1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Has Intel failed?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Desert Eagle, Jul 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,147 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,652
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Intel sucks so bad they offer you a "K" series chip for 1/3 the price of there highend chip that will overclock and keep up with there extreme chip.. [/sarcasm]..
    tami626 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    You must not know how Intel works. They are on a tick-tock model. Sandy Bridge a Major CPU update was a tock, Ivy Bridge a minor CPU upgrade was a tick, Haswell will be a Tock in 2014 or late 2013. I personally, only buy tocks.
    tami626 says thanks.
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,902 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,487
    You don't play Battlefield I see. :laugh:
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  4. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,758 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    US
    How i see it AMD failed more than INTEL however to me intel acting how they are is allowing AMD to continue as if intel wanted to kill off AMD they could easily but lets be grateful that has not happened at least for now..

    To me the main fail with AMD is not their performance in gaming but in power usage.
    tami626 says thanks.
  5. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Why would I require car lights in my computer?

    PS last console I owned was a NES.
  6. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,687 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    nice troll feeding.
  7. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,355 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    552
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    intel are just playing the game,, they are improveing there chips each gen though still(not as much as some hope), and yeh they charge silly money for some whats new..

    Amd would do the same in their shoes and peoples exageration of what bulldozer cpus are capable of dosnt help, one guy says his celeron is fine , ive seen the last 3 quads ive built run games fine, they were all amd, but ive a g850 Dc that runs most games fine.
  8. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Makes it go faster of course! With the combo of lights/stickerz my oC is fazt :cool:

    I command you to drink 3 coffeez! Do eet, do eet n4o! :twitch:

    I briefly had a ps1 and now own a ps3, but just for gt5 :eek:

    I was/am being facetious for those needing clarification. Troll free since '93 :)
  9. Liquid Cool

    Liquid Cool

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    296 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    I actually wish Intel wouldn't come out with another processor for 5+ years. This would keep my pocketbook happier...:).


    LC
  10. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    Nice rant. :laugh:
  11. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I remember the Athlon X2 4800+ 939skt being over a grand when it was new too.
  12. mystikl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Don't mind this troll."Boo hoo, I'm only getting 56 fps in Metro 2033 but I wan't 58, Intel is a big meanie!"
    Chevalr1c, MxPhenom 216 and Sh00t1st say thanks.
  13. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,003 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,951
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You buy what you need and can afford. If you can afford a 3960x, why do you care if someone else wants to blow their money on it? Honestly, any modern day quad-core will do what you need it to and for people who want more, they will pay for it.

    I don't see why you're even ranting because if AMD had a chip that could compete with the 3960x, I bet you the price would be up there as well. You're pandering to the wrong crowd, and honestly if Intel's 6-core prices makes you cringe, clearly you need to take a peak at the 3820 which is a very reasonable price for a CPU that can do just about everything that is thrown at it while costing less than the 3770k.

    No, it's because they know that people will pay top dollar for the latest and greatest and it's not like the 3960x is the most expensive CPU Intel has to offer. Check out Intel's 8-core Xeons and I'm sure you'll have another rant about how Server hardware is expensive, why isn't it on consumer PCs, and so on and so forth.

    If there is anything to rant about for the 3960x is that it is actually an 8-core CPU with two cores laser cut, but even then Intel wouldn't be able to keep thermals down at the same clock speeds. (I believe some of Intel's highest clocked 8-cores has a 150-watt TDP at stock speeds.) Even still, any consumer will not need that kind of CPU power except in very specific situations.

    So I will conclude my rant on your rant by saying: What the hell do you care?
    neoreif and qubit say thanks.
  14. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    I'll take another post while I'm here :eek:

    The only thing I can fault Intel for at this time is the bad TIM on IB chips, which isn't that bad cuz 5/10 minutes with a nice razor blade and you have a convertible! Plus brings some of us back to the olden days of lidless CPUs & gives some of us the thrill of popping the lid off. Once I get my MoBo I'm testing the chip and then popping the top.
  15. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    dont forget intel intanium processors they cost more then 1k..
    m1dg3t says thanks.
  16. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Those are enterprise chips though.
    m1dg3t says thanks.
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,535 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,935
    This thread is ridiculous.
    Chevalr1c, Mussels, Aquinus and 5 others say thanks.
  18. Elmo

    Elmo

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    309 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Should be closed nothing constructive
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  19. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,412 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,464
    even more so since the OP pulled a"lets post a troll and not comment" even though we clearly set him straight.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    The same with my current system, same CPU and using the integrated Intel HD IGP.
  21. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,823 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    When I'm looking for gaming parts I buy high end GPU's those give you FPS. Their are plenty of Procs that can allow your GPU's to run wield for cheap.
  22. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    ^^ And here we have the real gamerz ^^ :)

    Its ok that you went for backup dan, my ps3 is 320Gb. RECOGNIZE! :p :roll:

    No. I'm ridonculous. :p
    Morgoth says thanks.
  23. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,372 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Seems to me this thread is a bit fail. It points out what is obvious to most, but apparently not the thread author.

    If you feel $1000 is too much for a CPU, which most do, then just buy a $200-$300 model and OC it, but hey, that's another obvious point now isn't it?
  24. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,795 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,330
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Doors on this thread are getting ready to be closed for good.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    We are well overdue for a new emote :laugh:

    This is good, 2 pages. Not amazing, but good. Usually troll threads are gone in 1. (Pssstt it's a seasoned troll trick - see how many pages you can get out of 1 troll post)
    95Viper says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page