1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

having touble with video card in wow and now other games

Discussion in 'Games' started by exodusprime1337, Mar 30, 2008.

  1. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    my roomate was playing wow and started to tell me about artifacts he was getting, texture issues, blackouts and the like. it only affected wow for a long time, all other games he plays are fine. then today he tells me that he cannot play any games, and that there are serious artifacts and the game will crash out after a certain period in time?? is there any explanation for this? i don't think it's hardware because it only affected one game for a period of time, the card is not oc'd and only has a zalman vf900 on it and that's about it. well the ramsinks as well. ceramique was used in stead of the as5 i usually use, so i don't think that it has anything to do with shorting out the card? please help i don' tknow what to do??
  2. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    How long has it been in that case? Then how long has the Aftermarket fan been on it? It might need a good cleaning with new TIM and some air cleaner.
  3. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    it was in a box for about 3 months and then i rebuilt it for my roomate and gave him my old computer, specs are as follows

    asus a8n32-sli deluxe
    a64 4000 @ 3.0ghz
    2 gig corsair xms at 258Mhz 3,3,3,8 2.9v
    eVGA 7900gt-used to be voltmodded for about 3 weeks and then i dropped it back to stock clocks and all-has been stock for about a year and never goes over 45c during gaming sessions.

    there is a zalman 9500 on the cpu and a vf900 on the gpu-vf900 has only been on for about 1year, perhaps i'll try to reseat it and clean it.

    other then that the computer has been kept clean with little or no dust.
  4. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Its best when you go Aftermarket cooler to have it reseated and such every so often. TIM does Dry after a while. So its best to go and reseat it every so often. IMO
  5. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    well i'll give it a try, any chance the problem is software related??
  6. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    well, did you update to the new drivers?? I'm keeping mine at 169 and won't go to 174 yet. Want to give it some time... It could be driver issues, but a lot of times its heat build up and you needing to clean the card. Happened to my 3870. Giving the artifacts and then cleaned it and it was good..
    So, if the cleaning doesn't work, then check drivers
  7. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    ciool cool will do
  8. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    well, tried teh driver trick, no go, tried cleaning it off with 91% rubbing alcohol and Canned air and no go, finally tried different pci express slots and still nothing, although down in the front corner of the board ont he backside are some ic's that are getting ungodly hot like too hot to touch and if i run the find max mem test the memory fails instantly and it starts dropping the clocks on the memory to nothin, then it crashes, i guess the card is just done huh??
  9. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,920 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    Yeah maybe a bad capacitor on the Graphics card.

    Isolate it though. Put it in your "known working system" and see if it has the same problem. ;)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page