1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Guide to running multiple GPU work units

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by KieX, Oct 21, 2012.

  1. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,465 (8.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,954
    Awesome!!! :rockout:

    Glad it worked out for you! :)
    Kaynar says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  2. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,370 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    947
    Location:
    Way Upstate New York
    Once I run the auto set up and hit enter is that it? I updated, ran the setp. I set it up to run 1 per card. Now I have lots of tasks ready to report and my running tasks are blinking?
    whats up with that?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,465 (8.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,954
    Not sure? Did you do a manual update to get the ready to report units reported?

    Also, after you ran the utility did you restart BOINC and/or reboot?
    Crunching for Team TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  4. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,370 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    947
    Location:
    Way Upstate New York
    yes to both, and ready to report tasks were sent, but the running ones are still flashing a little, not sure just keep an eye on it.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. erasure

    erasure

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    156 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Kingdom of Lost Heaven
    my pc become very laggy while gpu wu running
    i cant watch video (1fps)
    can anyone advice me for app_config

    <app_config>
    <app>
    <name>hcc1</name>
    <max_concurrent>4</max_concurrent>
    <gpu_versions>
    <gpu_usage>0.5</gpu_usage>
    <cpu_usage>1</cpu_usage>
    </gpu_versions>
    </app>
    </app_config>

    setup spec in my System Specs

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2013
  6. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Unfortunately, particularly for nVidia GPUs, this is just a fact of life. So I'd suggest you set it to run the GPU app only when the computer isn't in use.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,226
    Yep, this is about your only option with Nvidia and crunching.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. erasure

    erasure

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    156 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Kingdom of Lost Heaven
    is there have any way to run video player on IGP (like nvidia optimus)

    or lucid virtu mvp possible to solve this?
  9. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,226
    If you had two video cards you can crunch on one of them and use the second for the system & display (I think), but I'm not familiar with doing something like this. However, I know you have to tell BOINC to use more than one card, so it should default to one card if you don't. I guess the trick is telling it the correct card to crunch on so the system can use the other.
    erasure says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I did this when I still had a GTX460--I'd put the GTX460 in the first slot and an 8400GS in the second slot. Then I just told BOINC to only use one GPU (in the cc_config.xml file) and it only ran tasks on the GTX460. I then drove the display with the 8400GS, and it was perfectly snappy for everyday use.
    erasure and t_ski say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    831 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Just a quick question, I just tried to run 3 WU's on my 680, it ran one task that I already had downloaded fine, but now I cannot get any more task's. Whenever I press the update button, I get this error in the event log, "Server error: feeder not running"
  12. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,465 (8.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,954
    WCG is in a brief shutdown for maintenance- give it a few more hours and try again...
    ALMOSTunseen says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  13. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    831 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Oh ok, That's what I thought, though usually there is a message in the event log about that.
  14. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    831 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Is there any way to only allow it to use 50% of my GPU? I've set it to only do 2 work units and 0.25, but My GPU still runs at full load.
  15. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    My understanding is no--the GPU doesn't have the ability to be fine-grain controlled like CPUs do :ohwell:
    erasure and ALMOSTunseen say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. erasure

    erasure

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    156 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Kingdom of Lost Heaven
    my pc have two (gtx 680 (device 0), gtx 580 (device 1)) gpus
    how to configure hcc1 run only device 1 (gtx 580) while i use PC
  17. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    From what I understand, BOINC isn't able to suspend GPU's individually based on different parameters. Either both are running or both are suspended.

    If you want to have just the 580 crunching to free up the 680 for other things, you can edit the cc_config file to include this:

    Code:
    <exclude_gpu>
       <url>http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/</url>
       <device_num>1</device_num>
       <type>NVIDIA</type>
       <app>HCC1</app>
    </exclude_gpu>
    Didn't get a chance to test that code, but if you want to read up more you can try this page with all configuration options explained: http://boinc.berkeley.edu/wiki/Client_configuration
    erasure says thanks.
  18. erasure

    erasure

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    156 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Kingdom of Lost Heaven
    thanks, now it's working

    i tried this before, but i was wrote url wrong (project_www.worldcommunitygrid.org or www.worldcommunitygrid.org)
    i changed HCC1 to hcc1 (boinc shows error)
    since it's exclude i need to exclude my primary gpu it's GTX 680 (device 0)

    now everything works what i want
    s@h and gpugrid for device 0 (GTX 680)
    hcc for device 1 (GTX 580)

    and i enabled Use GPU always (instead of Use GPU based on preferences)
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2013
    KieX says thanks.
  19. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Glad that's sorted :)
  20. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,472 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,018
    Location:
    Mexico
    Trying to get my GT430 to work. It's NOT on the unsupported GPU list: https://secure.worldcommunitygrid.org/help/viewTopic.do?shortName=GPU#610

    but I can't make it work with boinc. GPU-Z reports 0Mhz as current speed, DC, Physx and OpenCL are uncheck. Used 310.9 drivers.



    edit: seems to be a problem on my end. Device manager shows an exclamation point. *sigh* let's dive in...............
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,465 (8.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,954
    Here's a list of supported gpu's (GT 430 is near the bottom of the list)
    http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/forums/wcg/viewpostinthread?post=396388

    I did a quick search on the WCG forum and found a few posts for the GT 430 using "430" as the search term. I didn't find anything helpful yet but you can always try there :eek:
    Crunching for Team TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  22. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,472 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,018
    Location:
    Mexico
    What would be the optimal number of WUs for a 6570? 2? 1?

    480 shaders, 650 Mhz.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Daimus

    Daimus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    527 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    somewhere in Eastern Europe
    I see no point to run 2 WU on 6570.
    My HD6570 (670 MHz) completes 1 WU in ~15 min.
    HD6670 (900 MHz) -:- ~12 min.
    TRWOV says thanks.
  24. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I'd agree, that's a slow enough card that two WUs will probably just be a waste of CPU power :ohwell:
    Daimus says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Going by this guide it appears that it would be better to run two GTX 460 SE's over two GTX 295's...is that correct? Would it be possible or beneficial to slip another card in with them?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page