1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Guide to running multiple GPU work units

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by KieX, Oct 21, 2012.

  1. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,844 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,387
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Pmed with some info for you.
     
    mstenholm says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,844 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,387
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Make sure sn2s is checked in your profile on wcg site.

    Also guys I have found it is better to make a special profile just for the rig/rigs running the app_info file. Only have checked whats in the app_info file or you may receive errors. Usually the device manager on wcg site controls the work you receive. You added a file to your client which is trying to take that control away. So the site is trying to force the work to your rig and the App_info file is stopping it from doing it and you get an error. Best if just to make a seperate profile which only has the has the work checked that your app_info file has and nothing no where else. :toast:


    Sorry for the double post.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. da_vid

    da_vid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    montreal
    no matter what I do ,only one project per card

    I follow your instruction no new task,shut down boinc create with notepad the file app_info (i use the one for gpu only)but still have 2 task on my cpu and 1 on each card ? maybe i'm dumb
     
  4. Daimus

    Daimus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    527 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    somewhere in Eastern Europe
    Is it an app_info.xml file? Did you put the file in the right folder?
     
  5. da_vid

    da_vid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    montreal
  6. Daimus

    Daimus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    527 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    somewhere in Eastern Europe
    And after putting the file exit BOINC and restart it again? I don't know, it's working fine by me. Maybe KieX knows?
     
  7. da_vid

    da_vid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    montreal
    yes allow new task and update
     
  8. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,598 (8.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,431
    Is it still showing as a text file (right) or an xml file (left)?

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. da_vid

    da_vid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    montreal
    xml file
     
  10. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,598 (8.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,431
    Not sure what the issue is with yours then????
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. da_vid

    da_vid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    montreal
  12. da_vid

    da_vid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    montreal
    thanks norton I leave it like that it piss me off now :(
     
  13. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,844 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,387
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Are you saving it as a xml file or renaming it to a xml file?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. da_vid

    da_vid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    montreal
    I create the file with notepad, i try to save as ''all file''after i retry text

    i type app_info.xml for the name of the file
     
  15. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,844 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,387
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    That should work. Are you using the app info file for your brand of card?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,203 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,689
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    When you save it put "" around it. like "app_info.xml" and save in notepad.
     
    da_vid says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. da_vid

    da_vid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    montreal
    yes ATI only gpu
    ATI/AMD GPU ONLY (No CPU work)
     
  18. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    This may sound silly, but have you tried restarting the computer?
     
  19. da_vid

    da_vid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    montreal
    yes i'll try to restart the pc nothing work for me :(
     
  20. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    hope that works. since you have the file and everything in place, I imagine there must be something that's preventing it from loading correctly. hopefully by restarting you can kill off any processes that may be preventing that.
     
  21. da_vid

    da_vid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    montreal
    i received a error message WCG_HCC1_img_6.56_windows_intelx86_ati_hcc1 in boinc manager
     
  22. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Can you click on "update" in the projects tab of advanced view? And then copy what it says on the BOINC event log? (CTRL+Shift+E)

    I imagine at this point it's read the file which it hadn't before.. and just need to suss out what's needed to get it going.
     
  23. da_vid

    da_vid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    montreal
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | Starting BOINC client version 7.0.28 for windows_x86_64
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | log flags: file_xfer, sched_ops, task
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | Libraries: libcurl/7.25.0 OpenSSL/1.0.1 zlib/1.2.6
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | Data directory: C:\ProgramData\BOINC
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | Running under account rig1
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | Processor: 4 GenuineIntel Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83GHz [Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 7]
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | Processor: 6.00 MB cache
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | Processor features: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss htt tm pni ssse3 cx16 sse4_1 syscall lm vmx smx tm2 pbe
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | OS: Microsoft Windows 7: Ultimate x64 Edition, (06.01.7000.00)
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | Memory: 4.00 GB physical, 8.29 GB virtual
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | Disk: 138.29 GB total, 120.84 GB free
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | Local time is UTC -4 hours
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | ATI GPU 0: Capeverde (CAL version 1.4.1741, 1024MB, 984MB available, 3264 GFLOPS peak)
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | ATI GPU 1: Capeverde (CAL version 1.4.1741, 1024MB, 984MB available, 3264 GFLOPS peak)
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | OpenCL: ATI GPU 0: Capeverde (driver version CAL 1.4.1741 (VM), device version OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (938.2), 1024MB, 984MB available)
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | OpenCL: ATI GPU 1: Capeverde (driver version CAL 1.4.1741 (VM), device version OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (938.2), 1024MB, 984MB available)
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | World Community Grid | Found app_info.xml; using anonymous platform
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | World Community Grid | File referenced in app_info.xml does not exist: wcg_hcc1_img_6.56_windows_intelx86__ati_hcc1
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | World Community Grid | File referenced in app_info.xml does not exist: hcckernel.cl.6.56
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | World Community Grid | [error] State file error: missing application file wcg_hcc1_img_6.56_windows_intelx86__ati_hcc1
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | Config: report completed tasks immediately
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | Config: use all coprocessors
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | World Community Grid | URL http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/; Computer ID 2204973; resource share 100
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | World Community Grid | General prefs: from World Community Grid (last modified 15-Oct-2012 17:12:35)
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | World Community Grid | Host location: none
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | World Community Grid | General prefs: using your defaults
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | Reading preferences override file
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | Preferences:
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | max memory usage when active: 2047.06MB
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | max memory usage when idle: 4053.17MB
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | max disk usage: 69.15GB
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | (to change preferences, visit the web site of an attached project, or select Preferences in the Manager)
    23/10/2012 8:59:46 PM | | Not using a proxy
    23/10/2012 9:06:26 PM | World Community Grid | update requested by user
    23/10/2012 9:06:27 PM | World Community Grid | Sending scheduler request: Requested by user.
    23/10/2012 9:06:27 PM | World Community Grid | Not reporting or requesting tasks
    23/10/2012 9:06:29 PM | World Community Grid | Scheduler request completed
     
  24. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Seems like there might be something wrong with the xml file. The log shows it's got a problem referencing the information inside. Hard to tell.

    I'm attaching my file try replacing yours with this one.. then restart BOINC.. see if it still happens.
     

    Attached Files:

    da_vid says thanks.
  25. da_vid

    da_vid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    montreal
    i replace my file with your and still have the same error message

    and i don't have and receive any task now


    same error with a fresh install
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page