1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD 6950 Performance Problems

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by ITSIK, Apr 29, 2012.

  1. ITSIK New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi
    i have a HD6950 thet i moded to a HD 6970 by poting on a sapir 6970 bios
    the Clocks are 940@1375
    and im not getting enough performance
    in 3Dmark11 i am geting 5800P and about 5750 GPU SCORE
    While my friend achieves higher performance (6116P) with the same card on 920@1340
    How does thet make sense?

    I heard there's a Aosos's BIOS thet gives more performance and open Clocks, can you link it for me ? Thank you :)
     
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,931 (4.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,620
    whats your system components and what are his, normally diff CPUs drive the GPUs faster or slower

    You have the CPU overclocked and plus whats the other components of your machine
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2012
  3. ITSIK New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my CPU is I5 2500K
    and his CPU is I5 2400
    so Theoreticaly I should get more performance from him in every possible case ... but thet is not whats happening

    the CPU is not overclocked


    Intel Quad Core I5 2500K Quad Core 3.3GHZ 1155 6MB BOX
    Scythe JAPAN MUGEN 2 1156 + 1366 SUPPORT
    Gigabyt GA-P67A-UD3 Socket 1155
    ANTEC 902
    Corsair 750TX 60A @ 12V Bulk
    Corsair 4Gb Kit (2G X2) CMX4GX3M2A1600C9 CL-9-9-9-24 X2
    8 G TOTAL
    Samsung 1TB Sata II 32MB SpinPoint F3
    Sapphire ATI 6950 2GB GDDR5 PCI-E HDMI Retail moded to HD6970 940@1375
    SONY NEC DVDRW DVR x 24 SATA AD7260S BLACK
    Dell 23in U2311H Black Wid UltraSharp 1920x1080
    Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Hebrew

    is 5800P normal for this PC ?
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2012
  4. Capitan Harlock

    Capitan Harlock

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    481 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Arcadia
    the settings in 3d on catalyst control center are the same?
     
  5. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    928 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    369
    you can reinstall the driver, or maybe your overclock iis unstable.. try lowering the clocks..
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. ITSIK New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    YES


    and i deleted the driver using driver sweeper and then reinstall it
    on 880@1375 i am geting 5518P :mad:
    and now i cant get to CCC
    it tells me thet "CLI.Implementation " is missing
    also i got this eror in Installation


    Catalyst™ Install Manager
    Installation Report
    04/30/12 15:44:49


    Hardware information
    Name AMD Radeon Graphics Processor
    Manufacturer Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
    Device ID 0x6719
    Vendor ID 0x1002
    Class Code 0x030000
    Revision ID 0x00
    Subsystem ID 0x0b00
    Subsystem vendor ID 0x1002
    Other hardware

    Existing packagesAMD APP SDK Runtime
    HDMI/DP Audio Driver
    AMD Video Converter
    HydraVision
    AMD Accelerated Video Transcoding
    AMD Drag and Drop Transcoding
    AMD Media Foundation Decoders

    Packages for install
    AMD Catalyst Install ManagerFinal Status: Success
    Version of Item: 8.0.873.0
    Size: 20 Mbytes
    AMD Display DriverFinal Status: Success
    Version of Item: 8.961.0.0000
    Size: 90 Mbytes
    HDMI/DP Audio DriverFinal Status: Success
    Version of Item: 7.12.0.7706
    Size: 1 Mbytes
    Catalyst Control CenterFinal Status: Success
    Version of Item: 2012.0405.2205.37728
    Size: 150 Mbytes


    Other detected devices

    Manufacturer Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
    Device ID 0xaa80
    Vendor ID 0x1002
    Class Code 0x040300
    Revision ID 0x00
    Subsystem ID 0xaa80
    Subsystem vendor ID 0x1002


    Error messages

    :(
     
  7. ITSIK New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    in the end that was the problem ....
    now i get 6424P :eek:

    thenx
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page