1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Guide to running multiple GPU work units

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by KieX, Oct 21, 2012.

  1. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,869 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,123
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    So I have the HD7770 doing 3 WUs at once right now. But I'm having some difficulties--not only am I getting now CPU tasks (I told it to give me GFAM), but I'm also not getting any more GPU WUs. Once these run out in a few minutes, I'm going to try uninstalling and deleting everything per the instructions in the OP. The 3 WUs at once are so fast, so I'd definitely like to get it working.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,118 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,948
    If you wanted gpu work only, you should copy what's under ATI/AMD GPU ONLY, the first option. That's what I did. Maybe try that option and see if it'll give you more gpu work only.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,869 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,123
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Ahh, but I want CPU work as well ;)

    So I copied and pasted the 2nd option :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,869 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,123
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Well, I've tried the version of BOINC from the WCG website, and now I do have 3 WUs running at once. But all of the GFAM WUs are failing on download :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,118 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,948
    I see, I see... well i fear I'm not much help to you. :confused: After all, I'm the noob who's still learning :p

    But on another note, I can confirm that you can run more total gpu WU's than you have cores/threads. I just set this a few minutes ago. I'm running 6 per card right now, averaging 2:40-3:10. I'm not sure if it's worth it yet. I mean, perhaps I should just keep the cards doing 4 and finishing faster... Maybe I'll let it go over night and check numbers tomorrow.

    I changed the following values, and it worked fine.
    <avg_ncpus>.66</avg_ncpus>
    <count>.16</count>
    [​IMG]


    Little update: it seems after letting it run a little bit, the numbers settle and drop a bit. Now it seems that they are all under 3:00, some even under 2:00 :) Hopefully it keeps going strong!
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2012
    Daimus, KieX and Norton say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,869 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,123
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    It's looking like I'll have to decide between using the CPU or 3x GPU WUs. Still not sure--while I do like the PPD boost, I also like the runtime for other projects and supporting multiple things at once.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,806 (8.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,122
    The power of those 7970's is just incredible! :eek: :respect:
     
    manofthem says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,118 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,948
    Perhaps run the GPU WUs during the competition (and enjoy some yummy pie mmmmm), and then you can switch it up?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Thanks for confirming that :toast:
     
    manofthem says thanks.
  10. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,869 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,123
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    That's what I'm considering. I'll just keep an eye on it for a few hours and see what it's looking like.



    KieX, any way to create an app_info.xml that uses different projects?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,118 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,948
    No no, thank you. I used your information to do it lol :toast:
     
    KieX says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Not sure what the status is at the moment, but I can share this bookmark with you: http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/forums/wcg/viewthread_thread,34171
    It's an ongoing thread about a file to include all projects.

    Still needed someone to test and report back :laugh:
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
  13. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,869 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,123
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I don't know how the hell this happened--but I think I may have the system running 3 ATI HCC WUs and GFAM on everything else. This wasn't supposed to be the case--I was just giving up and removing app_info, but it seems to be working.
    [​IMG]
     
    manofthem says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,118 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,948
    well hey, that looks great! If you figure out what you did, let us know :laugh: :laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,869 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,123
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    This is strange--now that there are CPU WUs running, the GPU WU times have gone up considerably. They were ~3:50-4:00/WU, now it's more like 5:20-5:30/WU. I'm thinking I may be better off if I actually only run GPU WUs.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Well.. keep in mind that the elapsed time of the CPU WU is much longer than GPU WU, so BOINC will be constantly adjusting the estimates up and down. At any rate I think with these WU, it's worth doing GPU only for time being.
     
  17. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,869 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,123
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I'm trying giving it 50% tops CPU usage and I'll see what this does. That way, each WU at least gets an entire real core. But I do think I may go back to GPU only...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,916 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,404
    Found this link again and it shows I'm in second place - less than 5000 points behind number 1. With the changes I made yesterday and the new card in the second rig today, I imagine I will be #1 tomorrow! :)
     
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,806 (8.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,122
    That rig is a beast T and it took about a week with WCG to show it :rockout:

    Edit- that's just the one rig so the work on the other rig is further down on the chart ;)
     
    t_ski says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,916 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,404
    OK then, it's gonna be close.

    I'm down to 3:54-4:17 per WU on the 7770 :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,869 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,123
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    And that's with four WUs at once? :eek:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,916 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,404
    Yes, sir :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,869 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,123
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Can you copy/paste your exact file? And what BOINC version are you using? I need to try this! :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,916 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,404

    Attached Files:

    Daimus and [Ion] say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,869 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,123
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Thanks! I'm running 4 WUs at once right now with times of about 4:40 or so...not quite what I was hoping. I may leave it like this, but I might go back to 3. I'm not getting any more work, which is problematic. I think I'll just go back to a single WU for now--at least that will keep going @ 20k PPD vs being problematic. I'll fight with it more tomorrow :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page