1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

hd 4850x2 crossfire questions/problems

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by messed.up, Oct 8, 2009.

  1. messed.up New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi, 1st of all id like to say that my level of knowledge in computers is rather low so dont be surprised if some of my questions sounds stupid or if im slow to understand.

    Here it goes... so today i decided it was a good time to format my hard drive and reinstall everything so i started by reinstalling windows(without updating it so far), after I installed my wireless card drivers and then downloaded the lastest catalyst version(9.9). thats where the problem starts... so in my older version of catalyst, there used to be a tab in the menu called "crossfire" where i could enable/disable crossfire and now theres no crossfire tabs so I downloaded older versions to c if it was just because the new drivers didnt work for me and it didnt show up either. I checked in the device manager and it detects 2xhd4850. So far, i've tried to reinstall everything, install service pack 2(i have vista 64 bits) download updates and it still doesnt show up.

    Well i think that sums my problem pretty much...

    Thanks in advance for the help

    PS: if anymore information is needed just let me know.
  2. unibrow1990

    unibrow1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    194 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    Does this help?


    [​IMG]



    EDIT: As I read again it looks like I misunderstood your issue, have you tried running GPU-Z and seeing if both cards show up there?

    Attached Files:

    • CCC.jpg
      CCC.jpg
      File size:
      98 KB
      Views:
      462
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2009
  3. messed.up New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    this is exatcly the tab im looking for but it doesnt show up somehow... and on GPU-Z it says crossfire disabled what do you get when you look in device manager(in the dispaly adapter section)
  4. unibrow1990

    unibrow1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    194 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    It shows both of my cards in the device manager. When you run gpuz can you click on the little bar at the bottem and switch between both of your cards, and if so do they both show up correctly?
  5. messed.up New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes they both show up in GPU-Z, I somehow just dont have the crossfire tab and its like the 10th time i reinstall catalyst. :confused: in the device manage should it say crossfore or just ati radeon hd 4850?
  6. messed.up New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Is the crossfire tab supposed to show up in every version of ati CCC? i have the 9.9 version.
  7. unibrow1990

    unibrow1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    194 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    Yes the crossfire tab is in all versions, the device manager shouldn't say anything about crossfire it should just show your GPU's.

    completely unistall you current driver and try an older version of catalyst, like 9.6 and see if that changes it.
  8. messed.up New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    still not working ><
  9. unibrow1990

    unibrow1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    194 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    I honestly don't know, I don't suppose you have another computer that you can try the card it to see if it works?
  10. messed.up New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    it used to work just be4 i formated my hard drive like 3-4 days ago and now the crossfire tab just doesnt show up anymore...
  11. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,109 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,920
    Hey try un-installing the CCC again... boot into safe mode and run driver sweeper... reboot...now power back down and remove the second gpu...power back up and install the driver.... once thats done power down again and install the 2nd gpu and dont hook up the x-fire bridge.... boot back up and see if the 2nd gpu is showing up in the device manager.... if it does than power down and install the x-fire bridge... it should now work for ya... good luck :toast:
  12. messed.up New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm not sure my lvl of computer knowledge is good enough for removing 1 card and puting it back >< but ill take a loook inside the case, iff u have any pictures that could help feel free to put them here :p thx again, i really apreciate all the help ive got so far.
  13. messed.up New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well I did that, removed all the video cars uninstalled the drivers and such and it didnt work ><
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,597 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,986
  15. messed.up New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I formated my hard drive and booted from cd and just reinstalled vista was that supposed to clean the old profiles? because it still doesnt work :(
  16. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    688 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Toronto
    2nd card? crossfire bridge? he's a 4850x2, single card

    the only reason he even has that menu is cuz of the 4 dvi outputs, in order to use all 4, one must disable CF (on my 4870x2, there is no CF tab in CCC)



    anyway, i think you should have done windows updates first (SP2), then driver install

    any reason you wanna disable CF?
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  17. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,109 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,920
    It would be nice if he filled in his system spec...
    Also we had the impression he was using 2 single gpu's WOW :shadedshu

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page