1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

H7O Fail D:

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by mp3boy, Jul 3, 2011.

  1. mp3boy

    mp3boy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    150 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hi guys,

    I have an i7 950 @4.2 ghz (1.3215v) along with an h70. Recently, my temps have gotten progressively worse. It started with a increase in temps from 40c idle...to 45c idle...to 50c idle.

    I have both of the fans on the H70 running and have a dust filter on the outside fan, which I vacuum quite often.

    It's gotten so bad that I can't game without getting a BSOD....

    I decided to reset the i7 to stock clocks and my temps are 41C right now -.-

    btw it's 72F in the room...so what gives??

    Thanks
     
  2. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    Have you tried reseating the cooler?
     
    mp3boy says thanks.
  3. SaiZo

    SaiZo

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    498 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hesperus IV
    Bubbles in the water tubings?
     
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    damn that H70 seems like its not performing well. As others have said, reseat and if that doesnt work see if its getting air bubbles
     
    mp3boy says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Have you taken the fans off the H70? Even with dust filters it will get clogged up.
     
    mp3boy says thanks.
  6. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    778
    Location:
    Rochester area
    h70 is a sealed system
    if there is air in the system then it has a leak ..
    no coolant = fried hardware
    or the pump is failing
    either way continuing to run the system will cause permanent damage
    replace/repair the cooler ASAP
     
    mp3boy says thanks.
  7. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    I agree it should be cooling better than that it has to be a bad seating of the block. My 950 idles at 40c with 1.32v @4.0. I had the same issues but temps were 44-48 idle and was just bad mounting.
     
    mp3boy says thanks.
  8. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    For that overclock, the CPU voltage is good and the H70 shouldnt have an issue cooling it.

    Are you sure that the voltage reading is correct though?
    I ask as I had an issue with another mobo where the voltage i inputted into the bios way was off the actual value till I updated to another bios.

    Perhaps you have a similar issue or the mobo is auto setting the voltage for the overclock and the cooler cant keep up with it.
     
    mp3boy says thanks.
  9. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    I also have an H70 with a 950. At stock settings it idles around 28-31c. Loads at 49c

    At my 4.0 191x20 or 200x20 w/ 1.3 vcore (give or take a bit) it idles at 36-40c and loads at 69c

    I have aftermarket TIM & fans but yours still shouldn't be running that poorly. I am willing to bet the TIM that came with it got screwed up when you were seating it. Or you just don't have it seated tight enough. Try removing the sticky pads on the back plate. It helps.

    Also do you have it pulling air into the case or pushing out?


    *Oh and I wouldn't use a dust filter on a radiator fan like that. It can greatly decrease your static pressure.
     
    mp3boy says thanks.
  10. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,931 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    816
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    Sounds like a dying pump. I have seen it before with cheap pumps. I would say put back on the stock cooler without OC and RMA it to Corsair. Tell them the pump is failing because the temps are getting worse than a stock coller etc.

    What TIM are you using?
     
    mp3boy says thanks.
  11. mp3boy

    mp3boy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    150 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    hey guys so I reseated my cpu cooler, reset my overclocks, and moved my pc down to the basement where it's approximately 5-6C cooler. Currently, I have 33C-36C Idle (this is with speedstep enabled).

    Is this normal?

    Thanks again :)

    PS: what's TIM?
     
  12. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    778
    Location:
    Rochester area
    I would make double sure the pump is working right
     
  13. mp3boy

    mp3boy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    150 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    OneMoar, How can I check?
     
  14. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    778
    Location:
    Rochester area
    listen for odd noises whineing, grinding vibration type sounds are not stuff you wanna hear
    also make sure any and all fan control is off in the bios and make sure any automatic thermal shutdown options are enabled
    you don't want the pump to suddenly stop and then burn your cpu up
     
    mp3boy says thanks.
  15. mp3boy

    mp3boy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    150 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    mmk sounds good thanks again OneMoar :)

    PS: So I should disable Q-Fan control then? (I currently have it set to turbo)
     
  16. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    778
    Location:
    Rochester area
    I am unsure of what the turbo setting does but you don't want it to throttle it down because that would slow the pump down
     
  17. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Reseat the cooler, or bubbles in the liquid, or perhaps the pump is starting to die, the last 2 will likely mean an RMA.
     
  18. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,788 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,338
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    how long your wc has been run, you could check if there any clog and its coolant too
    you assume your fan is good so check your pump too, like other is there any sound that aint usual
    the contact area of waterblock and thermal paste need to checked too and how tight it to processor
     
  19. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    778
    Location:
    Rochester area
    anti-rage edit >_>
    THE H70 IS A SEALED SELF CONTAINED SYSTEM its not a mounting issue if the problem started out of the blue you can't get bubbles in a sealed system unless there was air in there to begin with OR a seal is bad some-ware and its leaking / sucking air
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2011
  20. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,788 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,338
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    yeah skip clogged and coolant and check your radiator temp too
     
  21. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    778
    Location:
    Rochester area
    I failed Post deleted .. carry on
     
  22. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,931 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    816
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    You should test it by how high the temps get under heavy load from programs like Prime95 and OCCT. Idle temps don't show if it has good heat dissipation like under load does.


    TIM is Thermal Interface Material. Most know it as thermal paste.
     
  23. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    Those temps sound about right. The H70 doesn't have the lowest idle temps in the world, but I get anywhere from 29-33 idle on my i7 950 with H70. That's with my 950 at stock speeds and voltage.

    With my 4.0 OC the H70 idles at around 36-39c and hits load of about 69c. I do not have stock fans on mine, however. I went with higher static pressure fans.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page