1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD 6950/70 cooling and VRM

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by mike307, Dec 30, 2012.

  1. mike307

    mike307 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLOVAKIA
  2. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,021 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Location:
    Central Israel
    your VRM temp should be around +/- 5C of your core temp,whats ur core temp at load?
     
  3. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    If my Twin Frozr 2 PE/OC edition is anything to go by even if you were to bump up the voltage with a massive overclock it would be nothing to worry about, i generally sit around 60 C during heavy BF3/Skyrim/Borderlands 2 sessions and that is with a 940/1440 overclock and a crossfire setup. The Twin Frozr cooler alone is more than up to the task of keeping the card sufficiently cool.
     
  4. mike307

    mike307 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLOVAKIA
    right now i am usind AC accelero S2 R2 with 2 12cm fan . furmark shows me on benchmark test 70c .
     
  5. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    If you are getting 70c on a benchmark then your temps while gaming will be in a completely safe range, if you have already changed out the aftermarket cooler for another what has you looking to make another change when your temperatures are well within the safe range :confused:
     
  6. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,021 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Location:
    Central Israel
    Your card is fine,save your money for some thing else.
     
  7. mike307

    mike307 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLOVAKIA
    with my twin frozer coller during benchmark test in furmark at 50% restart s the card . the gpu temp 1 hits 100c
     
  8. mike307

    mike307 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLOVAKIA
    the gpu temp 2 and 3 is around 90c
     
  9. mike307

    mike307 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLOVAKIA
    In crysis 2 maximum edition 1080p max details directx11 i am gettin 60c with 50-60% gpu load
     
  10. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,021 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Location:
    Central Israel
    Was Probably not seated well,or paste wasent applied properly,should have just RMAed the thing instead of buying anuther cooler.
     
  11. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    This just about sums it up, the Twin Frozr II cooler is inferior to that of the Twin Frozr III and my temps are well within normal ranges even during benchmarks with my core voltage increased to 1.21, you would have been better off just RMA'ing your card with the original cooler or attempting to reseat the cooler or change the paste as those temperatures are obviously not normal.
     
  12. mike307

    mike307 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLOVAKIA
    i am using zalman zm-stg2 paste . i will post some screenshots from gpu
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2012
  13. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    You have no reason to change your cooler 70 c during furmark is excellent as the stock cooler in W1zzard's review reached 69 c under load (which i assume is not furmark) and it is still considered to be "quite low". Please do yourself a favor and stick with your current cooler it is more than adequate and that way you could save your money for a video card upgrade in the future or at least not blow it on an unnecessary purchase.
     
  14. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,926 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,686
    Location:
    US
    Yeah temps look perfectly fine. although he should check the other temps in gpu-z as well just to make sure the contact is good still..

    IDLE
    [​IMG]

    Is the MK-13 worth $48 hell yeah it is and this is after running Skyrim and SR3 al though as you said it's not worth it to him as it seems like it's doing a good job as it is.
    [​IMG]


    All so note that they might of not changed the VRM heatsink for the cooler still. I got mine way before the 6970 was released and had to mod the 5870 VRM heatsink to fit and this is the second card i have used it on 1st one being the 4890.

    All so i run 3 120mm fans with the MK-13 1 at 729RPM and the other 2 just over 1000RPM.
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2012
  15. mike307

    mike307 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLOVAKIA
    hear ar some pics . from crysis 2 and far cry 3 both max details dx11 1080p
     

    Attached Files:

  16. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,454 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,581
    I used to have a twinfrozr III 6950. I thought it was too loud myself so I installed an artic accellero 7970 cooler on it. These were some of the temps I got with that. After reseating the cooler I got about another 5c better cooling also beyond what is shown below.

    Ambient air temp is 70.
    Idle is 35c with artic cooler. 10c less than my tw3.
    I used furmarks 15 minutes burn test for these tests.

    The fan was on auto for this burn test.
    [​IMG]

    The fan was on 100% for this burn test.
    [​IMG]

    This is with auto fan but 950 core OC.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. mike307

    mike307 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLOVAKIA
    in furmark i tested a bench mod . and after 50% i am geting 90c on gpu temp 1,2,3 . gpu temperature is on 75c my cooler is right noe ac accelero s2 rev2 + 2x 12cm fan
     
  18. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,384 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Rochester area
    uh no VRM's are normally rated for 120C MAX with around 100c being considered 'nominal operating temp'
    VRM temp has very little todo with core temp the VRM's get much hotter
     
  19. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,764 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,304
    If your ambient temp is that hot, you either:

    #A - Live in the sahara
    #B - live quite close to an active volcano
    #C - Need a case with better airflow/more case fans if the ambient temp inside the case is 70'c
    #D - Need an Air Conditioner, if the Ambient temp we're talking about is room temperature
     
  20. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,384 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Rochester area
    if the Ambient temp was that hot he'd be DEAD in about an hour :eek:
     
  21. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,764 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,304
    No, no...

    Lets give him a chance,

    maybe hes the royal descendant of bear grylls.


    Bear Grylls is once said to have survived Arctic temperatures in nothing but a pair of hotpants.

    everyone deserves their shot at fame.

    If he's not the man we think he is then he could always drink his own piss
     
  22. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,384 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Rochester area
    mmM M Grilled bear
     
    xxdozer322 says thanks.
  23. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,021 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Location:
    Central Israel
    Every single card ive had the VRM's are pretty much more or less the same temp as the core at any given moment,that includes my current card which has no VRM cooling at all.
     
  24. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,454 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,581
    Nice catch. I had to read that twice before I cought on. Yes. 70f.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. mike307

    mike307 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLOVAKIA
    hey . is there a software witch i can measure the vrm temp ?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page