1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HD3850 512Mb vs 256Mb @ 1680x1050

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Nosada, Dec 1, 2007.

  1. Nosada

    Nosada

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    258 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Hey all,

    I was wondering what everyone's opinions were on the use of 512Mb VRAM on a card like the HD3850. I recently had my aging 800GTO² die on me and I'm in the market for a new card. The HD3850 seems like my cup of tea, especially the Powercolor PCS version. Sadly though, the supply of HD38xx cards in europe has been laughable and most shops don't show a restock any sooner than mid december or early januari. The ones that show stock are rediculously overpriced or have terrible reputations.

    However ... HD3850 256Mb editions are plentiful and cheap to boot. Question is though: how do these cards hold up at 1680x1050. I'm not a purist when it comes to graphics, I don't mind turning down some options to medium at all, but I wouldn't want a video card that would have been capable of a lot more with 512Mb instead of 256Mb.

    Any links to benchies showing the difference between the 512/256Mb versions or personal experiences would be greatly appreciated :)
     
  2. quasar923 Guest

    right now i have a year old ati radeon sapphire x850xtx 256 mb running at 500/700 and i am at 1600x1200 which is the next step of resolution you have. it works great altho the only game i currently play is halo 1, and i used to play black and white 2 which used more graphics but they both ran fine. i think especially since the hd3850 is much faster than my card you should be fine with 256 because your willing to turn down settings to medium and i play at full 1600x1200 on halo and same with black and white 2.
     
  3. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
  4. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    256mb should be enough at those resolutions(really cutting it)
     
  5. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    I don't remember where I read this (or even how accurate it is), but for modern games, you want:
    DX9: Anything greater than 1600x1200 => 512mb or more VRAM
    DX10: Anything greater than 1280x1024 => 512mb or more VRAM

    For anything less than that, I think 256mb should be fine. That is what I'm banking on with my new HD 3850 256mb gDDR3 at 1440x900.
     
  6. Xaser04

    Xaser04

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    743 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    My HD3850 runs crysis fine at medium settings @ 1680x1050.
     
  7. Xaser04

    Xaser04

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    743 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Sorry its a 256mb card btw
     
  8. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    I would go with 512MB, not only because of the resolution (1680x1050), but it pretty much future-proofs your system for at least a short period of time. Also, with AA/AF turned up, 512MB disappears pretty quickly. Even without AF/AA some games (S.T.A.L.K.E.R. for example) use well in excess of 800MB of VRAM/RAM (or more depending on the settings) for texture storage. So even 512MB is a pretty paltry amount for some games.
     
  9. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,455
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    There is a review on the front page.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page