1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD 5870 or i7 upgrade

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Irish_PXzyan, Oct 7, 2009.

  1. shakaxd

    shakaxd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    as soon as I saw the price I told you to forget, leprachaun! LOL

    Don't know what to suggest now. a 23" 1920 + 5870, you'd get around the same fps of now but at a higher resolution :)

    but don't forget to sell your 280 to me for a ridicularly low price, free shipping to Brazil, ok?
     
  2. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,962 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,803
    Location:
    IA, USA
    If I were you, I'd sit on that money until Larrabee debuts or at least NVIDIA's answer to the HD 5 series. It will at least drive prices down and Larrabee could be a game changer. If you're looking to upgrade the processor to a Nehalem-based one, I'd wait for 32nm Core i7 or i9 9##.

    Again, it is kind of silly to upgrade unless there is a need to upgrade (component failure, lousy frame rates, etc.). It is easy to squander money on electronics.


    FYI, I got the 920 because my Opteron 180 couldn't play Saints Row II. I got my 5870 because my 8800 GT died.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Buy an accelero extreme 280 gtx and overclock your gpu more and buy a Q9650 after you sell you current cpu. The Q9650 at 4.0ghz would be the easiest and best upgrade for your current system they do 4.0ghz no problem and come close to I7 performance.
     
  4. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    shakaxd: Brazil!! free shipping!!! wow I must be the best seller you ever heard of then!! don't let the leprechaun fool ya boyo!!!!!

    I would say tho, 23" + HD 5870 actually sounds good!!! 300 for 5870 and 200 for 23" would be a nice upgrade!! and notice no frame rate reduction with higher res!! I like the sounds fo that!

    FordGT90Concept: Larrabee?? Is this the new Intel GPU?? I can remember hearing about it but know nothing. What is this?? I will have to google this and see what this is about!

    trt740: Theres no way iam gonna buy another GTX 280 to replace my Gygabyte version! I also cannot buy a Q9650 as I can't use 45nm CPU's.
    I do after all own a P35 board.
     
  5. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    forgive me for not reading all the way through.

    If you plan on spending money, i would go with i7.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113

    The accelero extreme gtx is a gpu cooler goofy :laugh: :slap: http://www.arctic-cooling.com/catalog/product_info.php? cPath=2_&mID=237

    Also your motherboard supports the Q9650 http://www.msicomputer.com/index.php?func=prodcpu2&prod_no=1215&maincat_no=1#menu
    according to MSI. This is your motherboard right http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130095 P35 chipsets do support 45nm intel cpus. I have checked.

    I would buy this chip http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115041
    or this one http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115130
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2009
  7. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
  8. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    It does indeed, but contact MSI for sure. They do have it listed as supporting them all. In that link I provided.
     
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  9. selway89

    selway89

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    395 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    That Samsung 23" uses the same panel as my 23" Dell.
    Its a fantastic screen, very crisp, good stand, good colours, mics and webcam + usb ports, HDMI, DVI, VGA, audio in and out - basically all the bells and whistles included.

    http://accessories.dell.com/sna/pro...tdetail.aspx?c=ca&l=en&cs=cadhs1&sku=320-7641

    I have also just recieved my Powercolor 5850 :) I can play stuff at native res maxed out now :D

    I can definitely recommend the monitor!
     
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  10. shakaxd

    shakaxd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, Brazil
    - I had to try, at least we would laugh a bit :p:D:roll:
    - around the same FPS and sometimes even higher ones. I'd dare to say "most of the time higher ones" but I'm not an 280 expert to know what this beast is capable of, specially overclocked.

    good luck mate!
     
  11. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,962 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,803
    Location:
    IA, USA
    It's basically 32 or 64 Pentium Pro processors marketed as a GPU. It is fully programmable (unlike CUDA/Stream which require middleware) via drivers much like a CPU. It is supposed to appear some time in 2010, most likely in the second quarter (April-June).

    I wish my 8800 GT lasted until then. I was forced into an HD 5 series.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Reventon

    Reventon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,106 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    Well, you can sell your GTX 280 so your net spent money is not as much.
     
  13. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Well I am still confused on what to go for :p
    There is so much choice and I don't know what's best!

    The Samsung 23" appears like a nice choice. But it's only 1" bigger than what I have got but a higer resolution. But 200 euros on that seems a bit of a waste to me.

    Also going with a Q9550 would also set me back around 180 Euros. not sure if it's really worth that kind of money considering I do have a Q6600 at 3.0Ghz.

    I do need to take time and really consider my options. Maybe it's best I use this money on something else other than my system. I am happy with my system and I really don't think I need to do any upgrading at the moment.

    Thanks for ther advice lads!!
     
  14. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Your gtx 280 will power whatever monitor you have easily.
     
  15. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113

    Q9550 does 3.6 to 3.8 ghz easily and on a higher end motherboard 4.0ghz. Also remember to deduct the cost from what you can sell your cpu on ebay for.
     
  16. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,243 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,171
    before you upgrade, ask yourself this, "Is there any game you play your current rig can not max out?" If the answer is no, then the most I'd look into is a larger monitor.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Hmmm... if I had that much money spare I'd probably pick up an SSD then again I'd probably be pissed off I bought an SSD and wish I'd have bough a 5870.

    Looking at your rig, I'd recommend picking up Windows 7 64bit and flip a coin on the SSD & the 5870, I wouldn't bother with a new MOBO, RAM & CPU tbh.
     
  18. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Well everything I play runs on high already :p no real need for an upgrade I suppose! waste of money!!

    I think I am going to just sit back, wait for something fancy to emerge and splash it out on it!!!

    I want to see this new Intel larabee and see how that is. might be an interesting buy if worthy if worthy of course!!

    But I am going to keep checking everywhere for something exciting!!!
     
  19. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    i reckon you should buy three 24" displays... then when the prices come down on the 5870's you can get one and drive all 3 displays in game :)

    prices on 24" screens are very low already so its a good time to buy... also that new feature of how you can use 3 screens on one card in a game is pretty awesome... id do that if it were me ;)
     
  20. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    That would be good!!
    3 of them!!!

    I dont have the room for them anyway :p
    1 will do!!

    I like the looks of the Acer monitors tho :p they look nice!
     
  21. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    It isnt the size of the monitor, rather the resolution that matters. The more building blocks your monitor has to display, the better it looks. I would get a 5870 and a 1920x1200 monitor, while selling your 22" monitor. An upgrade to i7 would be helpful.
     
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  22. Anath New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    I never said that it wasnt the resolution that matters...I simply implied that a 24" displayed at a 1920x1200, since this is the common resoultion displayed at that size of a monitor. I think what you said would work.
     
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  23. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,232 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Why spend money when there is no definitely need?
     
  24. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    becuase he has cash, has the bug and wants to spend it ;)
    why do we all spend money on our PC's?

    anyways if you got 3X 24" screens you will have a setup ready for when you get yourself one of those new radeon cards ;)
    surround gaming... and in the mean time just run them in desktop mode for a huge res screen ;)
     
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  25. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    The 23" samsung with high res looks nice :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page