1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Having trouble overclocking a Q9550

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by scope54, Jul 14, 2009.

  1. scope54

    scope54

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    270 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Southern California :)
    So i got a Q9550 for my B-day and its not overclocking as well as I'd hope. ATM im thinking its the motherboard.
    Mine is an E0 revision, and i cant get into windows (@405FSB) without the FSB overvolt at +.3. Anything over 405 seems to crash. Memory is running within specs (doesnt ever go above 1066). I had an E6550 @ 3.4 (~480FSB) and it was stable.

    So the real question is has anyone had any problems overclocking a q9550 on a gigabyte p35-ds3l (latest BIOS)?
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 14, 2009
  2. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,203 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    OK here is the thing - you're oCing a Quad - since its E0, we know its not the proc voltage - so its most likely a crap/overheating north bridge. Set your CPU voltage to the recommended 1.365 in bios (or the equivalent of +.whatever)... for now.

    Then you're going to have to up the gMCH to the maximum value, not the FSB - the FSB usually stands for FSB termination voltage, and that is very, very bad to at a high voltage as it will absolutely fry a 45NM processor over a longer period of time. gMCH = Northbridge.

    you do not wanna run the FSB at more than +.1

    OK once you up the gMCH you will need to put a fan on the NB heatsink - the DS3 L's run extra toasty and heat will cause NB instability a Bluescreen even if the proc is fine. an 80MM fan with some doublestick tape does wonders.

    Try that at a higher FSB - say 444FSB (1777Mhz) and see if it boots. Last but not least - DO NOT RUN THE MEMORY AT 1066 YET (yes had to be in caps)... if it isn't the processor, or the memory - then its the NB, the higher the memory frequency, the harder it is on the NB and the lower your Overclock will be if you set the memory too high - even if it is within memory specs.

    The higher FSB will make up for the lower ram speeds - running 900 Mhz at a 1800Mhz FSB is usually faster than 1066Mhz at a 1333Mhz FSB.

    long post, I know - but I just got an E0 and had a hell of a time untill i figured out my NB was made of pure FAIL. Let us know if this helps.
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2009
    scope54 says thanks.
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,161 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,481
    try running the ram at 800. P35's dont clock too well with high ram, unless you crank the NB voltages.
    scope54 says thanks.
  4. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,203 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    wow you said that in so many fewer words.... respect. :toast:
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,161 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,481
    try typing the same advice 3-4 times a day, and you get good at abbreviating it.
  6. scope54

    scope54

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    270 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Southern California :)
    thank you sirs!!

    EDIT::anything higher than 390FSB either freezes at windows boot, or doesn't pass POST. (at +.1 FSBvolt, +.3MCH volt)
    and whats my target temps for the NB?
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2009
  7. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,203 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    as low as possible for the NB... touch the heatsink - you'll see what I mean... try to run 444MHz FSB with 888Mhz 2.0v ram at 5-5-5-15 timings. also what is your v-core.

    Disable any "spread spectrum" or anything like that.

    I know how you feel... I had an e8500 that could do 540FSB on this board... but the q9650, not a hair past 435.

    It does sound like you *could* get it stable at 400ish... but you're really not going to get much more out of that board. :(
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2009
    scope54 says thanks.
  8. scope54

    scope54

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    270 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Southern California :)
    yea i had the ram on the lowest divider whatever FSB i put it at and default timings.

    the highest i went with the vcore was ~1.3v and it still didnt boot into windows.

    thx for the confirmation about the board, think im just going to try for 395 ish, now i have an excuse to upgrade my motherboard :D ....but only after the video card

    EDIT: the NB is idling ~40.c load at 42.c
  9. waldis New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hello!
    any luck with oc-ing?

    voltages are really high for that frequencies

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page