1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hardware or Software related?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by doradeno2003, Sep 10, 2007.

  1. doradeno2003 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi to all this is my first post , I will like to see if someone can tell if this is a Hardware or Software related?

    I went to my sister house and she told me the computer do not boot up and when we try it again the screen displayed in small letters "no sistem imput"

    can someone help me to find out the problem?:(
     
  2. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Sounds like the monitor isn't plugged in or you have a video card issue...

    Is the video on board or does it have a video card?
     
    doradeno2003 says thanks.
  3. doradeno2003 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    video on board, before I get this message XP try to boot and then the screen goes black showing this message!
     
  4. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    At that point odds are you have no video driver or the device is turned off in windows for some odd reason... I have come across that issue when trying to use a video card in a machine with onboard video without an option to turn it off...

    Try to boot safe mode, and try to install a video card if you have one, if non of that works re-set bios defaults, if still nothing attempt a re-install of windows.
     
    doradeno2003 says thanks.
  5. LonGun

    LonGun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    407 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    U.S. - San Diego, CA
    Try to reset the bios by removing the battery on the motherboard. If it doesn't work still, either your motherboard (which is usually the reason) or the processor is bad.
     
    doradeno2003 says thanks.
  6. LonGun

    LonGun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    407 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    U.S. - San Diego, CA
    What kind of computer is it? is it an HP/Compaq/Gateway/eMachines? Is it still under the warranty?
     
  7. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    You should read the posts, he has video until the windows loading screen.
     
  8. doradeno2003 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thank you guys I will do that tomorrow when I by her House, then I will post the results!
     
  9. doradeno2003 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    it is a clone, I do not know what she has in it I will see and come back with mor details!
     
  10. LonGun

    LonGun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    407 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    U.S. - San Diego, CA
    Ok sure. If she does have the warranty, ask her to call them. For example, if she purchased it at BestBuy, ask her to call BestBuy warranty and report the problem and identify herself with them. If you don't know the number, call the local store. Ok, see you later.
     
  11. LonGun

    LonGun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    407 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    U.S. - San Diego, CA
    Oh, my bad. Say if the system came with a set of restore discs, run them. But be warned that if you going to run them, all of her information (pictures, songs, documents, ..) will be lost.
     
    doradeno2003 says thanks.
  12. doradeno2003 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hello Guy's
    I went back to my sister House with my Laptop and connected her monitor to my Laptop and did the same thing to me "no system input" after XP try to load and then went back to restart and doing the same thing over again.

    I also try another monitor on Her computer and it did the same thing!
    so what else can I chek?
     
  13. LonGun

    LonGun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    407 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    U.S. - San Diego, CA
    It is not the monitor problem, buddy. If you were able to see Bios screen, most likely it is the software problem somehow related to the onboard video device.
    If the computer doesn't have any warranty on it (make sure you ask her), open it and take remove the hard drive in her computer and connect it to your desktop computer as a secondary drive, so you can get in there and back up her stuffs (pictures, songs, documents) so she won't lose them when you perform the next step.
    After that connect her hard drive back to her computer and run the System Recovery Discs to restore her system back to the way it was when she first bought it.
    Those System Recovery Discs should came in the box when she bought her computer. If she doesn't have it, you guys can use the Windows Operating System disc to reinstall it if you want.
    Let me know if you have any questions regarding those above infos.
     
    doradeno2003 says thanks.
  14. doradeno2003 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thank's LonGun

    I will try that tomorrow!
     
  15. LonGun

    LonGun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    407 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    U.S. - San Diego, CA
    hey no problem. As long as you know how to remove and connect hard drives, we'll be ok.
     
    doradeno2003 says thanks.
  16. doradeno2003 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    As You has diagnosed LonGun it is the OS , I started to run my OS set up and it was running so I stopped because it was going to erase all her files and we did not wanted that and since I have XP Professional and hers is XP Home Edition I could not run it to fix it, now all I have to do is find a copy of her OS and use the feature to fix it.
     
  17. LonGun

    LonGun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    407 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    U.S. - San Diego, CA
    Yes, I understand. Do not use your copy if it's different version of windows. You scared me at the moment :D . But anyway, first if she DOES NOT have that OS disc OR she HAS the manufacturer restore disc (which I dont' think it will give you the "repair" option to choose)that's the reason why I was hoping if you know how to swap your sister's hard drive into your desktop computer so you can back up her stuffs into a CD/DVD or to your hard drive temporarily. So then you can run the restore install back the windows to her hard drive then put her old backed-up stuffs back in there once everything's done.
    Again, not sure of something, let me know before perform any work, or else she'll kill both of us if you got her stuff wiped.
     
  18. LonGun

    LonGun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    407 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    U.S. - San Diego, CA
    The screen went blank right after that Windows Startup Screen.
    The OS in her computer is XP Home Edition. The disc he used on her computer was the XP Pro Edition.
    I was thinking if his sister's computer is manufacturer built from HP/Compaq/Gateway/Sony/Emachines/... there's a chance for the System Recovery Discs included in the package when she bought it. (even though the recent models of HP/Compaq computers do not come with those disc like before. End-user must create them by going to Start->All Programs->HP Helps and Tools->System Recovery Discs Creator) And let say she has those Recovery Discs with her. I wouldn't recommend run them unless she does not care about her personal stuffs which are still inside that hard drive.
    Now back to where you said "restore the video driver without reinstalling the windows", how can you do that when you can't even access to the Windows using Normal or Safe Mode? Especially those System Recovery Discs, say she has them, will not give her the option to Repair.
     
  19. LonGun

    LonGun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    407 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    U.S. - San Diego, CA
    So if Doradeno knows how to install the sister's hard drive to his desktop computer as a Primary Slave and back up her file by running his Windows, it'll be fine. She won't lose her stuffs. If Doradeno does not know how to do that, his sister must accept to lose her stuffs by letting him help her using his disc or her disc to run to install back the Windows for her.
     
  20. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    yes i understood that but......

    the original failure i was thinking was a virus or worm infecting the system so im thinking if he tries to save files he may actually infect his own system right?
     
  21. LonGun

    LonGun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    407 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    U.S. - San Diego, CA
    No he will not if he uses his updated anti-virus and anti-spyware to scan that hard drive after he connected it to his computer. He should done that before start backing up the stuffs from that hard drive to his own.
     
  22. LonGun

    LonGun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    407 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    U.S. - San Diego, CA
    In fact, after scanned the hard drive, he can also back up her stuffs into a CD, if big--> a DVD. He doesn not have to tranfer those stuffs into his hard drive.
     
  23. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    keep in mind he doesnt have our experience you know, are you sure you made him aware of all this?

    simple mistakes arent simple to someone who doesnt know not to make them.
     
  24. LonGun

    LonGun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    407 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    U.S. - San Diego, CA
    Im sure he had read all this. Because he was on and just off a minute ago. I do have the feeling Doradeno might not know how to remove and install the hard drive. If that the case, his sister must lose her files in order to get the Windows back.
     
  25. LonGun

    LonGun New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    407 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    U.S. - San Diego, CA
    Thanks for bringing all that additional information up, keakar. Otherwise, I wouldn't remember to bring it up.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page