1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

H20 Ftw,i can run 4ghz now

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by tigger, Oct 25, 2008.

  1. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
  2. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    wat loop j00 running braw
  3. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    that looks like a lot more than id be comfartable with for any chip. Even though 65nm core 2s operate at a slightly higher voltage AFAIK, than than the 45nm i worked with.
  4. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    I wouldn't run it at those volts 24/7...I can do 4.2ghz at those volts but I would never run it 24/7...even though the temps are ok its still overvolting the cpu.
  5. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    i ran mine like for a yr at 1.55v just for 3.6GHz :( E6400 still got it and it works :D
  6. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    Those volts are fine for 24/7 use. Keep the temps down the the volts aren't going to kill it.
  7. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    Well shit, maybe I'll run my Q6600 at 4.2ghz then because the temps are fine...I just really don't want to burn it out...
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,478 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,989
    I agree with JC here, some CPU's will just eat the volts and use it more efficiently than others can.

    I did some really silly things with my E6400 as well, and its still kicking in her rig OC'd and does fine to this day, such as benching as its set in the attatched screenie. XOCthread4000.JPG
  9. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,851 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Location:
    Florida, US
    my e4400 needed 1.6v+ for 3.6GHz lol
    I ran it @1.55 3.55GHz 24/7 on air, lol
    and it's still alive
  10. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page