that little program and ask for 8 GPU tasks.
    oldDirty and Daimus say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. oldDirty New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    :eek: impressive...it works omg...:respect:
    It it also possible on Cypress GPU > 5850? maybe i buy one for my old Dell Dimension. It only had a 9500Gt that crunches a bit for Einstein.
  4. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,816 (4.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,957
    FWIF: I'm currently running 0.4 CPUs + 0.1 GPUs (20 WUs on 8 threads) so 10 WUs on 4 cores should do ok.

    Obviously a little experimentation is needed :)
    Daimus and KieX say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    updated OP with link to new utility/post by m&m's

    Yup running the same configuration. Seems that if your clocks are around 4GHz you can at least get the desired 100K out of each.
    Daimus, [Ion], manofthem and 1 other person say thanks.
  6. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,816 (4.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,957
    Hey Kiex, good to hear from you :)
    Maybe you could throw in the OP that multi WUs on Win8 works with the 13.2beta drivers (13.2b4 tests for sure); 13.1 didn't work. Just a thought ...
    :toast:
    KieX says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Had a few minutes to use internet today so had to come back to my second home :laugh: Likewise good see things are all well here.

    Made the update to the pre-requisite / driver section. That's good news because I had to swith my rig back to 7. Wish AMD were a little quicker with their drivers.. :ohwell:
    manofthem says thanks.
  8. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,816 (4.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,957
    Glad to hear that you're well, though it sounds like you're busy! :roll:

    I have to say that I was stoked the other night when I tried it out and found it to work; I posted in the other thread about it here. After that, I came back to 7 to finish up the other downloaded work, and it literally just finished. I'm about to switch back to 8 and enjoy it :)

    I know you're busy but try not to be a stranger here ;) :respect: :toast:
    Daimus and KieX say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Definitely busy. Getting fit, trying to get driving license, travelling to remote places and generally making the most of a short break away from the daily hussle of work. Probably need to go back to UK in April to look for a job again.. but till then enjoy life. :laugh:

    Hopefully I can get back and sort out the unreliable SR-2, spare GPU and all the RMA's for the dead hardware from the H100 failure.. before the GPU WU's end.
    oldDirty, Daimus, manofthem and 2 others say thanks.
  10. oldDirty New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I've bin away from Corsair products since 2 Years and it was a good decision.
    The Quality managment is not the same like few years ago, it seems they slaughter their name.
    Look for the NZXT Kraken review and get surprized.
  11. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,358 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    850
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Been throwing a bit extra into the pot over the last few days with my main box. However, with the new boinc client, I find I can no longer use my 260 with my 480. I'm using the newest version of the config util, tell it 4 wus total, 2 per card, and I can only get 2 wus running on my 480. Any ideas? It did work before with the older boinc client.
  12. ArticFir3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    I can't seem to get the multi GPU WU to work. It only runs 1 WU with GPU at a time. Anyone can help me with my app_config.xml file configuration? Here is my rig details:-

    i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz
    Sapphire 7970 w/ Arctic Accelero Xtreme 7970
    ASUS P8Z68-V/GEN3
    BOINC ver 7.0.40(x64)

    Current app_config.xml.
    <app_config>
    <app>
    <name>hcc1</name>
    <max_concurrent>4</max_concurrent>
    <gpu_versions>
    <gpu_usage>.500</gpu_usage>
    <cpu_usage>1.000</cpu_usage>
    </gpu_versions>
    </app>
    </app_config>

    Thanks in advance :respect::respect:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,816 (4.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,957
    I ran into stuff like that before. I ended up uninstalling BOINC, deleting the ProgramData folder, reinstall and download the files again, and then sometimes you just need to give it a few minutes to update.

    Is it running 1WU on both gpus?
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. ArticFir3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Sorry, I think my post misleads you. It is only 1 GPU. Sapphire 7970 with the custom cooler. However, only 1 WU is using (1 CPUs + 0.25 GPUs). The other 3 WUs are using CPU (I assume)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,370 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    946
    Location:
    Way Upstate New York
    I am at work so can't do anything until I get home.

    So if I understand this right all need to do is update BOINC, then shut it down, then run the easy set up program and fire it back up. Log into my BOINC then tick accept gpu work. Right? Or did I miss something?
    see pc specs, the gup's are stock HD 6950's 2 gigs each.
    can I run in xfire?
    What kind of temps are ppl getting on there gpu's?
    I also game on this rig, if I want to play can I just turn off the GPU work and then back on when finished?

    I will set them up tonight after work,

    Thanks for any help.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,144
    You are asking for 4 units in total and 2 off them should be GPU units and each of them can use 1 CPU thread. That should net you 2 GPU and 2 CPU units.

    Did you use the program in post 617??
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. ArticFir3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Technically the program doesn't works as I tried to run it because my BOINC isn't on the default folder. So I manually created the xml file and paste to the directory. On my BOINC, I did run "Read config file" :banghead::banghead:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. m&m's

    m&m's

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    206 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Location:
    Near North Pole
    You're right that's all you have to do.
    Yes you can crossfire (just verify that it does not send errors).
    My HD 7870 is running at 41C with 8 wus wich is just a little bit more than on idle... My HD 5770 is running at about 46C with 2 wus.
    Yes you can turn off the GPU work and then back on when finished.

    I'll find a solution for that... hopefully tonight!
    ArticFir3 and Bow say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,819 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,361
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    just as m&m's said, you can try crossfiring just pay very close attention to the rig for a couple weeks for errors. Also if you start getting driver crashes and stuff don't be alarmed. Just disable crossfire in Amd vision control while crunching.
    Bow says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,370 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    946
    Location:
    Way Upstate New York
    How many Wu's should I run?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I'd say run three WUs/GPU and give each one 2/3 of a CPU core--then leaving two cores free for CPU tasks too. You could also play with 4 WUs/GPU, but I'm not sure that it would work better.
    Bow says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,819 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,361
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    On my crossfired 6850's I do 1 wu each and 4 cpu units. I can probably crank it up to 2 or 3 wu's per card. Now on my 7850 single gpu rig I am running 4 wu's and no cpu units.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. m&m's

    m&m's

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    206 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Location:
    Near North Pole
    3 hours later... Version 1.2.0 is UP!! You'll find it on post #617.:fear:
    mstenholm, NHKS, Daimus and 5 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. ArticFir3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    I downloaded the program and paste the xml file to the folder. Problem is I always get 4 WUs running, 3 core and 1 GPU. Any idea how to improve the crunching?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,465 (8.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,946
    Post a copy of the text from the xml file you used and we'll have a look...
    HammerON says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page