1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Guide to running multiple GPU work units

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by KieX, Oct 21, 2012.

  1. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Any idea what the settings have to be set at on the utility to run four WU's on two 7770's?

    Also, do i run a C/F bridge or not? :confused:
     
  2. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,798 (8.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,107
    Bridge isn't needed

    Do the following:

    add the use all gpus line to cc_config file

    in the app_config
    use 0.25 on the gpu line (8 total wu's)
    use 0.5 or less for the cpu line (depends on cpu)

    See code below ;)

    cc_confg
    Code:
    cc_config>
    <options>
    <report_results_immediately>1</report_results_immediately>
    <use_all_gpus>1</use_all_gpus>
    </options>
    </cc_config>
    
    app_config
    Code:
    <app_config>
       <app>
          <name>hcc1</name>
          <max_concurrent>8</max_concurrent>
          <gpu_versions>
              <gpu_usage>0.25</gpu_usage>
              <cpu_usage>0.50</cpu_usage>
          </gpu_versions>
       </app>
    </app_config>
    
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I'm getting this now...
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,798 (8.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,107
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Looks like they are getting loaded up fine. What are max safe temps for these cards? Seen the one that is getting little air is running much hotter.

    [​IMG]

    Yep, seems like it is...

    [​IMG]
     
    Norton says thanks.
  6. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,798 (8.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,107
    The top card tends to get starved of cool air/pick up heat from the lower card- If you can get a fan in front of the cards it will help a lot

    My top card ran in the 70's until I added a fan. It runs around 60 now... :)
     
    stinger608, AnnCore and Chicken Patty say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    stinger608 and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
  9. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    And suddenly tonight w/o knowing why, my BOINC for MacOS X 10.7.5 started to accept work for my ATI GPU. Strange world cause i investigated quite a bit about it two months ago but found no answer ... and a few minutes ago, watching a youtube video i saw how it was getting slower ... same symptom as it happens on Windows when it's GPU crunching.

    Thought it couldn't be that on Mac (it has been running since the beginning of January and the GPU was detected but no available work for it ever) ... but i gave it a try, i just looked at the Manager to double check and found that it was really crunching!!! So excellent news, i don't have to reboot anymore to do GPU crunching on my main rig :D

    It's running multi WU's as well :toast:

    PS: Any MacOS user who had that issue as well?
     
    Daimus, KieX, [Ion] and 2 others say thanks.
  10. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,243 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,685
    Location:
    Wyoming

    With all this talk about using multiple cards, I am wondering if I couldn't put my GTX560 in my rig as a secondary card behind the current hd7870 to help in GPU work units. Hmm, not sure how well it would run though.
    Not even sure what type of config I would have to set up to make it work correctly.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,909 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,390
    Probably not worth it, as the Nvidia don't net as much as AMD. Red = crunch, green = fold.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,857 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,090
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    My GTX470s get about 16-17k PPD each and the GTX460s each got ~8-9k. Not terrible, by any stretch of the imagination, but it would probably just confuse the HD7870 more than it did good.

    If you want it put to use, my i7 folding system still has an empty slot; it could go right next to the GTX550TI ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. NastyHabits

    NastyHabits

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,075 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Computation Error

    I'm having trouble getting BOINC to run multiple GPU WUs on my 7850. I'm getting a "Computation Error" in 2 seconds or less on each WU. All clocks are stock. The CPU runs fine. I'm using 7.0.59(x64) on an i3. Here's my app_config.xml (it's in the right place too). I need a clue.

    <app_config>
    <app>
    <name>hcc1</name>
    <max_concurrent>4</max_concurrent>
    <gpu_versions>
    <gpu_usage>.25</gpu_usage>
    <cpu_usage>1</cpu_usage>
    </gpu_versions>
    </app>
    </app_config>

    Here's the errors
    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,909 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,390
    7.0.44 is known to be stable. Try the older client. Also, what GPU drivers are you using?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. NastyHabits

    NastyHabits

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,075 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. NastyHabits

    NastyHabits

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,075 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,909 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,390
    You might try the 12.11 beta 4's (or 6 or whatever the last one was) or the latest betas.
     
    NastyHabits says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,798 (8.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,107
    12.6 runs great on all of my crunchers.... check with manofthem if you happen to be using Win8
     
    NastyHabits says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,909 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,390
    Was there a certain required driver version for the GPU units, or what that a certain driver version for the 7770?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,798 (8.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,107
    iirc manofthem needed to use 13.2 beta's? to keep his driver from crashing while crunching on his 7970's with Win8

    I use 12.6's for all of my crunching rigs.... they do the job w/o errors and I use engineering rule #1- If It Ain't Broke Don't Fix It ;)
     
    manofthem says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,110 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,921
    Yes, first one I tried that worked was the 13.2b4. I just updated to 13.3b (due to Crysis 3), and everything has been going smoothly :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,909 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,390
    Yes, same driver has been working much better on Win8. I even can watch videos again while crunching (had green playback before).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    Still only good for HCC? Has anyone found any way to allow a single GPU to process multiple WUs at a time while crunching for all projects?

    Ah, nevermind. I see with this new method I can run every single project and still process multiple GPU WUs with a single card. Good, good...
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2013
    KieX says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. adulaamin

    adulaamin

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    700 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    Baguio City, Philippines
    Good day! My PC won't run GPU work units. I tried using the Auto-setup utility and I tried doing it manually but the BOINC Manager is showing a notice saying "app hcc1 not found in app_config.xml". I have a screenshot below of the notice and of the xml file created. The file is saved in C:\ProgramData\BOINC\projects\www.worldcommunitygrid.org and I am tried using 7.0.44 and 7.0.64. :confused:

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,110 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,921
    HCC GPU units are gone, no more, adios, so long :(
     
    adulaamin says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page