1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

H50 Push/Pull Experience

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Wastedslayer, Aug 19, 2010.

  1. Wastedslayer

    Wastedslayer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    856 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Installed 2 Scythe Slipstream fans onto my H50 today, using the method suggested by Corsair drawing Cold Air into the case. Temps under full load Prime95 test, 32C after 15 Mins. Idle Temps are somewhere in the 18-19C range! You can check my OC in specs, this isnt a stock 1090t.

    What a cooler!

    Wasted
     
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Something is wrong. What temp is the ambient air inside your case?
     
  3. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,027 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Australia
    Have any screenshots?
     
  4. crush3r

    crush3r New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    346 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    X6 sensors are known to be innacurate, reading too low.
     
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Exactly why I mentioned it. They are usually 10C off.
     
    crush3r says thanks.
  6. b82rez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    134 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Hobart, Australia
    LOL! I also have the same setup, H50 Push/Pull with 1090T at 4ghz. I was shocked when I saw the temps myself then I downloaded HWmonitor. The CPU temp is about 15c higher than the core temp. Still an excellent cooler and keeps my overclocked 1090t well below safe temps! :cool:
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,807 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,190
    That processor is more than 10c off.

    @Wastedslayer what is your CPU socket temp?
     
  8. b82rez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    134 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Hobart, Australia
    I reckon his CPU socket temp will be around 50c full load! These chips run pretty cool I must admit and overclock really well!
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,807 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,190
    Cores should run higher than the socket temp. It doesn't make sense for them not to.

    I've confirmed my temps with an infrared temp sensor.

    [​IMG]

    CPU/NB voltage is at 1.4v also, so that adds some heat.

    This is being cooled with a 3x120mm and two 120mm radiators with a Heatkiller Cu block on the CPU and a full coverage motherboard block. Ambients are 25c :)
     
    b82rez and JrRacinFan say thanks.
  10. b82rez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    134 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Hobart, Australia
    Yeah, I understand this. There is something wrong with the X6's and the temp sensors. A fair few people seem to be having this issue. :confused:
     
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Actually, while I agree with your post, you'll find that with really good cooling, socket temps will be a bit higher than core temps, unless you have airflow across the back of the board. but they should be within 2-3c of each other at most, I have found.

    And looking at your temps, I'd say something was up with your cooling...

    pic inbound...

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 19, 2010
  12. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    IR thermometer FTW....

    Yes as said before unless your ambient temps are -50 that's not going to happen.
     
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,807 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,190
    There is a small 40mm fan on the backside of the mobo. Good catch. :) Aside from that what do you think is up with my cooling? I've had this chip under various cooling (air, water, different pumps/rads/etc) and it is indeed a hot chip.
     
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    It's explained by your fan. If not for that, I'd say clean your block, or replace your pump, as the delta between the 2 should not be so high with good cooling. If I had your cooling, I'd be lower than socket temps, for sure. I am now, currently, under idle. load they are equal, or socket is 1c higher.

    Your socket temps are nowhere near accurate due to that fan. In fact, I think that bios protections would be nerf'd too, as the temp it reads is so much lower than actual core temp...interesting thought!

    I'm running 1.35v, and getting similar load temps as you. Ambient is probably 10c lower, too.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  15. b82rez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    134 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Hobart, Australia
    If any of you guys know a fix for the X6 temp errors, please let us know. Would be nice to have it fixed! :rolleyes:
     
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    There's nothing wrong with it. Nothing to fix. If you don't like it's reporting, use software that offers an offset to what it reads, like coretemp, and you're good to go. Add 12c, et voila!

    there's no mention of what fans he's using...could be 2x150CFM fan...no way to know what's going on here.
     
  17. b82rez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    134 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Hobart, Australia
    This is what I'm doing. I have Coretemp set to +15. Still a bit annoying, imo.
     
  18. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,027 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Australia
    I have one of these coolers coming overnight to replace my IFX-14. Also ordered a Enermax Magma Batwing Blade to go with it. I cant wait to have that great hunk of heatsink out of the way.... :D
     
  19. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,027 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Australia
    Double post I know but I thought why not revive the thread haha. Here are some temps from H50 on my Q6600 rig. 2 Fans push pull as an intake at the front of the case.
    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page