1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD 5450 - XPC does not boot up

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by DJPlanlos, Nov 21, 2012.

  1. DJPlanlos New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi,

    I have a Shuttle SG33G5M and just added a PCI graphic card (HD 5450). I am not able to use the PCIe as I already have a raid controller sitting on it.

    The jumper is set to use PCIe.

    Now, after I added the graphic card, the PC does not boot anymore. It does not even seem to initialize as it does not even get as far as calculating the memory.

    It just beeps, turns the fan, and after 5 seconds it beeps again, turns the fan, ... and so on.
    When I remove the graphic card, all is fine again.

    What can that be related to? The power supply is 250w only but should be enough for a PCI card, isnt it?

    Does anyone have any idea?
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    Try the card in another board.
  3. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,383 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    522
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    This is from the AMD web site - as follows

    ■PCI Express® based PC is required with one X16 lane graphics slot available on the motherboard
    400 Watt or greater power supply recommended
    ■Certified power supplies are recommended. Refer to http://support.amd.com/us/certified/power-supplies/Pages/listing.aspx for a list of Certified products
    ■Minimum 1GB of system memory
    ■Installation software requires CD-ROM drive
    ■DVD playback requires DVD drive
    ■Blu-ray™ playback requires Blu-ray drive

    source - http://www.amd.com/us/products/desk...d-5450-overview/Pages/hd-5450-overview.aspx#3

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    It also says you need a 16x PCI-e slot. Seeing how the card is PCI I find those requirements to be a bit useless.

    Club3D recommends a 600w unit for a card that draws 13W maximum

    [​IMG]
  5. DJPlanlos New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I sent back the card and the vendor exchanged it.

    When I put in the new one, same story in both computers. That really makes me wondering.
    How likely is it to get two damaged cards in a row? And I'm quite sure he did not send me the same one back as it was orginally boxed.

    In two computers I tried it and got two different symptoms:
    - 1st computer does not boot, does not even show the bios start screen
    - 2nd computer boots up normally but no output on the new card and new card can not be seen in Hardware Manager either.

    Sounds like either card is damaged or both mainboards just do not like it. Can it have anything to do with the bios?
  6. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,383 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    522
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    as theres no mention of the Brandname Make Model Number of the PC's or their hardware![*Motherboard CPU and PSU] in either the 1st or 2nd computers that the HD 5450 has been tested in; it is impossible to give a clear answer to either of the questions

    atb

    Law-II
  7. DJPlanlos New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    the 1st computer is a Shuttle SG33G5M. Mainboard is Shuttle FG33. CPU is a E8400.

    The 2nd one I'd need to check as it's a friend's one.
    Law-II says thanks.
  8. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,383 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    522
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    assuming the shuttle SG33G5M is the pc with the 250w PSU: the PSU is most likley the course of the HD 5450 not powering on. However saying this we have to assume that you have done the following:

    Powered up and booted the SG33G5M with the Monitor plugged into the onboard integrated vga
    next
    entered the bios
    next
    changed the settings in the bios to boot from *PCI, saved settings and exit [Note: not PCIe]
    next
    powered down the PC
    next
    installed the HD 5450
    next
    moved the Monitor cable over to the HD 5450
    next
    Booted the pc; and still have no image/ blank screen


    it's all in the details, can you find out and let the TPU community know the specs of the 2nd pc

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2012
  9. DJPlanlos New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    that is exactly what I did on both computers.

    The second one has a ASUS A8N-SLI DELUXE-EAYZ board.
    when I booted up that machine, it did not even shot the card in the hardware manager.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page