1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD tune Thread

Discussion in 'Storage' started by DarkEgo, Aug 14, 2008.

  1. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,529 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    328
    Location:
    Illinois
    Lazzer408
    2x Seagate 500gb ST3500320AS RAID-0
    157.7mb/s

    [​IMG]



    Lazzer408
    2x WDC 750gb WD7502ABYS (RE-3) RAID-0
    179.3/s

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    • hdd.jpg
      hdd.jpg
      File size:
      73.5 KB
      Views:
      905
    • hdd2.jpg
      hdd2.jpg
      File size:
      70.8 KB
      Views:
      893
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2009
  2. JohnnyX

    JohnnyX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    HD Tune on JohnnyX system

    Name: JohnnyX
    HD: NVIDIA STRIPE 596.18 Gb (320Gb x 2) raid 0
    Average score: 208.1 MB/s

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
  3. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    I'm going to have to guess this is six drives using the first ~15% for a Matrix RAID 0 array. What is the actual configuration (drives, controller, RAID setup)?
  4. simunovic New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Seagate 7200.12 500gb

    Here is test of my first 214 GB big partition of the 2 x Seagate 7200.12 500 GB hard drives in raid 0 configuration on ICH10R chipset. 3rd one is om the way :eek:)

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2010
  5. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    simunovic: welcome to TPU! Those are good numbers from your Seagates. Matrix RAID FTW. :rockout:
  6. simunovic New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks bro, I can't wait for 3rd one to show up. I will end up with 6 of them in raid 0 but first I need to put together server and move the rest of my hard drives there. :eek:)
  7. simunovic New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    That is probably 2 x 60 gb SSD's. Access time is 0.1 ms... :respect:
  8. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Oi, fail by me missing that access time, right you are simunovic!

    That six-drive Matrix RAID array should make you very happy! I'm actually going to doing that myself, but with none-too-fast Seagate ST31500541AS drives. Will post results here some time in the next few days.

    Will you be running RAID 0 across the entire drives or something like RAID 10 or 5 across the rest?
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2010
  9. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    743 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    i do not know how to insert an picture or how to show my system specs but
    i have had 2x Seagate 500gb ST3500320AS RAID-0

    and minimum of 87.7 max of 200.7 and an everage of 158.5 acces time 12.5 ms and an burst rate of 88
    that al on vista x64
    q9550 @ 3,6ghz (8.5x425 @ 1.28750v)
    p5q-ws (p45)
    kingston hyperX 1066 @ 851mhz(1:1)
  10. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Put the link to the image into img tags, like this: http://www.imagehosting.com/yourimage.png[/ img] (but without the space between the [b][/[/b] and the [b]img][/b].
    [quote="arnoo1, post: 1764725"]....or how to show my system specs....[/QUOTE]

    Go [url=http://forums.techpowerup.com/profile.php?do=specs]here[/url] and you can fill in your system specs.
    arnoo1 says thanks.
  11. simunovic New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Clean raid 0. I will made 2 partitions. First one will be about 200 gb just for system drive and the rest is temp/games... :eek:)
    All important stuff i have on other storage hard drives. If one hard drive fail I will not really lose anything. This raid 0 configuration is just for system, games and working folders like ripping, video editing etc.
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2010
  12. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    743 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    [​IMG][/IMG]
    raid 0
  13. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Curious ... anyone have an explanation for the curve up in arnoo1's setup?
  14. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    743 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands

    i think it's normal
    Lazzer408 has the same curve and he has exactly the same 2 hdd's
  15. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Even though the table hasn't been updated in nearly a year, my storage drive:

    [​IMG]

    4x 1.5TB Seagate disks in RAID 5.
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,440 (10.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    here is mine! 2x Western Digital Blue Drives 500GB 16mb cache 7,200RPM in Raid 0

    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    Huge Update! Everyone is now on the table on the front page. Spent the whole morning doing that, boss is gonna be pissed!
    TIGR and I see SPY! say thanks.
  18. I see SPY!

    I see SPY! New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    334 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    Now that is one big update. Thanks, it looks great! :toast:
  19. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    [​IMG]
  20. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    Shevanel 2x Samsung F3 500gb Raid0 232.5 mb/s

    [​IMG]
  21. simunovic New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  22. simunovic New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    oh sorry, i see now, it is samsung.... my bad:toast:
  23. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL

    no samsung, but i have a 7200.12 500gb on my desk going out for RMa tomorrow lol
  24. simunovic New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    with 7200.12 500gb you will get about the same results. the reason i like seagate is quiet, they are so quiet.
  25. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    yeah the samsung can be heard but it sounds different than usual hdd's

    hard to describe

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page