1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Have 4gb (2+2gb) - should I go 8gb or 12gb?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by bokou, Feb 19, 2011.

  1. bokou

    bokou New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    178 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Mississippi
    I've got 4gb of G-Skill DDR3 1600mhz in 2 sticks of 2gb. Would it be a better idea to go with 2 more sticks of 2gb and get a total of 8gb or would it be fine to stick in 2 4gb sticks and make 12gb? I've never mixed sticks and I know it will take it but I didn't know if there was any unspoken penalty or if it was a no-no to mix 4 gig sticks with 2 gig sticks etc.

    I doubt I'll ever notice the difference between 8gb and 12gb since I don't really fully utilize my 4gb as-is. Suggestions?
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,702 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,861
    If you don't utilize 4GB now, don't waste money on upgrading to 8GB.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  3. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    well I know from what I do on my laptop, gaming and more going from 4-8GB helped me a lot. 12GB not worth it right now if you ask me.
  4. bokou

    bokou New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    178 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Mississippi
    the question was more along the lines of "is it ok to mix/match ram stick sizes" than "is 8gb or 12gb better?" because I'm eventually going to add more and spending $49 or $79 isn't the issue
  5. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Its better to keep all ram sticks the same brand, mostly for overclocking. if you don't overclock and will not in the future I don't see a problem with mixing ram.
  6. bokou

    bokou New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    178 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Mississippi
    they'll be the same brand but is there anything wrong with having 2 2gb sticks and 2 4gb sticks?
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,702 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,861
    Nothing wrong with mixing and matching sizes.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  8. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,586 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,282
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    it depends on for what, for daily use 2gig is enough, gaming 4gig+ is better, video editing needs more ram
    if you wanna get best performance just make sure you has similar spec, like timing
    and what type of os that you use,it will be better if you run 64bit
  9. bokou

    bokou New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    178 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Mississippi
    64 bit windows 7. I'm going to buy identical ram to what I have, just 8 gigs to go with my 4. Should've bought 8 to begin with and then move to 16 but meh oh well
  10. sttubs

    sttubs

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    641 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    I'd try to find memory that has the same timings too.
  11. Necrofire

    Necrofire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    586 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    I'm with Newtekie, mixing and matching is fine.
    The given being you can't run them all at the highest clock/lowest timing if one stick can't do it (i.e, your new sticks are 1333 only, etc)
  12. bokou

    bokou New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    178 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Gotcha. It'll be 1600 also. Should slots matter? 8 gigs in A slots 4 gigs in B slots? Sounds like the answer is most likely "no it doesn't matter".

    Thanks for all the info guys!
  13. Hunt3r

    Hunt3r

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    355 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil - São Paulo
    you need 8gb our 12gb??
  14. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    8gb isnt needed imo, but hey ram really isnt that expensive, so even just for piece of mind if you want it, go for it.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page