1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD Tune: Ultra DMA CRC Error Count

Discussion in 'Storage' started by sauron, Dec 28, 2011.

  1. sauron New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia, Sakartvelo
    hi :)
    I have same problem like subhendu
    I bought seagate hdd 3 weeks ago, it's works fine, but after several days, his speed in hd tune benchmark dropped from 118mb/s to 3mb/s!!
    I check hdd health status and i saw this

    Ultra DMA CRC Error Count
    Number of interface communication errors:2
    [​IMG]


    I changed my hdd, but after several days, new hdd started same problem :mad:
    I changed power and sata cables and test in another sata port, but problem did not solved :(
    can you help me? :(

    Sorry for my English.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2012
  2. sauron New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia, Sakartvelo
    Any ideas?:confused:
     
  3. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,968 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well, according to this, that value is:
    "The total quantity of CRC errors during UltraDMA mode. The raw value of this attribute indicates the number of errors found during data transfer in UltraDMA mode by ICRC (Interface CRC)."

    Fairly self-explanatory, but of course that doesn't point directly to the cause. Since it's occurring on multiple drives and you've tried different ports/cables, my guess would be the SATA controller on the motherboard. Do you have a different machine you can try the drives in?

    Also, that value is never going to reset, so make a note of what it is on each drive now, then see if it increases.

    edit: Did you use the same SATA cable for both drives before you started trying different cables? It could be that the cable was faulty and then caused the error on the second drive as well, but since the value doesn't reset you're still seeing it after changing cables. What matters is whether or not it increases and whether or not you're still getting that horribly slow transfer rate.
     
  4. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Since you do not use a DVD drive according to your system specs, I would have to say it's down to
    SATA controller or the SATA cable to the HDD.

    A SATA DVD drive with a bad SATA cable can cause a SATA controller to go crazy which can cause a HDD to have UDMA CRC errors logged into SMART.

    Happened to me.
     
    theJesus says thanks.
  5. sauron New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia, Sakartvelo
    theJesus
    No

    Yes, I did :wtf:

    How can I reset?

    Widjaja
    Damaged PATA cable?
    before I bought new hDD, I changed PATA cable for no reason (old HDD had bad sectors, but not CRC erros) and after several days, new hdd started CRC errors :(
     
  6. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,968 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    There is no way to reset that value, since it is just a count of how many times it has happened. Just keep an eye on it and make sure it doesn't increase at all. If it doesn't increase, then you don't have to worry about it.
     
  7. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Are you using a PATA or a SATA cable.
    Because you start off saying you are using a SATA cable and then you respond with saying you are using a PATA cable.

    If you used the same HDD cable as the old drive there is a chance the HDD cable may have caused the same errors as the first drive while using it.

    You can not reset the UDMA CRC ERROR count.
    It is permanent but this does not mean the HDD is defective.
     
    theJesus says thanks.
  8. sauron New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia, Sakartvelo
    So, there is no way to solve this problem? my PC works very slow :(

    How can I disable DMA?
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2012
  9. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I do recall a couple of situations with systems I was working on, slowing down to a crawl and would show the same thing in HDTune.
    Often you would see the HDD light being continuously active.

    Only problem is, I never figured out what caused it besides reinstalling windows.
    But you could try a windows install/repair.

    Since you do not have a DVD drive in your system specs, how do you install windows?
    Do you have a DVD drive installed or not and is it PATA or SATA?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page