1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

hd 5870 crossfire problems (battle field 3)

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by yawara2, Jul 8, 2012.

  1. yawara2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am a korean. I can not speak english well.
    Please understand.



    MY SYSTEMS ARE DENEB 980, HD 5870 CF, WIN 7 64 BIT, CATAL 12.6, ASUS CROSSHAIR V FORMULA

    MY 3D MARK 11 G.S IS 8700 (VALID) (99% LOAD ON BOTH CARDS)

    LOST PLANET 2 BENCHMARK (80~99% LOAD ON BOTH CARDS)




    BUT

    WHEN I PLAY BATTLEFIELD 3 ====> (50~60% LOAD ON BOTH CARDS)

    (THE PERFORMANCE RESEMBLES WHEN SIGLE 5870 PLAYS)


    FOR THIS PROBLEM FIX, I HAVE DID A LOT OF THINGS (FORMATED, UPDATED, CATAL 12.1~12.6, VARIOUS BATTLEFIELD 3 SETTING, ETC...)

    BUT THE PROBLEM REMAINS.



    PLEASE HELP HOW THIS PROBLEM FIX.

    I WILL WAIT YOUR REPLY.
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2012
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,641 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    678
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    1.0 Download Catalyst 12.4 or search www for Catalyst 12.1a Preview Driver or use driver you know worked and CAP 12.7, save these to your harddrive [Do Not Install]

    2.0 Uninstall Catalyst 12.6; Follow this guide by erocker - http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52502

    3.0 Install Catalyst 12.4 or search www for Catalyst 12.1a Preview Driver or use driver you know worked.
    http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/previous/Pages/radeonaiw_vista64.aspx

    4.0 Install CAP 12.7 or earlier version that worked well with BF3

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
     
  3. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Yeah!,
    Law is right !
     
  4. yawara2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks, LAW-II

    I HAVER DID A LOT OF THINGS. CATAL 12.1~12.6, WINDOW FORMATED, ETC...

    BUT THE RESULTS ARE SAME....
     
  5. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,641 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    678
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    What driver and CAPS were installed when you had 99% load on both cards in crossfire?

    Try this - http://downloads.guru3d.com/AMD-Catalyst-12.1a-Preview-Windows-Vista-and-7-download-2837.html

    Check: Windows/control panel/all control panel items/power options/select - balanced/change plan settings/change advanced power settings/PCI Express/Link State Power Management/select Off

    download GPU-Z [open this on desktop; use to monitor GPU usage and temps;[Default is First Vga Card - use bottom left tab to select Second Vga Card] alternatively you can use catalyst control centre [open in advanced view] Performance/AMD Overdrive [default is First Vga Card -use Select the GPU to be configured: to select Second Vga Card and monitor Activity

    download FurMark_v1.7.0 (this version ONLY) and install it [open this on desktop/select - Stability Test,800x600,MSAA[NONE]/select Go! [Note: this application will stress the GPU Cores to there limit, use sparingly and keep monitoring temps to ensure they are at a safe level]

    Are you able to see 97% ~99% load [if Yes]: software / drivers issues and may need to use older driver for your vga card [If No] you may have a hardware issue

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2012
  6. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
  7. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Have you installed the Crossfire Bridge!
     
  8. yawara2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  9. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Can i have the pic of bf3 settings
     
  10. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Well is this only happens in bf3 or all other games?
     
  11. yawara2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    gopal,

    I ONLY PLAY BF3 AND I DON`T PLAY OTHER GAMES.
     
  12. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    294
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    I know your trying to help and im not having a go but try not to multi post. Just saying before anyone else moans at you :)

    @yawara2
    There have been a lot of patches for BF3 in the last few months so there is a good chance that its BF3 with the problem and not your drivers. Maybe just maybe EA broke it.
    Think i will install it while we are talking about it, havent played in months.
     
  13. StanMen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    196 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Portugal
    yawara mate, did you try just runn a single card ? and wen you play BF3 minimize game open GPU-Z and take a look at load and also see cpu usage, try runn this tow card by single and see the resolts mate! if there still a prob maybe you need goo to place where you take that tow cards and show them your prob, and what is your mobo ?

    caus this is not normal you having this isue bud ! look it can be the crossfire braket it can be the slot of mobo it can be the sis config in BIOS and its a bit strange, see by single card and try then check the config in bios, also see the bus speeds on pci-e e see in gpu-z if there is any diference, my friend have same card as you and he have a i7 920, 12Gb ram, 4TbGB+ SSD 60Gb agility, and 5870xfx, and by single card in bf3 he get like depend on core usage of cpu is like 60%,35% 80%, and GPU is like 98% and he gets max75FPS in some places but never drop below 49FPS and he play all ultra maxed out 1080p
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2012
  14. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,167 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    586
    What motherboard?
     
  15. yawara2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    asus crosshair v formula
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page