1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hard Drive SMART error...how long do i have?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by acousticlemur, Dec 1, 2007.

  1. acousticlemur

    acousticlemur New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    675 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Michigan, US
    i just got the smart error when booting 2 days ago on my WD800BB-22JHCO 80GB ide drive. i have 2 other 120GB drives but no room to save all my music and movies that are on the failing drive. i am going to be getting a 500GB in a few weeks. what is the best thing i can do to prolong my files till i get a new drive? would unplugging it help or wouild that cause it to fail faster?
     
  2. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    minimise start/stop cycles
     
    acousticlemur says thanks.
  3. acousticlemur

    acousticlemur New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    675 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Michigan, US
    so just unplug it??
     
  4. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    yep
     
    acousticlemur says thanks.
  5. peach1971

    peach1971 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Germany
    acousticlemur says thanks.
  6. acousticlemur

    acousticlemur New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    675 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Michigan, US
    not sure. i took the hard drive out of my computer and remembered that i have a 120GB hdd in my laptop so i used my little usb hard drive tool:

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=35412

    and am copying all the files to my laptop. i have had a smart error on my primary drives in the past and just saved all my data and kept using them for weeks or months, but with all my music i was a bit worried. i dont want to have to drag all my cd's out of the closet and rip them again. so hopefully this will work ok. thanks guys. and Peach1971 i will check out that program after i put it back in my pc. thanks
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page