1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hd 7950

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Durvelle27, Aug 4, 2012.

  1. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,590 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    647
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    can i run a HD 7950 on my power supply. it has 2 +12v rails 1. 27a 2.28a ?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    according to HWcompare.com the HD 7950 uses a max of 200w.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  3. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    yes.
     
  4. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    First, welcome to TPU!! :rockout:

    It would be much better if you could go into user control panel and update your system specs so we know exactly what you're working with. Kind of difficult to give proper advice with incomplete info ;)
     
  5. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,590 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    647
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    thx and Updated ?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    I have never heard of that MFG, wattage/amperage looks OK for your system but I can't be certain of the actual PSU quality. If I was @ a PC I'd search who the OEM is but I'm on mah fone ATM. Have you had a look at the PSU sticky? It may have some specific info...
    :toast:
     
  7. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,590 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    647
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,590 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    647
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    yea i've looked at the sticker ?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Like I said; you should be OK but without knowing the OEM of the PSU I can not comment on it's quality. The PSU sticky we have has a list of OEMs but not sure if your PSU is on there, gonna have to look. If it's not there I'm sure some Googling will return the OEM.

    In any event you should be OK, if it was me I'd be saving up for a PSU from a reputable MFG/OEM. Your PSU may have a good OEM, I don't know, gonna have to do some digging :eek:
    :toast:

    Edit: Not the sticker the sticky lol IIRC it is at the top list of the General hardware section. Stickies are important threads that get "pinned" or "stickied" so they are easy to find :)
     
  10. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,590 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    647
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    nope didn't see it there ?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Click on the General Hardware subforum, first thread. Top of list. Titled "PSU Guide" author is panchoman IIRC
     
  12. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,590 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    647
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    i did but my psu isn't listed there ?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Then I'm afraid you're gonna have to do some Googling to find the OEM. Like I said you should be OK based solely on watts/amps but I'm always leary of off brand PSUs. Thats why I'm saying to find the OEM ;) I never skimp on PSU...
     
  14. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,590 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    647
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    yea i understand i have been googling it for awhile can't seem to find it ?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Hopefully some PSU gurus can chime in and advise maybe where is best to look, apologies for not being able to assist further :eek:
     
  16. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    A 7950 use a little less power than a 4870 so everything should be fine.
     
  17. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,590 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    647
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    its totally fine you helped enough
     
    m1dg3t says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    I tried :eek: You'll be OK for now and I saw you posted in the PSU thread so hopefully some1 can point you to a current OEM list so you'll know for sure of it's a keeper :)

    There is a thanks button if you feel like using it :rolleyes: :p
    :toast:
     
    Durvelle27 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page