1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

hd 4890 xfire

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by moocow0463, Oct 10, 2010.

  1. moocow0463

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    418 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    the plan was to hold out and get a 5850/70 when i could but my fps is already suffering on my 1900x1200 resolution. i want to xfire my hd4890 but it seems newegg has discontinued the 4890 so i was looking at used and found [FS] Sapphire Radeon HD4890 how ever mine isnt that OC model i have SAPPHIRE 100269HDMI Radeon HD 4890 1GB 256-bit GDD.... i have never ran crossfire setups before but should i keep looking or consider the OC model? what problems would i run into? or i could possibly hold out for a used 5850
     
  2. moocow0463

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    418 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    my second option i guess would be to run a different brand 4890? would that work and be stable?
     
  3. guitarfreaknation

    guitarfreaknation

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    590 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca
    Any brand 4890s will work just fine. I would say get the cheapest 4890 you can find. Although if you plan on doing that, add another 190 watts so I would say you need a 750-800 watt PSU to be nice and solid.
     
    moocow0463 says thanks.
  4. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Getting a second 4890 would do plenty for your i7 setup, it's faster than a single 5870, but its not headache free.

    considering you have never run a crossfire setup before the best option imo is to sell the 4890 while there are still people interested. But if you solely CBF then 4890 is a decent alternative, it still kicks ass etc. but remember its not smooth sailing, you may run into various hiccups in crossfire as its not perfect technology.
     
    moocow0463 says thanks.
  5. Spaceman Spiff

    Spaceman Spiff

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    635 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    130
    You can do two different brands no problem. Mine are running fine. Ironed out a couple small kinks and the performance is pretty wicked. BC2 DX10 high settings HBAO on, vsync on, 16xaf and 8xaa is 60 fps constant.

    Either jump on that killer deal for the 4890 or wait till the 6 series is out for one of those or so it pushes prices down.
     
    moocow0463 says thanks.
  6. moocow0463

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    418 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    my psu went out this last spring i havent updated my pc specs it has a 1000w psu now

    thanks for the info guys
     
  7. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,315 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    good luck mate
     
  8. moocow0463

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    418 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    hmm ok so i just realized my secondary pc has an hd 4890 the exact same thats in mine that i can use for X-fire and i could put the OC'd 4890 in the secondary pc or would i be better off using the OC'd 4890 with my standard 4890? im just trying to maximize performance here :S
     
  9. JTS

    JTS New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    144 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Overclock the standard to match the OC model.

    If for some reason you can't, downclock the the OC model.
     
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    He doesn't NEED to do either. ATI cards work fine with different clocks. All he has to do is install the card, enable Crossfire, and he's good to go. SLi, on the other hand, requires matched clocks.
     
  11. JTS

    JTS New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    144 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Brisbane
    He may not NEED to, but it's an option.
     
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    For sure, for sure. ;)
     
  13. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    be careful though, for example, XFX sells some HD4890's that are much slower than standard ones

    make sure its reference or performs on par or better
     
  14. moocow0463

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    418 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    the 4890s on the FS thread are all gone im resorting to using my other avail 4890 from my second PC, how ever i just looked through all my boxes and no crossfire bridge....so im waiting to hear back from a friend who might have one if not amazon has some for like $5
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page