1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hd 6950

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Durvelle27, Aug 12, 2012.

  1. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,691 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    664
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    i want to know how a HD 6950 will do in games i play and the best drivers for it ? Games BF3, Skyrim, MP3, COD series, Batman AC, AC Brotherhood, Ghost Recon FS, Dirt 3, Dirt Showdown, Deus EX HR etc.
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2012
  2. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    I suggest you to read some reviews, they will give you more answers than a forum thread can do.

    You can start from TPU
     
  3. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,705 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    743
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
  4. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,560 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,259
    What resolution and what 6950? You should able to play all those games fine other than BF3 in its all glory, assuming 1920.1080...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    The 6950 is a great card, I have two and before I crossfired I had just the one, and it played everything on high settings. Two 6950s is overkill but I just wanted a constant 60fps in BF3 with all settings on max plus maximum AA, because I was dipping into the high 40s on occasion.

    Everything else I play apart from crysis is playable on maximum settings with one 6950.
     
  6. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,691 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    664
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
  7. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,560 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,259
    Durvelle27 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    I'm still rocking two 6970's which are just 6950's with some more shaders. The 6950 2GB is great, and you can unlock that model to 6970 shaders :)

    Great cards with plenty of power for normal gaming. One card is enough for almost any game on max, and two cards is enough for ANY game on max except for ubersampling in The Witcher 2. Two is also great for really hi-res also. If you need super high end FPS with one card get a 7970. I saw them on sale for $360 brand new at Microcenter the other day....
     
  9. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,691 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    664
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    ok thx just need to find some good drivers :)
     
  10. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    Find good drivers? What do you mean exactly. The drivers are the same for all cards. Go to amd's website for the drivers...
     
  11. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,691 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    664
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    yea ik that lol. just gonna go with the 12.7 beta then
     
  12. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    I would stick with 12.6 or whatever is current stable. No reason to go with beta, it's not going to give you any difference in performance with the 6950, just FYI. The only difference in the beta is for newer stuff and crossfire stuff.
     
  13. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,691 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    664
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    ok thx
     
  14. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Don't go beta 11.7, I had some issues with aero and a few bluescreens.

    Stick with 11.4b or 11.6.
     
  15. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,691 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    664
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    i keep aero disabled
     
  16. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    They're on 12.6 now
     
    radrok says thanks.
  17. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Sorry I meant 12.x :toast:
     
    LordJummy says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page