1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD 6950 2GB (unlocked shaders) Xfire or 570 GTX SLI

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by hv43082, Apr 12, 2011.

?

2x6950 2GB (unlocked shader) or 2x570 GTX

  1. 2 x HD 6950's

    24 vote(s)
    72.7%
  2. 2 x 570 GTX's

    9 vote(s)
    27.3%
  1. hv43082

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,467 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    Orange County, CA and Miami, FL
    So I have 2 6950's with unlocked shaders and 2 570 GTX. Cost is $55 higher for the 570's. Having a hard time deciding which to keep. Help me out guys. And please no fanboyism. Will be gaming at 2560x1600.
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2011
  2. arroyo

    arroyo

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    393 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    Bydgoszcz, Poland
    Two unlocked HD6950 easily suppress two GTX570. Crossfire scaling is also better.
     
  3. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    881 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    191
    Location:
    Granby, Qc. Canada
    I agree with Arroyo but then again, might be my fanboyism coming out...
     
  4. crow1001

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    366 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    570 SLI for better multi-GPU support through the drivers. Any performance difference between the AMD and Nvidia setup is going to be negligible as you're really not going to notice the difference gaming, clock the 570s to 820 core and you have 580 SLI performance. Best to to go with the setup that will give you less hassle so that would be Nvidia.
     
  5. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,174 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    935
    Location:
    Multidimensional
    I believe that the HD 6950's will have the slightly better crossfire scaling but the GTX 570's will the better Multi GPU driver support, so I guess you have to decide on which one you want bro, in the end, they will smash any game out there but I have a feeling at that high resolution the GTX 570's might run out of memory on sum extreme titles, but not a big deal really:toast:
     
  6. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,486 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    London, UK
    tough call, take which ever brand you prefer/had more experience with.

    there is a chance The shaders on those cards may be slightly defective so, the unlock would be useless. it's more of a risk on the ATI cards
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,562 (10.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,723
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i say 2x6950.
     
  8. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Don't know why but 6950's seem like they were made for crossfire, the overall performance isn't that impressive but when you pair em up it scales to almost 100%, not sure what you'll need the power for but I'd definitely go with 2x 6950's.
     
  9. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,892 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    personally I wouldnt buy cards with the expectations they will unlock and flash sucessfully their have been tons of reports that unlocking the 6950's causes instability, and or driver problems.
     
  10. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,750 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,845
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Since, it sounds like you already have them and they are un-locked, tested and working.
    I will go with the 6950s.
    And, your PSU and AL Gore will be grateful, too.:)
     
  11. hv43082

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,467 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    Orange County, CA and Miami, FL
    It's a tough call. I was having some random lock up and bsod when using the 6950's and MSI afterburner. Must be some incompatibility with Catalyst preview 11.4. Never had a problem like that with Nvidia. And what's the deal with AMD cards taking forever to load BFBC2 maps? It's much faster with Nvidia card. Also I am getting the occasional screen flickering in BC2 with AMD cards.
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2011
  12. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,981 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    460
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The loading time problem was fixed quite a while ago with later drivers.
     
  13. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,536 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,951
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    Yep, I'm usually one of the first to laod into a map, no nV cards in my house at all right now. :laugh:


    I say 6950's, due to extra framebuffer. If it was 1GB 6950's I'd say stay with 570's, but the 2GB vram is the trump card.
     
  14. LDNL

    LDNL

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    482 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
    Basicly having the same problems but just with one card. Can't have Afterburner,Trixx or any kind of OC tool open while playing BC2 or itll freeze after a couple of minutes of gaming. The map loads arent slow just the slideshow I get after that for a couple of seconds and no its no because of the AV.
     
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,536 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,951
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta

    Yes, you are right, it is NOT AV problem..it's punkbuster. You cannot have third-party tools running at the same time as BFBC2, as many that report FPS access teh game data to get FPS, and as such, are recognized as intruders.

    The dual-card problem is fixed by changing registry entry for "enableULPS".
     
  16. hv43082

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,467 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    Orange County, CA and Miami, FL
    Can you elaborate on the enableULPS fix for dual card? Does it make the load time faster or do away with the random flickering?
     
  17. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    errr no . ULPS disables the crossfired card when not in use - Ultra Low Power Saving.

    disabling ULPS sometimes fixes problems when trying to OC the crossfired card.
     
  18. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,536 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,951
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    It does neither. Afterburner doesn't work right with two cards, and can cause BSOD's, unless the registry is modified.


    It is merely a "bugfix" of sorts, for multi-card clocking using afterburner.

    Flicker, I am unsure of the cause...driver problem most likely; I have it as well. I have found that if I move very little when it occurs, the screen remains black, but the HUD overlay is still rendered. Slight movement causes the image to come back, and a bit more movement makes it go black again...so continuous movement appears as flicker.

    But, this problem does not occur with single card. it's present on both 5870's, and 6950's, for me.

    I actually experience far less flicker on BFBC2 with shaders unlocked on the 6950's.:confused:
     
  19. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    i don't disable ULPS and I have no problem overclocking my cards with AB, even when reported as disabled in GPU-Z due to ULPS. Some people have an issue, some don't
     
  20. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,536 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,951
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    I suspect that the app recognized you have a crossfire-native card, and makes adjustments due to that. I have tried both matched reference, and a mix of reference and nonreference, and I have resigned myself to NOT use 3rd-party apps, and merely edit bios for high clocks in CC, and volts, due to no luck EVER for me, without the ULPS fix.
     
  21. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    fair one m8, i still have 2 cards though remember- and no issue so it is a wiered one regarding AB, CCC, crossfireX and ULPS
     
  22. hv43082

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,467 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    Orange County, CA and Miami, FL
    So I'm not the only one experiencing the flickering issue. Afterburner works perfectly with Nvidia cards. I hope AMD will have a fix on the next release of Catalyst. If not, I am staying with Nvidia simply due to better driver and less problem.
     
  23. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    "simply due to better driver", oooooooooooooooooooooooookay
     
  24. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,237 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,153
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    I have had some pretty crippling driver problems with AMD lately, so I went nVidia and haven't had a problem since. I'm staying away from AMD for a few months until they can work out the bugs that have been affecting my system with 6950s. For that reason alone, my vote's for the 570s.

    If your expansion slots can handle it, look at the ASUS Direct CU II versions of both. They are INCREDIBLE.
     
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,776 (12.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,693
    I don't understand why you're asking us when you have both sets of cards in hand. Everyone's experiences and hardware setups are different. Use what you think works best for you. Aside from that look at reviews and features for both sets of cards and make your decision.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page