1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD 7970 Overclocked to 1.26 GHz: 28 nm Tech Really Stretches Its Legs

Discussion in 'News' started by qubit, Jan 1, 2012.

  1. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,807 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    550
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Shut Up AMD and take my money.
    :toast: on the OC...
     
  2. m&m's

    m&m's

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    228
    Location:
    North
    The publicly software is in reality a beta of GPU Tweak... (Which is not available on the Asus Website at the moment)...

    http://kingpincooling.com/forum/showpost.php?p=18969&postcount=22
     
    qubit says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    850 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    Man this sucks!!! I wish I had the money to setup up a new gaming rig right now.Hardware is lookin good these days.
     
  4. amd/atifiend New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    99 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Amelia, VA
    meh, i don't hear anything out of my 6870's but then again i do have a set of swift tech blocks on em.

    just go liquid and quit complaining. you can have your cake and eat it too. camaro+leaf+more power+more handling+more braking= AMG mercedes.

    ill wait til these 2 6870's cant cut the mustard then get either 7xxx or 8xxx performance gpu for cheap :)
     
  5. SteelSix

    SteelSix

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    230 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Atlanta, USA
    Healthy oc's are a bonus. I'm equally stoked about ZeroCore technology. A long overdue feature IMO. If Kepler doesn't offer something similar, shame on nVidia!
     
  6. Steven B

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    613 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
  7. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    429 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Tell that to me I'm still on this 4 year old lovely Phenom 9550 x4, with an nvidia 8200 IGP (hey, its still a very respectable system, also I can upgrade to a Phenom II X6 later)

    I even received and old LCD monitor as gift and I can't plug it in because my mobo lacks a second video output :laugh:
     
  8. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,671 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Until your man juices get flowing and persuade you otherwise. America is the epicenter of pleasure we design cars to do just that
     
  9. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    850 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    Dude im on a Aspire One netbook... although I do have a PS3 but its just not the same once you had a kickass gaming rig.... my last one was a Q6600,2 HIS HD2900xts in CF with Vista 64bit :banghead:,4gbs G.skill,no such thing as SSD in the main stream back then.. had a couple of 36gig raptors in raid0..OCZ 750 psu.... now im struggling just to put together a HTPC with some old socket 775 parts....not going so good either :rolleyes:
     
  10. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    839 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    Wow. Let's not get into that.
     
  11. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    850 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    Mustang Boss 302R..... done and done :nutkick:
     
  12. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,547 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
  13. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,187 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    Ok if we compare new EVGA GTX580 classifide 3Gb which is also with voltage tune can hit over 1.2Ghz with 7970, how much be the different ?
    10% or maybe less
     
    DarthCyclonis says thanks.
  14. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,671 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    These cards are just insane...

    Did you see this [​IMG]

    3Dmark 11 P15063 @ 1700Mhz
    Faster than SLI 590 @ P13425 + 6990 Xfire @ P13734
     
    wolf, karnak and DarthCyclonis say thanks.
  15. SteelSix

    SteelSix

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    230 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Atlanta, USA
    "I asked two people at NVIDIA why Fermi is late; nVidia's VP of Product Marketing, Ujesh Desai and NVIDIA's VP of GPU Engineering, Jonah Alben. Ujesh responded: because designing GPUs this big is f**king hard."

    I keep thinking about that statement as this 4billion+ transistor GPU launches.
     
    DarthCyclonis says thanks.
  16. DarthCyclonis New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    69 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I'm not a fan boy either way. I always buy the card with the best performance for dollar. This card looks nice. Good performance increase over the previous generation. I only hope for pricing reasons that Nvidia and team Green has an answer for this. AMD may be stinking it up in the processor segment but ATI has certainly paid off for them. :toast:
     
  17. Jonap_1st

    Jonap_1st New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    288 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    South Green Jakarta
    dang,, 68C on stable 1,2Ghz overclock.

    can't wait for non-reference card from HIS or Sapphire
     
  18. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,696 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,096
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Don't forget the card was throttled by the protection power circuitry. Please see my article update.
     
  19. vrzone New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    hi there i was the guy who did it.

    these were the furmark settings used:
    [​IMG]
    even on the other benchies and BF3 (which walls the CPU to 99%), didn't see the temps go above the magical 66 degrees (toasty Singapore ambient), measured by onboard i2c sensor and ma fingers.

    you can verify this with all the other overclockers who have cards
     
    wolf and Jack Doph say thanks.
  20. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,159 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Thats easy to answer why would ATI release a card which pushes the limits of the 28nm GPU when its only just be released doing it this way they can just release a faster clocked version and call it a 8970 after nvidia releases there next GPU all the 7970 is its just cock tease for nvidia to make them show there ballz.
     
  21. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,696 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,096
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    You may be right. It's certainly plausible.

    Yes, but the GPU would have been throttled back by the protection circuit wouldn't it? The framerate was quite low at 40fps.
     
  22. vrzone New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    since TPU has a card you guys can try the overclocked load temps with the fan speeds at 100%. I did check for performance improvement with every clock increment to check if there was throttling (not with furmark though)
     
  23. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,696 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,096
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Interesting. Still, the framerate seems pretty low. I'm sure I had better than that with my cards at that sort of resolution and they're not as fast as this one.
     
  24. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,987 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    871
    Location:
    Ohio
    My guess is that it only throttled in furmark.
     
  25. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    760 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    Location:
    Hyderabad

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page