1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

hard disk drive problem

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by vivanco, Nov 7, 2006.

  1. vivanco

    vivanco New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    128 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Kitchener, ON
    i have a western digital 120 gb ide hard drive ( there was still 25 gb free space ) and everything was running fine until i decided to update windows xp home edition service pack 1 to service pack 2. I updated the windows and after the updating was done it asked me to restart the computer so i restarted the computer and it was normal then the windows would not start up. i turned off the computer and then turned it back on, everything gets on normally but it gets stock at where it says windows xp, it just stays there forever therefore i dont get to my desktop. Any idea what might be causing the problem?

    I have an old hard disk drive which im not using and it has 10 gb space. Can i plug it to my system and run the windows from that and still be able use my other hard disk too so i can uninstall the service pack 2 from my hard disk.

    Waiting for your suggestions!

    Thank you for your time !
  2. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    F8 @ bootup, & try safemode... this will test if it is some driver issue! Safemode ONLY LOADS what is absolutely necessary to startup Windows, & only MS drivers (no 3rd party ones typically unless they are required).

    :)

    * Start here & try that, first...

    (Good HDD by the way, one of my favs from the past... the WD 120gb JB series, 7,200rpm & 8mb of cache!)

    APK

    P.S.=> We can try an /SOS bootup later if need be as well, to hopefully pinpoint WHICH driver may be stalling on you here as well... first, try the above though, safemode bootup! apk
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2006
  3. vivanco

    vivanco New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    128 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Kitchener, ON
    Thank you Alec§taar, i will try the safemode bootup.
  4. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    You're welcome & good luck!

    :)

    * This will help us understand if it is a "shot" HDD, or just some problem windows is having during bootup, initializing drivers & such (which is what is happening when you see the Windows logo during bootups, & the "scrollbar" moving).

    EDIT - Per your question above: Yes, you could probably install that other diskdrive too, but you MAY have to pull some jumpering (master/slave) if you use them on the SAME IDE/EIDE cable...

    HOWEVER, I would try to bootup from that WD 120 preferably, because they are FAST disks imo @ least!

    APK

    P.S.=> The addition of /SOS to the boot.ini can help too, if it IS a "hung driver" because it can show us WHICH driver is NOT initializing properly, since this bypasses the std. "scrollbar" loading of drivers & shows WHICH drivers are loading during bootup (much like how a Linux system boots up, verbosely)...

    One thing @ a time though - try safemode bootup, first... apk
  5. vivanco

    vivanco New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    128 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Kitchener, ON
    i think i remember myself trying to bootup in safemode too but i didnt wait for a long time, i only waited for 5 minutes or so and it still didnt get to the desktop. im goning to try again and wait more this time to understand what's going. im at school now ill try when i go home and still be able to post the results from my laptop...

    Thanks guys
  6. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Good, because I have to "step out" myself... I will be gone probably nearly as long as you are while testing ('remotely' lol) your bootup while you go to school & see if it just takes more time is all in safemode, just by giving it an EXCESS of time for safemode to get you to the logon for XP (or just to see if it gets in, since XP defaults to an autologon iirc, no username/pwd required like 2000 & Server 2003 require by default).

    APK
  7. Fireball667 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    this happend to a friend of mine, unfortunately in his case the HDD LOST his OS...lol
    He had to reinstall windows, hopefully Alec has a better solution. on a side note i have a baby brother to that in my current rig, WD 80gb 8mb =)
  8. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    It MAY come to that... you never know.

    :)

    * Gotta run though, finally, & get some other stuff done here that needs doing...

    APK
  9. vivanco

    vivanco New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    128 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Kitchener, ON
    thanks for your time guys i have fixed my problem, i just repaired windows by using my windows xp home edition cd.. and no im not planning to update it to service pack 2 lol until i get a new hard drive
  10. Judas

    Judas

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,032 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    These problems sound familiar :rolleyes: My raptor keeps on losing my os , dont know why ?
    got feed up in the end ...had to keep on calling ms to get xp activated,so went out and got a WD 160js sata II drive ...hope this one is better :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page