1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD 6970 Problem after Bios Flash

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by bmwmaster, Jan 8, 2012.

  1. bmwmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    51 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Hi,

    i have a problem after flashing my HD 6970 with RBE.
    It is an XFX 6970 V2 Referencedesign with (sadly) only one bios.


    First i describe what i have done.

    I saved the original bios with gpu-z.
    I opened it with RBE and adjusted core clock fro 880 Mhz to 1050 Mhz.
    Then i flashed the card (Sucessfully).

    But after reboot i got a bluescrene because of an error with ATI Driers.
    So i uninstalled the driver.

    Now i can boot to Windows, but the card is recognized as an standart graphic adapter.
    Core Clock is schown @ 1050 Mhz. (My flashed setting)

    When i install ATI Drivers again, i again get bluescreen during boot process.

    So i tried to flash Bios back with my saved original bios.bin file.
    With RBE it do not work, the programm tells me that no graphic adapter was found, and that i should try to flash with winflash directly.

    I tried to do this with the following method


    cmd --> run as admin --> atiwinflash -unlockrom 0
    atiwinflash -f -p 0 bios.bin

    Winflash starts flasing until the progress is about 50 %, then the window closes without any message.

    Has someone an idea whatelse i could try ?

    Maybe other parameters with Winflash ?

    Thx
     
  2. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,933 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,364
    try flashing it back from DOSmode and not using something like command prompt
     
  3. bmwmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    51 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    How do i enable DOSmode ?

    I have not worked with DOS since about 20 Years.
     
  4. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,933 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,364
  5. bmwmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    51 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Here is what happens when i try to flash in Dos



    [​IMG]


    Damn..............i think its damaged..................... ERROR 0FL01 :eek:
     
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    First, you are flashing with more than one VGA installed(obvious by "1" command instaead of "0"). Secondly, BIOS clock and voltage edits are not permitted on 69-series cards. The driver checks these during bootup, and the boot will fail if improper values are detected.

    Get the stock BIOS back on, and use software to clock up the GPU. You will never have any luck installing driver on a BIOS-modded 69-series card.

    Try using Winflash ver. 20113 in OS to get the original BIOS back on the card. I've attached it to this post.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. bmwmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    51 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I was able to flash the card back to original bios.

    The error was caused because i used an older version of Atiflash (3.86)
    With version 3.89 i was able to flash the card.

    Thank you guys for helping, this saves me about 300 €, but now have no reason to upgrade to 7970 ;-)


    I
     
  8. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    Throw it out the window and you'll have it, if that's what you seek :laugh:.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page