1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD 5770 coming up with ridiculously low GPU usage

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by El_Mayo, Oct 25, 2011.

  1. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,679 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    I'll be playing Call of Duty: Modern Warfare and i'll get normal frame rates (about 180-ish), then every once in a while it'll drop to about 40

    When I alt-tab out I see GPU usage down around 13%
    the clocks are normal (960/1360) and I've rolled back drivers to 11.8 because I only started having this problem around last month
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    When you alt+tab out, the GPU usage will drop. Run GPU-Z in the background and log GPU usage and run Task Manager performance tab in the background to see what your CPu is doing.
    Neuromancer says thanks.
  3. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,679 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Ohhh I'm not that dumb :p
    I was checking with MSI Afterburner
    I brought up the little graph page
    it would spike at about 80% for a few seconds then drop down
    I'll use GPU-Z to monitor this time now tho
  4. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,679 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Same thing's showed on GPU-Z
    minimum GPU load of 15% during gaming
  5. Neuromancer

    Neuromancer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    379 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    South Jersey
    You did enable sensor logging when this application is running in background in GPUz?

    that is bizzare, are you running deafualt fan profile? If so try cranking it up to 50% on manual and see if it still happens

    Might be thermal throttling.
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    could just be the system choking for a second, and the video card idling at that time. doesnt mean its the GPU at fault - could be CPU, audio, a background task interfering (getting a message on FB/MSN/yahoo etc)
  7. Neuromancer

    Neuromancer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    379 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Could be a low clock issue thats true, I used an athlon 11x 240 and 6850 to play it., Or was that MW2...

    anywho I had to clock up to 3.4 ish GHz to eliminate stuttering issues. easy peasy on amd did it with stock cooler.

    Might be the same deal on your thuban, then again I was also running slow ass ram like you.
  8. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,679 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Nah it ain't thermal throttling, the temps are about 70 degrees

    I'll close down all tasks and try CoD4 now

    I'll try and monitor the CPU speed while I'm playing :)
  9. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Protip: Stop playing COD, problem solved!


    Also, like the system specs, it's like a computer built by me XD
  10. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,159 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    820
    Since when is 960MHz core clock on a HD5770 is normal? try with 850MHz...
    erocker says thanks.
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,528 (10.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    First MW = OK!

    All other COD games = FAIL!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,865 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,152
    When I had my 5770 and would play mw It was about the same with me, I could have everything maxed and still get over 100fps and my GPU temps would still be around 60ish (it was about 30C room temp and I would idle at 50C) Ill pop the 5770 back in and see if it does that with me too
  13. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,865 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,152
    KK I played like 2 mins of CTF with the 5770, and this is what it looks like, turns out Mw wasn't installed so I went on mw2. peak was 63%, lowest was 18% I didn't drop below 80FPS


    [​IMG]
  14. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,679 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    I said normal not "stock"
    I've used those clocks since I bought the card

    I think it might be the games I'm playing though
    I only get problems on CoD and New Vegas
    Deus Ex runs real smoooooth
  15. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,679 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    [​IMG]

    that's what it looks like when I play CoD4

    GPU usage is low and it's rarely down to low clocks
  16. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,679 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    It's happening with Skyrim now

    This is not good :'(
  17. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    have you tried running everything at stock yet?
  18. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,865 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,152
    Uninstall your drivers and reinstall
  19. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,679 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Yeah man, it'll be 850/1200 but still about 20% usage

    Done that several times, but I'll try one more time.
    Should I un-install from control panel or from the Catalyst Manager?
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
  21. c12038

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    38 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    RMA time me thinks
  22. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,679 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    2. Uninstall video drivers. Generally this is done through the control panel (add/remove programs for XP, Programs and Features for Vista) in Windows. For ATi it called "ATi - Software Unintall Utility

    couldn't find that, so I uninstalled with Device Manager
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,528 (10.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    WRONG, you just uninstalled the device you need to find the software and uninstall as well or it does no good.
    El_Mayo says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,679 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    hmm... well I'm running Driver Sweeper now, surely that'll do it :eek:
  25. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Qu├ębec/Montreal
    1-Uninstall driver true Programs & Features

    2- restart

    3- Now run DriverSweeper (if needed/wanted) & restart

    4- Install the new driver

    As for GPU-z log can you posted here?
    You may confuse the idle speed vs full speed in games?

    BTW: You'll have to setup GPU-z first in Sensors tab you must click Log to file & Continue refreshing this screen... & than leave GPU-z open while you game
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page