1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD 6950 to 6970

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Josef, Jul 20, 2012.

  1. Josef New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,
    1st thing,sorry for my English, I haven't practice for the school, there's 20 years :rolleyes:

    I want to flash my 6950 to 6970 or just unlock shaders.
    the exact model is it
    [​IMG]
    Radeon HD 6950 OC, 2 Go, Sapphire

    I took several tutorial that end with a black screen after rebooting or do not make changes in the number of shaders.
    I'd like to know if you have a modified bios for this card, I looked on your site & it does not appear referenced :(

    I have also followed this tutorial :
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UUT8XtNQxZ8&feature=related
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eeOSxp1H0iY&feature=related
    After using RBE I have that :
    [​IMG]

    I wanted to follow this tutorial but the scritpt request a .bin & I only have a .rom for BIOS back up :( http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2160965&postcount=1234


    Friendly
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2012
  2. Josef New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok so a failure again, I used RBE for modding the bios, by comparing the hash of the new BIOS after the flash, I can see that it is installed without problem, but still the origin number of shaders . http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/2fmkz/
    Note that I take care of uninstall CCC immediately after flashing.
    Someone who possesses the same 6950 model could confirm me that he succeeded by proceeding to 6950->6970 unlock ?
  3. _ALB_R3D X

    _ALB_R3D X New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    337 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Tirana,Albania
    I use to have that exact model but didn't even try unlocking because that one got out a while back from the reference models so the extra cores was laser cut 99% of the time!
    My suggestion: OC the hell out of it cause the cooler at least does a good job :toast:
  4. Josef New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks,
    this is bad news :( . I'll try to get a good OC.
    How can I hope gain on this model?
  5. _ALB_R3D X

    _ALB_R3D X New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    337 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Tirana,Albania
    Push the core,aim for 900Mhz or even more and don't touch the memory cause no real gains come from it
    Use Trixx for OC and u should be set
  6. Daimus

    Daimus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    527 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    somewhere in Eastern Europe
    1. Save your BIOS using this key

    [​IMG]

    2. Run RBE (Radeon BIOS Editor), load saved BIOS and set shader count to 6970 (unlock)

    [​IMG]

    3. Save mod BIOS

    4. Run Winflash, load mod BIOS and press "program"

    5. Restart your PC, run GPU-Z to see 1536 shader units, check GPU using stress tests.

    Good luck!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Josef New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    @ Daimus,
    It's exaclty what I did and still 1408 Shaders :(

    Thanks
  8. Daimus

    Daimus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    527 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    somewhere in Eastern Europe
    Than I'm sorry. Your card seems to haven't extra shaders. It's a lottery.:ohwell:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    just a bad luck, i was have two of these booth of them just unlocked from the switch perfectly and run on crossfire
  10. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,801 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    419
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Good point. Did you even check the 2nd BIOS? Some of them cards had the "unlock" on the 2nd BIOS.
  11. Josef New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This is the first thing by which I began, switch 2nd position.
    What I did not know, is that I must reinstall the drivers for see if it's unlock.
    I fear I have saved only the BIOS number 1, the one that is write-protected.
    The 2nd BIOS must be the one who had shadders unlocked (if it was...)
    My only hope is that someone with the same card can be kind enough to upload the correct BIOS for me.

    Thank you for your participation :)
  12. Josef New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2012
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,476 (10.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,013
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have the same card and mine has unlocked shaders. I will post a bios here tonight when I get home so you can try it.
    Stevems says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,476 (10.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,013
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
  15. Josef New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    1st thing : thank you so much it's really very nice ! :)

    I have bad luck :( here the result :
    [​IMG]
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,476 (10.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,013
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Seems as your card is not unlockable
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Stevems New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page