1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Having some PC issues (boot failure & more)

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Soylent Joe, Oct 9, 2009.

  1. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Alright, we're talking about the "second puter" in my sys. specs. here. The other day, my mom goes to boot it up and it says that there was a boot failure and to put in the system disc to continue. It had Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit on it and I had been wanting to put my copy of Win7 on it, so I just put in the Win7 disc and booted from it. I got to the installation and decided that I just wanted to put my new Seagate drive in instead of using the old one, so I replace the drives and put Win 7 on the new drive. It's been working absolutely wonderfully for about 4 days. About 15 min. ago I went to get on and heard an odd noise coming from the hard drive, it spinning up and clicking. Almost immediately I blue screen, it says it tried dumping physical mem. but failed, and says it encountered a crucial somethinganother error, so I restart. It seemed to be working (it gave me the option to boot into safe mode and stuff). Then, about 30 sec. later everything locks up (except the clock gadget oddly enough), the hard drive makes the sound, it blue screens, and says it had a boot failure and for me to insert the disc, JUST like how it did with the drive I replaced. I've been using that same copy of Win7 on my main rig for almost a month now with no problems whatsoever except for the volume going up and down really fast sometimes, but I don't know what causes that. I really doubt that both of the drives would fail. Oh, and the first one didn't freeze up or make the sound before giving me the boot error thing, it just did it on startup. So maybe there's something up with my motherboard, my OS, the fact that I installed a 9600GSO recently, I don't know, I need some help :/
     
  2. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,855 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    703
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I had a issue about the same the other day.
    Come to find out it was my GTX295 that i just got back from RMA.
    It has a bad memory unit in it or something so i sent it in again.
    It would hang in bios sometimes or hang at windows screen start up.
    Sometimes it would even make it into windows and web browse.
    But as soon as i went to do something that needed graphics power it locked up or blue screened. When i put my other 295 back in i had no issues at all.
    This may not be your problem but try another graphics card if you have 1.
     
  3. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    That actually makes sense, the time I was talking about after I restarted and it blue screened about min later, It did it right when I pulled up some screenshots off of Steam for a game. I can try taking out the 9600GSO if no one has any other ideas.
     
  4. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,058 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Umm maybe it culd be ur hard drive? my computer didnt boot up or if it did had funny problems and i opened up my case and found out my hard drive wasnt connected 100 percent...this could also explain the sounds you are hearing from your hard drive..if everything else fails..take it to a computer shop
     
  5. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    I took out the 9600GSO and ran the video through the integrated 8200 (still showing as 9200). I thought it was going to work but it did it again. The hard drive is connected. I guess I could try formatting the drive with my other computer, and reinstalling Win7 on it while using the integrated 8200 and then after it's on try the 9600 again. Idk, I have a feeling that it would still do it. Is it possible that if the 9600 is bad, that it could still make my rig blue screen and get boot errors even after it's uninstalled?

    Oh, also, the hard drive is being powered by a molex with a molex to SATA adapter on it. Idk if that's significant.

    And if I took it to our PC shop they'd probably whoop my ass for having a pirated copy of Win7 on it.
     
  6. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    try to boot your main pc's hard drive in your second pc
     
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,884 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,837
    Try a new SATA cable, and try connecting the drive to a different power connector on the power supply.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,058 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Well a problem could be pirated win7 some files could be corrupt and that could cause a sound in the hard drive due to working hard to find the requested files for the computer to work. Also maybe try reinstalling win7 or if worse comes to worse just buy a copy of xp/vista since the problem could be a corrupt file. BTW did u download the file off the internet or bought it in like Thailand or something?
    Since copies bought in Thailand etc are just downloaded off torrents and usually have viruses or corrupt files and they can't be bothered fixing it. BTW I DO NOT USE TORRENTS__just i kno this info from another forum.
     
  9. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    I'm very limited as to how I hook it up. There's only one line of 2 SATA connectors on the PSU, so the drive was hooked up with a molex to SATA adapter. I will try a new SATA cable just to be sure and may try to hook it up with a real SATA power connector instead of with a molex to SATA, and just hook the disc drive up with the adapter.

    I'm 85% sure the problem isn't OS related. As I said, I'm using the same one on my main rig without a hitch and it was working fine for a week. I got it off TPB, I'm not that dumb as to buy one from someone. If any mods are reading this talk of pirating, I know it's against the rules but it's kinda urgent.

    Through the information given from this post and the "Got a bad one" review in the middle here I think the problem was with the 9600. I think it has bad memory sectors and it screwed up some drivers or aspects of the OS that didn't go away when I uninstalled the card, that's why it still does it with the 8200.

    I'm going to do a clean install of Win7 using the 8200 and hopefully it will work. If it works I'll get in contact with Newegg and/or Asus for instructions on how to RMA or return it.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page