1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Have you tried Mantle with BF4? (Frontpage poll)

Discussion in 'TPU Frontpage Polls' started by W1zzard, Feb 4, 2014.

?

Have you tried Mantle with BF4?

Poll closed Apr 22, 2014.
  1. Yes, and I love it

    2,808 vote(s)
    25.7%
  2. Yes, but I went back to DirectX

    716 vote(s)
    6.6%
  3. I couldn't get the driver installed properly

    172 vote(s)
    1.6%
  4. No, I'll wait for a more refined version

    1,250 vote(s)
    11.4%
  5. I only have an NVIDIA/Intel GPU

    5,974 vote(s)
    54.7%
  1. ISI300

    ISI300

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    83 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Turkey, Istanbul
    An option is missing here... "Use Radeon GPU with VLIW4/5"
    blanarahul says thanks.
  2. anubis44

    anubis44

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    69 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Have a 7950 card and an FX-8350 CPU, but don't have B4. I'm most especially interested to see how a mantle-based update for Company of Heroes 2 would boost performance in that game. I understand that mantle's benefits might be most apparent in RTS games like this, and considering how much of a performance advantage AMD GPUs already have in COH2, it's possible AMD might completely dominate RTSs once mantle support is ubiquitous.
  3. Blue-Knight

    Blue-Knight

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    332 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Yuppy, my option is in first place: "I only have an NVIDIA/Intel GPU". :D
  4. Fluffmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    607 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    All that hype and I can't help but feel the disappointment flowing through the forums.

    I guess it's a nice crutch for weak CPU's.
  5. Blue-Knight

    Blue-Knight

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    332 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Just like accelerated video playback?
  6. Fluffmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    607 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Is your video playback not accelerated already?
  7. Blue-Knight

    Blue-Knight

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    332 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Yes! Why are you asking this?

    I did not understand (confused emoticon).
  8. Fluffmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    607 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    I thought we were arguing in metaphors, and in the case of Mantle... diminishing returns.
  9. Blue-Knight

    Blue-Knight

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    332 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    It is a baby yet, I believe. Let's see if it'll evolve. :D

    Happy New Year!
  10. rpsgc

    rpsgc

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    696 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Portugal
    Indeed.
  11. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,928 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    Beta driver makes my computer very unstable... Reverted back to 13.12 until they get released... No mining on beta driver lol
  12. Basard

    Basard

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    584 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Oshkosh
    where is the "i'm still using a 3770 and happy" option, haha...
    ISI300 and Fluffmeister say thanks.
  13. ISI300

    ISI300

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    83 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Turkey, Istanbul
    I thought I was being medieval with my 4850.
  14. Joe Public

    Joe Public

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    133 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I don't play BF4, but when any game I play or plan to get supports it, I'm sure I'll find out how well it works.
  15. z1tu

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    277 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Romania
    I got horrible results. At first it was smoother but after the first 2-3 minutes it started getting awfully choppy so I got scared and switched back :ohwell:
  16. gdallsk

    gdallsk

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    286 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    My experience is amazing. I had 45-50 fps with D3D, and it stepped up to 80-90 with Mantle, so far I'm liking this idea with API's with lower CPU overhead :)
  17. z1tu

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    277 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Romania
    Are you running with all high details? Also what resolution scale are you using?
  18. gdallsk

    gdallsk

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    286 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    @z1tu Ultra Preset, 130% res scale, 1680x1050, 110 FOV if that tells you anything :)
  19. z1tu

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    277 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Romania
    Hmm, I'm at ultra with 120% res scale and 1920x1080 res
  20. blanarahul

    blanarahul

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    116 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Make a new poll already. Direct3D 12 has been announced.
  21. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,205 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    And what would be the point? Its not out yet and none of us can test it so its pointless.
  22. Fluffmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    607 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Either way, we do need a new poll.
  23. Jurassic1024

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    172 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    I have a 4.6GHz 2500K and a 7870 and when I enable Mantle (14.2 and 14.3 drivers) and restart my computer (to be sure), I lost 20+ frames and it was laggy and blurry like z1tu and night.fox said. According to the 14.1 beta release notes, only three R series cards and an APU were optimized. I guess in 14.3 they still didn't bother with other cards. I went back to DX and will now wait until DX12 where AMD has some help. AMD can't do Mantle on their own let alone having to work with multiple developers. They don't have the time, money, or the people.

    If you ask me, Mantle only exists to make up for their [AMD] lack of new FX CPU's. I'm sure Mantle works with low end CPU's as it was intended, but that is not how I build my PC's.
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2014
  24. Fluffmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    607 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Mantle's days are indeed numbered, for a company that prides itself in not going proprietary it was always a bit of a strange decision.
  25. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,006 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,955
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I can't vote. There is no option for "AMD cards not supported by Mantle."
    I guess there is no love for those of us with VLIW4 and 5 GPUs. :p

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page