1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hardware information needed

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by trickson, Jan 17, 2009.

  1. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    OK I am looking at changing one pice of hardware and well I was thinking of this mobo.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...Description=ASUS Maximus II Formula&x=16&y=35
    Or this cpu .
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115041

    Reasons for the mobo change is Massive V-Drop ( really the only grip I have with this mobo at all ) .

    Reason for changing CPU well the Q6600 is getting old and I see that the Q9550 is a much faster and smaller die and a true Quad core and well new all around . V-Drop on mobo will not be as big a deal as with the Q6600 power hog .

    So what would you do if you only had one thing you could change and these where the only reason's ?
  2. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    I'd go with a new board. New board you should be able to push that 6600 to 4ghz.
    trickson says thanks.
  3. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    No I think the highest this will get is 3.8GHz as I can reach it for benchmarking on this mobo right now and really even if I could get 4GHz out of it how is that stacking up when you look at the Q9550 at even 3.8GHz ?
  4. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    I would just get a new mobo. If you don't like something about it, why would you put a new processor in it and then still have to deal with the part of the mobo you don't like?
    trickson says thanks.
  5. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Well the only gripe I have is V-Drop and well with only one gripe that is not really all that big of a deal I think and well the CPU would be a real difference right ? if not then the mobo it is :rockout: .
    I mean would you get rid of a mobo just because it have V-Drop and nothing els ?
  6. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    I had a Q6600 in my current rig then was able to obtain a 9770. Did some testing with it at different clocks and with my x48bt2 my 6600 would only do 3.6ghz so I clocked my 9770 at 3.6 and left it at 1600mhz fsb mind you my 6600 was also running a 1600fsb. Ran 3dmark06 and my 9770 only scored 100+ points higher that my 6600.
    I was never able to get my 6600 to 4ghz mainly due to the board I have. Intel boards have never been much for overclockers, and I mainly buy them for their rock solid reliability. But now I'm wanting to push this 9770 to the wall and my current board just isn't up to it.
    trickson says thanks.
  7. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Well the I just want to know if any one would get rid of a mobo because of V-Drop first off . And this CPU is really at the Wall any way 3.7GHz is very fast yes but it is also getting very old and a 45nm Chip will perform better ? Am I getting a new mobo for the right reason ? it works really great aside for that one small problem and all . I want to be sure that if I get rid of this mobo for a different one that I am making it to get more performance not just to cure a V-Drop problem , you know ?
  8. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    The only way I would get rid of a board for that reason is if it was inhibiting the overclock potential of a cpu other than that, no I wouldn't get rid of it for having V-Drop.:toast:
    trickson says thanks.
  9. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Well it really is not I am stable at 3.7GHz and really that is pushing this CPU to the MAX . This is a nice mobo I like it and all I want more performance and well if changing the mobo will not give me more performance out of the current components then I will ask will getting the Q9550 do it then I can over clock the Q9550 right ? Netting me even more performance ?
  10. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    Ya that would be your best option in this case. I've seen alot of people push the 6600 past 4ghz stable and was assuming your board was holding you back. I don't believe this to be the case now. So ya I'd go with a new chip in this case. You should be able to overclock that 9550 very well.

    Now if I could only find a x48 rampage extreme for 200 bucks:D
    trickson says thanks.
  11. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yeah this is just what I have been thinking taking the priced into account and the performance gain as well I just can't see getting a new mobo for this CPU . The Q9550 will net me more gains than the Q6600 as I have really tapped it for ALL she has .
    Well that has put my mind at ease I want to thank you for the help and for clearing it up for me as well . Man next week is going to be a big week for me :D .
    Woody112 says thanks.
  12. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    Ya that first week after getting new hardware is always fun.:D Glad I could be of help and Good luck.:toast:
    trickson says thanks.
  13. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yeah it is fun . I haven't picked it up yet still looking for the very lowest price I can get one for ...
  14. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    I would get the Q9550. Your mobo is good and that Q6600 doesn't have that much room to improve.
    trickson says thanks.
  15. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Thank You good to know before I buy :rockout: .

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page