1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD 4770 stopped working!

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by werg, Aug 1, 2009.

  1. werg New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    My HD 4770 stopped working after I replaced the stock thermal paste with Artic Cooling MX-2. Here's what happened exactly: I overcloked my card with Riva tuner to 850 MHZ core and 950 MHZ memory. Seemed pretty stable, but ultimately I revered back to factory settings (750 MHZ and 800 MHZ respectively). Now everything was fine. I wanted to test my MX-2 thermal paste against the stock one, so having two HD 4770, I took the one I was using out, put the other one in, then ran Furmark, while I was applying the new thermal paste to the HD 4770 I had taken out. After this I put the card back in (with MX-2 applied) and.... it simply doesn't work. The fan starts, but the card sends no signal. I put the other card in (the one with no MX-2), and it works. Now, I used 99% alchohol to clean the old thermal paste and used MX-2, AFAIK, these two compounds are not conductive, so I don't imagine there could have been a short circuit. I also tried the card on another PCI-E slot, and it won't work either.

    Does anyone have an idea what might of happened? The card was working fine until I took it out and applied new thermal paste...

    EDIT: just learned that alcohol is conductive. I guess a short circuit is a very likely explanation.
  2. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Sounds like you might have shorted it. Take it out and let it dry thoroughly.
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,726 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,869
    If you didn't let the alcohol dry before puting the card back in, it could have fried the card. It could be any number of things though, it could be that you accidently bumped something on the card and damaged it, also, or that you overtightened the heatsink and cracked something.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  4. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Was thinking exactly what newtekie said.

    +1
  5. werg New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hummm I don't know. Sometimes I read that isopropyl is conductive, sometimes I read it it isn't. Is there a way I can ultimately determine it's short circuit? In any case, 99% alcohol dries up in a few seconds, I don't think there could have been any residual alcohol when I put the card back in.
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,536 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,938
    Just try reseating the cooler again. Inspect the card with the cooler off for any damage.
  7. werg New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Got the cooler off, and the thermal paste off, I couldn't see anything wrong. I put back some thermal paste and the fan, tried it again, still won't work. This has all the symptoms of a short, but I'm still somehow unconvinced this is what happened.
    SonDa5 says thanks.
  8. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Bummer.

    The only thing i can think of a possible fix is to put another working Ati card in the primary PCI slot and get it booted up and working with the other ati card. Next put the non working HD4770 in the other pci slot as a "slave". Next you will have to get a good working BIOS for the HD4770 and force flash the HD4770.

    Force flashing it with a good BIOS may fix the problem.
  9. werg New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    What if I used GPU-Z to save the BIOS for the good working card and use it to flash the other one? I mean, they should have the same bios, but who knows.
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2009
  10. werg New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Forgot to ask: how would flashing the a new BIOS help?
  11. ToffeeC New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've heard of putting your card in the oven... the idea is to melt the soldering a little to correct bad contacts. I'd try that as a last resort though.
  12. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Heard the same about putting hardware in the freezer.

    also can't you just RMA te card?
  13. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    If they are the same identical cards and they were made during the same time frame then there is a strong possibility they share the same bios.


    The reason why I suggested force flashing it is because there is a possibility that the BIOS that was on it is corrupt and that is why the card(device) will not work right.

    By forced flashing a card with a "corrupt" BIOS with a working BIOS the card may come back to life if that is BIOS is the problem.


    The BIOS(software) could have went bad due to an electrical problem and the rest of the hardware may still be good.

    Kind of like when over clocking and the irregular voltage being supplied to the CPU effects the OS and causes a computer to crash. A crash is usually fixed by reformating the hdd/ssd/storage where the OS is at.
  14. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    this is what happens to people who are board and decides to fix stuff that isn't broken. we all been thru it. not sure about what you can do though. I never had that problem. maybe you killed it via static
  15. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    :nutkick:


    Upgrading thermal paste usually isn't hard to do. Unfortunate results in this case. :(
  16. werg New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I had the BIOS saved into my hard drive (saved it with GPU-Z before the card went kaput). I forced flashed the card with the BIOS with atiflash, but that didn't solve the problem. I don't imagine there could be any better BIOS than that... I guess all I have left is ToffeeC's suggestion :(

    I don't know if this helps for the diagnosis, but it seems the core heats up... also there's the fact that atiflash detected the card and was able to flash it. It's like it's executing instructions, but not sending a signal!
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2009
  17. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Thats only for overheated hardware, not fried hardware.

    Its fried, RMA it.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page