1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD 6950 crossfire problem with drivers

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by antony209494, Mar 18, 2013.

  1. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Sorry if I am tiring you with this issue...I recently got an reference unlocked sapphire hd 6950 with a non reference (not unlocked) power color 6950 for crossfire.

    The problem is that I can't enable crossfire with any newer driver than 12.10.In fact I get a video TDR failure BSOD when I try to enable it if I had installed the drivers with the crossfire bridge OFF.On the other hand the system freezes on AMD display driver if I install with the crossfire bridge on.I tried with 13.1 and every beta released after it.

    I even formated twice and tried with a clean install of Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit and Win 8 PRo 64 bit again.Same problems (except in Win7 the install was successful with the bridge on and the BSOD came on startup resulting in restart loops).Tried both with stock and updated mobo drivers too.Also switched the sapphire back to it's stock Bios and defaulted all clock,memory and other settings from Vision Engine Control Center for both cards but still nothing.

    Here is a previous thread (please don't suggest anything that has already been said:means read it):

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=180119

    Basically I am stuck with 12.10 if I want crossfire but new games (crysis 3,tomb raider etc) had various problems with 12.10 which is why I want to update so bad=to play them smoothly.Is it a problem I have to solve or I just have to wait for a working driver release from AMD (if there will be any at all)?
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2013
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,509 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    605
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
  3. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Thanks for trying to help again although none of these things worked.I already have reported the issue twice to AMD.I guess I have to wait for a proper driver but will there be one at all?All after 12.10 seem to cause this problem and I doubt AMD will spend much time troubleshooting for the HD 6 series right now.
    Law-II says thanks.
  4. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,888 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You know, I was having a little trouble with my 6870s in crossfire a month ago. Ever since I installed one of the 13.3 beta drivers, it has been running flawlessly.
  5. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,317 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,769
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I had nothing but problems with all 13.2 drivers, even some 13.1's, but base 13.1 and 13.3 beta solved all my crossfire problems.
  6. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    I'm using 12.11 I would get newer but have not seen a real reason to update. I am on Windows 7 though so maybe that's the issue.
  7. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,676 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,550
    Have you tried making sure original bioses are on both of the cards, meaning without any unlocks? Perhaps you have a bios switch to flip and can give it a whirl like that.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,775 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,304
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I have crossfired 6850's. I have tried the 13.x drivers and they all don't work right for me. I have stuck with my trusty 12.6's and they work flawless.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Yes as I said before I did try that with the sapphire.The power color never actually unlocked.But it seems that AMD has done something with the new drivers and results in this problem.

    Also:How can I get 12.11 (was this a beta?) and where to download previous betas generally?
  10. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    When you say they don't work right you mean you can't even enable crossfire like me or just problems in general?
  11. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,676 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,550
    You can download the 12.11b11 here
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Thanks.I'll see if they work.But how did you find download links to previous beta drivers (google?).From navigating the AMD driver site I can only find the latest beta.
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,418 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Hmm I have 6950's Xfired and use the 13.2 beta 4's
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,317 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,769
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Google what you want, and it will provide :toast:
  15. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Beta 12.11 b11 DIDN'T work too.Trying to download other betas from 12.11 now.I'll post back.
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,418 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
  17. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
  18. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,746 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Then you install the older drivers, with just the AMD CAP from the new driver. If that fails, then you're SOL. I think there is probably some other software problem or something causing your problems though.
  19. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Can someone give me links again for any of the following:

    12.11 BETA8
    12.11 BETA7
    12.11 BETA6
    12.11 BETA

    I can't download them from the AMD site!
  20. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,746 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Not all betas were released to the public. Beta6 and Beta7 you might find here on TPU in the downloads section. If not, I have them, so they gotta be available somewhere.

    BETA6:

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=175155
    antony209494 says thanks.
  21. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I said I formated twice and tried both 7 and 8 64-bit.What software problem could it be after 2 clean installs with different OSs?AMD just changed something in one driver release and caused this problem for all the next releases and I am trying to find just what that driver was.
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,418 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,746 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    AMD changed MANY things in many driver releases. Most notably in 12.4(changing main driver base code, and CCC, making tools like RacerX mod not work), and then in 13.1(getting rid of the CAP profile system).

    That's why I blame software in your situation.


    I have had Crossfire enabling cause BSOD...and when I get back into OS, everything is working as it should. It sounds like, to me, that you are not installing both cards at the same time, and they end up with different drivers. This causes the problems you report. If you have both cards installed when installing OS, then there might be something else afoot, like the BIOSes from each card not liking each other. In this instance, I'd flash the same BIOS to both cards(assuming both are reference).
  24. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I did install Windows with both cards installed.Before that I messed around with the powercolor's bios trying to unlock it and I couldn't.Then I flashed back the original bios in both slots (both for position 1 and 2).And unfortunately they are not both reference,only the sapphire is so I can't flash them both the same BIOS either.But if that was the problem,as you put it the bioses "not liking each other" then why does it work with 12.10?Shouldn't it fail there too then?
  25. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    UPDATE:12.11 b 6 didn't work too.I found 3 and 4 in the TPU downloads section.I'll test and post back.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page