1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD2900XT with 450watt psu...

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by cepoi, Jun 20, 2007.

  1. cepoi

    cepoi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    122 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    is it possible using this card with 450 watt psu??anyone plzz
     
  2. anticlutch

    anticlutch

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    995 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    SoCal
    It's probably not a good idea to do that... can you check what the amps are?
     
  3. cepoi

    cepoi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    122 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    30 amp i think
     
  4. anticlutch

    anticlutch

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    995 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    SoCal
    I'd strongly recommend that you get a higher wattage PSU but the 450w *might* be good enough to use in the meantime. What are the specs you plan to run it with (I'm guessing the stuff you listed in your System Specs?)?
     
  5. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    That's not enough if I recall correctly...
     
    Nemesis881 says thanks.
  6. cepoi

    cepoi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    122 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    cd2 E6420
    gigabyte p965 ds3
    hd2900xt
    320gb hd
    dvdrw

    i think 450watt is not enough right..
     
  7. anticlutch

    anticlutch

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    995 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    SoCal
    Yeah, you'll definately need more power (I'd say a safe wattage would be 550w with ~32A). Those 2900XT's are quite the power hogs :(
     
  8. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,545 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,268
    wattage doesn't really matter in this case. Amperage does. 30a is MORE than enough to power a 2900. go ahead, you should be fine.
     
  9. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    Wattage doesnt matter when the X2900XT nearly reaches 300W of usage in 3dmode ???
    150WATT left for the rest of the machine ? And if thats a cheap PSU i dont even think it can provide a steady 450W....Definently an PSU upgrade is in order here.
     
  10. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,545 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,268
    i meant 30 amps on the 12v rail...:slap:
     
  11. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    amperage ratings are actually more important than wattage, if its 450W and 30 amps, yes its fine.
     
    Random Murderer says thanks.
  12. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,164 (5.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Ohio
    He has an enermax 600 watt in his specs, maybe that blew up on his current rig and he just got lazy and never changed it? If an Enermax 600W blew up running that rig, there's atleast a 50/50 chance that it was running at it's max or close to it and fried it.

    This quote from newegg coming from ATi themselves states that it requires a minimum of a 550-watt power supply, a 450 watt would be considerably overstressed, and this guy is running a C2D at 3.5GHz, an overvolt is garunteed. That probably won't even turn on, and if it does, it would probably blow up, taking other parts out with it within one minute of going into 3D mode...

    That's why I suggest at least a 700-watt power supply running a system like that, espically with that overclock. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817153035

    If you're buying a monster like a 2900XT, don't cheap out on the powerr supply.

    To strenghten my arguement, these requirements from Diamond state:
    Edit: these were both 512MB DDR3 versions.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2007
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. cepoi

    cepoi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    122 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    actually im using enermax 600watt and all thing are running fine...just asking this for my friend coz he want to upgrade his rig from p4 to cd2 and new HD2900xt but using his old psu..anyway guys...thanks 4 ur advice...i think i should recommend him to buy new psu as well..
     
  14. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,164 (5.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Ohio
    Even if you somehow get an HD2900XT running with a Pentium II and 64MB of DDR266, I still wouldn't reccommend it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,273 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    a high quality 450w psu should be fine but working close to its maximum when gaming.

    watts and amps are basically the same for our scope.

    P = U * I -> Power = Voltage * Current
     
  16. Kasparz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    287 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    With PC turned off, yes. But if you want to turn it on, don't even think about it if you have HD2900XT and 450w power supply.
    HD2900XT can eat 20a from 12v without probs.
     
  17. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    crazy 20 amps.. sorry to jump in your thread cepoi, but I was wondering if I would have room for CCC overclocking a 2900xt with my 500watt 38 amp psu :p Im going to add a sound card to my rig real soon too.. and eventually bump up my cpu oc.
     
  18. hastalik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    450 Watts is enough as long as you do not go Crossfire or go overclock crazy.

    I'm running this setup with 430 Watts Tagan PSU, zero problems.

    HD 2900XT
    Asus Commando
    Core 2 Duo E6600
    2GB DDR2 800
    2 Hard drives + 1 optical

    I have a power meter and power usage never exceeds 360 Watts.

    Do not be effected with those pushers who recommend 700+ Watts PSU for anything.
     
    Random Murderer and Chewy say thanks.
  19. Oliver_FF

    Oliver_FF New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    546 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65

    ^^ What he said ;)

    You guys do understand that the current reading in ATiTool, amperage or whatever you like to call it, is reading the current flowing through the core at the specified core voltage, not at 12v.

    If your still not sure, check th TPU review, more specifically the power consumption page ;)
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ATI/HD_2900_XT/13
    and don't forget to read the bit at the very top:
    "the whole system's mains power draw was measured."
    aka. the system itself is drawing less than those readings.
     
  20. Kasparz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    287 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Run orthos in background, run 3dmark 06 in loop, copy files from one hdd to another and from optical drive to hdd, use all your usb devices at same time, and GOD BLESS YOUR PSU.
    Oliver, i know what im talking. At specified GPU voltage, R600 is sucking 100+ amps. my x1900gt is sucking 50amps at 1.575Vgpu. And thats ONLY GPU, not a whole videocard.
    Running 3dmark06 and measuring power consumption, your cpu is not stressed too much, because it doesn't use all instructions, you hdd's are almost idle when tests are running, your ram is almost empty, your optical drives and usb are idle. Only videocard is working at its limits.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2007

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page