1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

has my old computer finally died?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by nguyenpeter76, Mar 1, 2008.

  1. nguyenpeter76 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    312 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    its like a 6year old hp. p4 1.6ghz single core, 80gb hd, optical drives no longer word, 512mb ram, 32mb riva tnt2. i had attempted to run 3dmark03 for the pimp my pc competition which didnt work because my computer was too old so i decided to start deleting stuff i didnt use on it to clear up space. after uninstalling adobe photoshop it ask for restart so i did. now when it loads up it says it unexpectantly shut down so ask if i wanna load in safe mode. w/e i choose safe mode, normal mode, load with last working config, when i press enter on either of those screen goes black then a blue screen with stuff i cant read because it goes away after .2 seconds then restarts computer and goes loads back to if i want to run in safe mode. and thats all it does now. then i press power button and it immediately shuts off although i didnt hold power button. so dead computer or what?
     
  2. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,425 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    More then likely when you started deleting stuff you got rid of something important.

    I would try a fresh install of WindowsXP if you happen to have a copy
     
    nguyenpeter76 says thanks.
  3. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    yeah get another optical drive hooked up to it and do a fresh install of xp... that should fix it... I don't think you have busted any hardware the OS is just screwed itself up.
     
    nguyenpeter76 says thanks.
  4. nguyenpeter76 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    312 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    hmm i highly doubt i deleted anything of importance
    (aim, photoshop, yahoo messenger, starcraft, and other programs like that) but ill try.
     
  5. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    reformat
     
    nguyenpeter76 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. nguyenpeter76 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    312 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    i cant. it wont load up past the windows xp loading screen. keeps restarting.
     
  7. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    You can run a reformat from your windows xp disk then install a fresh instalation of xp just follow the on screen commands.
     
    nguyenpeter76 says thanks.
  8. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    that is why you were told to get a working cd drive, so you can run your windows cd.

    on startup keep hitting the "Del" key to open bios and set boot priority to boot from cd first.

    then put windows cd in the working cd drive you put in the computer and turn off power.

    start the computer and when you see the bootup screen it will stop for a few seconds and ask you to hit any key to boot from the cd so hit a key and windowws install will begin. delete the partition it shows then reformat the drive and when its finished it will automatically start the windows install.
     
    nguyenpeter76 says thanks.
  9. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Don't let it die... :( Give it new install of XP, new CD drives, and more RAM and a newer video card and sell it, or use it as a file server, like I did with a P3 machine. :)
     
    nguyenpeter76 says thanks.
  10. nguyenpeter76 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    312 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    alright ima look for the cd and try it. :D
     
  11. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,582 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    :eek:
    That's exactly what my P4 1.6Ghz had been doing up till yesterday.

    Good luck in installing a fresh xp.

    (Mine didn't work, I keep getting errors during the installation, but then probably it's a bad hard-disk in my case as well).
     
    nguyenpeter76 says thanks.
  12. nguyenpeter76 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    312 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    ahh it wont even load up to bios. i pressed del like 10 times a second and it does the windows loading screen then blacka and blue screen for flash of a second and restart and ask me to start in safe mode or w/e again. :-/

    how can deleting aim photoshop yahoo messenger be such a pain..
     
  13. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,582 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    If you're getting the windows loading screen then you missed getting into bios. You have to press del at the beginning.
    What motherboard do you have? I had an Asrock once which I had to press F2 to go into the bios.
    While it is loading, before the windows loading screen, does it say anywhere like this:
    "Press _____ to enter Setup" ?
     
    nguyenpeter76 says thanks.
  14. nguyenpeter76 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    312 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    the computer is an old hp pavilion 750n.
     
  15. nguyenpeter76 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    312 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    ok i got system restore up finally. for some reason now its finally working when i press f10.. doing the restore right now :D ill post again if it works :D thanks to all that left a reply to help me out :D
     
  16. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,582 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    You have an Asus P4B266-LA motherboard right?

    This one?

    [​IMG]

    Then the correct key to enter the bios isn't "del" but "F1".
     
    nguyenpeter76 says thanks.
  17. nguyenpeter76 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    312 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    f10 worked for me :D and it finally works!!! w00t w00t:D thanks all. too bad some of my files are gone now but at least my comp isnt a goner. :D also its going alot fast now hehe
     
    Black Panther says thanks.
  18. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,582 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    f10? Probably I misread the info, sorry 'bout that. I'm glad your pc is working now. Please send some good luck my way perhaps I get my 1.6Ghz working as well! :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page