1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

has anyone else had this issue?

Discussion in 'Comments & Feedback' started by AthlonX2, Jan 19, 2010.

  1. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,121 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,619
    i go to browse to techpowerup.com and low and behold.....just thought w1zzard might wanna know IE8 has reported his site as unsafe? odd

    [​IMG]
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,610
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Nope. I use IE8 on all my machines and have never seen that.

    When I tell smartscreen filter to check the site to see if it's unsafe, it comes back with no threat reported.
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2010
  3. Edito

    Edito

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    346 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Maputo-Mozambique
    Maybe ur computer is already infected i use to work with IE8 too and i've never seen this before...
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,545 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,227
    what does show details tell you ?
  5. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,623 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Chicago
    Oh yeah? Well I say IE8 is the unsafe one! :p
  6. BobBarr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    188 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Atlantic City,NJ
    Quite right!
  7. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,610
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Bah, I've always used IE. Never had any problems.
  8. BobBarr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    188 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Atlantic City,NJ
    Neither have I, the people who have are the ones that click on the.."Please click here to destroy your computer" link. :toast:
  9. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    IE8...enough said...:rolleyes::D

    You IE people should use Firefox it's faster , safer ...what would you want more..?;)
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,487 (6.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,727
    It is a piece of malware running in the background on your machine, I see machines come into my shop all the time that do this on a lot of random sites.

    Run a full scan of Malwarebytes and see what happens.

    Anyone that believes any browser is safer than the other is ignorant. Your browsing habits make you safe, not what browser you use.

    And if you want "safe" and faster then there are plenty of better options instead of Firefox, Chrome and Opera are both better browsers than Firefox.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,426 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,495
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    +1 I fixed that on a friends computer last week, was doing the same thing...started with one website and then after this person waited, he couldn't even browse the web anymore. A good malwarebytes scan n' fix should take care of it though.
  12. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Lol! can't take a joke?
    I know what to do on the internet & with a pc... but i still like the firefox interface better then IE8 & it's popup blockers for noob's... anyway firefox is still a bit faster...:D
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2010
  13. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    i agree with the others here try this Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware version 1.44 ,if you can't run it normally, start your machine up in safe mode (f8) "with the net disconnected" and let it run
    it should then find and remove any nasties you might have
    have fun;)
  14. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,429
    Location:
    Florida
    i got that on ie7 once and showed w1zz. I think its bogus honestly.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page